We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$133
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$130
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$134
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$167
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$159
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodges at Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$156
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
$189
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveler rating
469
289
124
36
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
469
289
124
36
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloyalty programjennie wade housegreat locationwithin walking distancefree breakfastbreakfast sandwichroom was cleansausage gravyin townplace to staywafflestop floorlate checkstreet noisebike weekcemetery hillparking lot
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 929 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived here as part of our East Coast road trip, at first the hotel seems enormous for the size of the town, more like a motel also, but reception staff were friendly, our room had 2 double beds was exceptionally clean, had free wifi-happy teenager and a pool! Nice surprise, as the heat has been unbelievable. We stayed for 3 nights and spent two days doing the Gettysburg auto tour. Where the hotel let itself down was the truly awful breakfast, I have never seen anything like it, the first morning when I entered the windowless breakfast room, I thought I had entered a zoo, TV blaring horrid processed microwaveable everything, plastic crockery and utensils and sausage gravy! Probably the most disgusting thing I have ever seen! Even the jam was artificial! So avoid breakfast it is scary but everything else great including laundry facility. Good value for money

Room Tip: Go for one on the back very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith280645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. Overall it appears that you enjoyed your stay-clean room, freindly staff and a great pool! I was a bit surprised by your comments regarding our FREE breakfast. The breakfast room is very comfortable. There is a very large overflow area right outside the main room that faces the front of the building. The wall to that area is nothing but windows. Very bright and cheery as well as quiet. We would have been happy to adjust the volume on the big screen TV. There is a Breakfast Attendant on duty at all times. As for the selection of items on the FREE breakfast bar-we offer a very nice variety of items. Something for everyone. Our guests want something that is quick and easy and we feel that what we have is sufficient. Most non-franchise hotels do not offer the wide selection that we do. There is also a number of full service restaurants in the area. Although not free, you do have the option. Again, thank you for the review. We are glad that you were happy with the cleanliness of your room and the staff here at the hotel. Those are 2 very important factors when choosing lodging in any town. Have a great Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 days at Gettysburg and stayed at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg. We would highly recommend this hotel. It was very clean, excellent location in the heart of Gettysburg, free parking and free Breakfast. The staff was very friendly and professional.


Wayne S

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit. We are so glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. That is our goal here at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg. We want every guest to have a wonderful time during their stay. We hope that you will visit us again. It would be our pleasure! Have a great Summer!

Thank you!

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Found it on the Internet and I'm glad I did. I booked directly and got a great price. Spacious extremely clean accommodations with all the perks needed, wireless, coffee in rooms. Very friendly staff. Perfect downtown location. If your going to Gettysburg stay here.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are glad to hear that you had a good visit with us at the 1863 Inn! Our rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. The staff is always friendly and eager to help with any needs our visitors may have. We hope you will come back to see us in the future. It would be our pleasure. Thank you again for the wonderful review. We appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We made yet another trip to Gettysburg and stayed at our favorite place......1863 Inn of Gettysburg. We can not say enough good things about the hotel and the wonderful people who work there. The front desk staff is so friendly and the rooms are neat and clean. We once again requested a room on an upper floor in the front of the building and they accommodated us without a problem. We love the front of the hotel because it allows you to see all that is going on in the town! They have a very nice "express" breakfast in the hotel which has a nice variety. It is a nice way to start your day and it is free! We have stayed at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 5 different times and would not even consider staying anywhere else when we visit! Already looking forward to our visit next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review! We certainly are glad that you enjoy your visits with us. We sincerely appreciate the kind words! Hope to see you next year if not before! Thanks again for taking the time to let us know how satisfied you were! Have a great Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for just one night and were pleased with our stay. The room and bathroom were more spacious than I expected. Breakfast selection was good. We didn't have a chance to use the pool, but it was a great size! Definitely recommend for a family stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be clean and comfortable. We hope that you will come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews