We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome location, pet friendly, and clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Awesome location, pet friendly, and clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg! We only came in for one night because we wanted to pay a visit to Gettysburg College. The hotel was pet friendly, which was a must because we had our Catahoula dog with us. They only required a $20.00 fee per night for the dog. The room was clean and welcoming. There was a nice grassy area near the hotel to walk the dog. A complimentary hot breakfast was provided for the guests. Though the coffee was a little burnt, and the apple juice was a little watery, we were very impressed with our stay! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruca1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We were happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. I do apologize for the coffee and the apple juice. I will check both machines to see if there is an issue. We hope that you will come see us again if you are ever back this way. Have a great Summer! And thank you again for the review!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    244
    104
    32
    11
See reviews for
280
287
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of downtown Gettysburg. Very friendly helpful staff. Super clean. Awesome breakfast. You can walk to everything. We did not use the pool, but it looked very nice. After checking out they let us stay parked in their parking lot so we could finish our excursions before we left Gettysburg. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnk1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you will stop in to see us again if you have the opportunity to return to our beautiful little town. Thank you again for the wonderful review. We certainly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
280 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a very clean hotel; staff very hospitable; breakfast enjoyable; and priced right for a stay in Gettysburg. The location is excellent within walking distance of many places worthy to visit in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the hotel and it was very quite and enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bclooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and see us again! It would be our pleasure. Have a great Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place is great if you are passing through Gettysburg, but not my thing for more than two nights. The loction and price were very good for the rooms you received, however, the hotel lacked attention to detail. While my room was very clean there were things that needed fixing, such as the carpet to the bathroom was frayed and had a tack sticking out of it, the electrical plug on the desk didn't work, and the bed was super sqweaky. Again, nothing major, but for those of you who may be anal retentive like I can be, a multi day stay with these types of annoyance might bother you, but for others may be just fine. There was a nice sized fridge that kept everything cold. The bed was a bit firm and so were the pillows, so if you are prone to a sore back be forewarned. The staff was very warm, friendly, and helpful. Parking was ample. Wifi had a quick connetion and it was easy to stream.

Room Tip: Given the hotels close proximity to the road, suggest getting a pool view in the back for less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the review. I hope you enjoyed your visit. I do apologize for the issues you mentioned. I have discussed them with the maintenance staff and they are being addressed. I have checked the Front Desk Log and found no mention of any problems. Please don't hesitate to bring any issues to our attention if you decide to visit with us again. Our goal is to provide each guest with a clean, comfortable room. Thank you again for the review. We use this information to improve our service. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved this hotel. The location was perfect, an easy walk to restaurants, and down town Gettysburg. We could also walk to the National Cemetery. It was a short drive to the Battlefield Visitor Center. The complimentary breakfast was very good and served in a spotlessly clean dining area. The entire staff was friendly and knowledgeable of the area. It was great to meet desk clerks who really seemed to love their job. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. We also appreciated the refrigerator which made it convenient to pack picnic lunches for our days on the battlefield. Bring an ethernet cable for free internet in your room or enjoy the free wifi in the comfortable lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed you visit and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and the staff helpful. We hope that you will come back to see us soon. Gettysburg is such a beautiful little town and there is so much to see and do. Have a great Summer and thank you again for the kind words! We certainly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plains
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

First time staying at this hotel, but we were not disappointed. Location is perfect, right in the center of downtown Gettysburg. Very clean which is important to me. Friendly staff and a nice breakfast. As a smoker, I appreciated the designated smoking areas on each floor We are often times forgotten about...so it was nice to see we "had a place" to go that did not interfere with any other patrons. Will definatley stay here again if we visit in the fall and I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed it! Our main goal is to provide all of our guests with a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable rate. It is nice to know that we met that goal and had another happy visitor. We hope you will come see us again if you are ever back this way. It would be our pleasure. Thank you again for thr review. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our second stay here, as we love the Gettysburg Hotel but it is very expensive during the summer months, so last year we stayed here for the first time. It is very reasonably priced and the customer service can't be beat. Ideal location and the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. If you are looking for a luxurious suite, this is not it, but it is certainly better than most hotels that offer this rate per night. The location is perfect, and you are surrounded by restaurants, attractions, shops and the Gettysburg experience. Last year they offered the rewards card for this hotel, it was free, and we receive 30% off any stay there, so that was another plus. For families on a budget, you really can't beat the location, price and once again, the best customer service and cleanest room I've experienced in a long time. Enjoy Gettysburg! I just got home and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamelamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your time with us. We are glad to hear that you have signed up for the "Loyalty Program". The savings is wonderful for repeat guests. Thank you for choosing The 1863 Inn of Gettysburg. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,421 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#15 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Property: 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing