We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Nearby Hotels
$116
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$104
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
James Gettys Hotel(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$159
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$150
AscendHotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$93
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gettysburg Hotel(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$179
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lodges at Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$127
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Lincoln Square(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$170
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveler rating
462
285
123
36
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
462
285
123
36
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloyalty programjennie wade housegreat locationwithin walking distancefree breakfastbreakfast sandwichroom was cleansausage gravyin townplace to staywafflestop floorstreet noisebike weeklate checkcemetery hillparking lot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 917 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited Gettysburg for a brief visit - only one night - and stayed here.......and were very pleased that we did......it is located in the perfect spot....you can leave the hotel and walk about the town, browse in the shops, just great.....The Inn itself was great-our room was roomy, clean and comfortable......we faced the street and I loved that-actually saw a Halloween Parade up the street and ran down to watch it.....the breakfast was better than continental but only average, however, more than enough offerings so there is something for everyone.....the lobby is decorated in a homey, warm, welcoming style......couch and chairs around the fire place! Work was being done with carpeting which tells us they are on top of things......we would recommend it and we go back! The staff was pleasant......Because it was oct. we did not use the pool but looked over that pool area and found it to be very inviting for the warm months....

Room Tip: our room faced the front and I loved that because I love to see what is going on and the town is lovely!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christmas152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. October is a great month to see Gettysburg. And thank you for noticing the improvements being done throughout the hotel. We work very hard to keep the property looking fresh and clean. This winter we will be renovating 25 rooms and we are in the process of redoing one of our meeting facilities. We hope that you will come back next year to see us. It would be our pleasure! Thank you again for the review. We certainly appreciate it. Have a wonderful holiday season.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just got back from our 3 day trip to Gettysburg and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The 1863 Inn was clean and comfortable, in a great location with plenty of parking, and offered a good breakfast with a nice variety of choices for breakfast (included in the room rate). Our only minor complaint was the mattress which seemed too soft for our tastes. The Inn is located just south of the main square of Gettysburg, about a 5 minute walk away, and right near many of the shops, restaurants and commercial museums in the southern part of town. The Inn is just north of the Cemetery (a short walk) and a quick drive to the Visitor's Center.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that you found your room to be clean and well appointed. I do apologize for the mattress. It is a challenge to find mattresses that are comfortable for everyone. We try to purchase a brand that is somewhere in he middle-not too hard-not too soft. We are going to be renovating 23 rooms this winter. That project includes new mattresses. We hope you will come back to see us. Thank you again for the review. See you soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our friends picked the hotel... seemed like a nice place, easy to find, plenty of parking. We were on the top floor back, it was not loud. Front door was locked when we came back late- front desk lady buzzed us right in.

Room Tip: rooms out back overlook the pool
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are glad that you found everything to be clean and comfortable. We hope that you will consider the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg for any future lodging needs. It would be our pleasure. Thank you again for the review. We appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Always stay at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg. It is one of the nicest and best run properties I have ever stayed, possibly the best. The rooms are spotless and you can see the attention to the details that most properties don't. In the summer months, a great pool. It is like coming home for a visit. Most of the front desk staff know you when you return. Obviously a well managed property and they carry the excellent service in all departments. Great breakfast, comfortable beds and updated non smoking rooms. You WILL NOT go wrong here. If you would find anything not to your liking they are right on it. So until next time, goodbye, until we come "home" again.

Room Tip: They always accommodate your request. I like the back by the parking. It is quiet, well lit and clean. The front would give you a great view, this is just what works for us.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegrendels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We are so happy that you consider the 1863 Inn your home away from home! Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We hope that you will continue to make the 1863 Inn your "Gettysburg Address!" Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

While this is obviously an older hotel, the rooms are scrupulously clean, the personnel knowledgeable and friendly and the included breakfast is great. And, did I mention it is the best location in Gettysburg. Walking distance to most of the town. We will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Charlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We certainly appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and found everything to be to your liking. You are correct-the hotel is not new but our rooms are clean and we offer all the amenities that the newer hotels offer. Our staff does an excellent job at keeping the property ship shape! It may be an oldie but it's a goodie! :) Thank you again for the great review. Please come back to see us. It would be our pleasure!!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews