We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Quaint Gettysburg!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Quaint Gettysburg!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

What a great little find! Based on the pictures on Expedia and Priceline, I was afraid that this would be a very dated hotel. Instead, I found it to be very charming and more of a historic feel to the Hotel. The location couldn't be beat!

Room Tip: Try "The Avenue" across the street. Delicious Cafe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLaymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We certainly appreciate it! You are correct-sometimes pictures can fool you. We are always working to improve the hotel and what we have to offer our guests. There aren't too many other "no name" hotels that offer the goodies that we do. We are very proud of this hotel. Our rooms are well equipped and very clean and comfortable. There is someone at our Front Desk 24/7 to take care of whatever needs our guests may have. We hope that you can join us over the next 2 years leading up to the 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg! It will be a very exciting time here in our beautiful little town. Thank you again for taking the time to post the review.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    264
    113
    33
    11
See reviews for
304
313
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Four of us stayed here over the NewYear'sEve wked for the 3rd time in the last four years. Obviously we are pleased on the counts with this facility: location, value, staff, and appearance. The Inn is well maintained, and lobby area warm and welcoming with holiday deorations. Numerous shops, restaurants, "pubs", and some civil war sights, all within easy walking distance. The Visitors Center for the battlefield is just a short drive up the road. And, for those whom want a more complete, sitdown breakfast, simply walk directly across the street to "The Avenue" where the locals eat!

Room Tip: Personally, this time of year, we always stay top floor, street side for the view. We did have a min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regrding your stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. Our goal is to do our best to make sure that every guest has a wonderful experience. We appreciate the reviews that are posted. They help us improve on our service and also let us know what we are doing right. We realize that there are many lodging options in Gettysburg. We thank you for your patronage and hope that you will continue to visit us. There are many exciting things happening in Gettysburg leading up to the 150th Anniversary in 2013! Hopefully you will be able to join us for some of the events! We look foward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2012

1 stay each year (2009,10,&11). Only disapointment was to find the lounge was discontinued shortly after our "09" stay. Very close to other bars, but not just downstairs. Otherwise top notch in my book. CLEAN,LOCATION,POOL,FREE BREAKFAST (not just any continental),PARKING, INTERNET& EXCELLENT STAFF . In the heart of it all,walk to anything you want or need. Maybe not the cheapest in town, but a very good value. Considered checking other lodging. But we, 3 other couples, my wife & I will be back in 2012. A SURE GOODTIME IS NOT WORTH THE RISK

Room Tip: I like front streetside rooms.(you do hear traffic) The rear parking side is much quieter, south end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit! We are sorry that you were disappointed to find that we had closed our lounge. With so many other bars in the area we were not that busy. We decided to close the lounge and turn that area into our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast area. It seems to be a big hit. The staff at our hotel is very helpful and take pride in their jobs and this property. They love to hear that they helped make a guests stay an enjoyable one! Your comments will be shared with all staff members. We appreciate the kind words! We look forward to your next visit! When you come back please ask about our "Loyalty" Program for repeat guests! Great savings! We will see you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Another great weekend in Gettysburg at the 1863 Inn. There are so many reasons why we love this place so much...the friendly staff from front desk to housekeeping, the rooms and grounds are immaculate and the location is perfect. We always feel so comfortable at the 1863. The staff is so accommodating and helpful. When we travel with our dog, there is always a dog treat left in the room for him and everyone remembers his name, very sweet! We love the location, during the busy months you can park your car and walk to many attractions and restaurants without having to search for a parking space as its walking distance to East Cemetary Hill, restaurants, shops, ghost tours and the Jennie Wade House is right there...so much fun. The rooms are so clean (I mean really clean!) and the new refrigerators are a nice touch. The beds are sooo comfy. We have been staying here for years and always notice how the 1863 Inn is always upgrading the rooms. We would never stay anywhere else, its our home away from home. Highly recommended for the rooms, staff, location and the rate which is always very reasonable. Thanks Again for your Hospitality..Rudy & Kathleen

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LITraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you so very much for the wonderful comments! We are so happy that you enjoy your visits with us. We realize that there are many lodging options available in Gettysburg. We also realize that there are many visitors that may be hesitant to stay at a hotel that is not part of a franchise-chain. We know how important it is to "keep up" with the bigger name brand properties therefore we are always upgrading and adding extra "goodies" to our rooms. We take pride in this hotel and we think that our visitors notice .We appreciate the review! It helps us in many ways-from letting other folks know that we are doing a good job to letting us know where we have to improve. Again-thank you so much for taking time to post the review. We look forward to your next visit! Please tell your puppy that we will have the treats ready! Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Sincerely and with much appreciation,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

i stayed here over night , nice hotel , had a king room with fridge in it , room and bathroom were clean , coffee in room plus coffee , tea and cocoa in the lobby . staff was friendly , breakfast was good for being free for guests , this place is in a great location , next to the jenny wade house , close to east cemetary hill of battlefield and cemetary . steinwher ave is there too alot of small shops and resturants ! joined the loyalty club for $2 and got $5 off my room stay and 30% off future visits. i will be back to stay here again !

Room Tip: Great Location to walk to places !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limoman0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit! We have a wonderful staff. They take pride in this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location can't be beat! We have had very good comments about the Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast. Our guests love it! We were very happy to hear that you signed up for our "Loyalty" Program! It it a great way to save money on every stay with us! We look forward to your next visit! Happy Holidays and thank you again for the review!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Great location near Cemetery Ridge & the National Military Park & Visitor Center.

Plenty of free parking. Rooms are entered from outside like a motel. Seems like it was built in the 1960s or 70s, but it is in good condition & the rooms are modern & clean. While a good continental breakfast was included, I would have preferred a refrigerator & microwave in the room. I don't like to eat out 2-3 times a day while traveling.

It is a good place to stay, but next time I would try to find a place with a more civil war period look & feel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us.You are correct-the hotel is a bit older then some but it is well maintained. Every year in our off season we do renovations. This winter we will re-do 25 rooms. We are very excited about this project! And part of that project is to put refrigerators in the rest of our rooms. There are rooms with microwaves in now-they are our King Feature rooms. We also have a microwave in our lobby area for guests use along with free coffee and tea 24 hours a day. We are glad to see that your room was clean and comfortable. That is our goal here. Our staff works very hard to make sure that each guest enjoys their visit. We hope you will stop to see us agin if you are back in the area. It would be our pleasure. Have a wondeful Holiday Season.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Spent Veteran's Day weekend at this hotel. The previous reviews of this hotel led me to it. Location can't be beat. It's in the center of everything. An easy walk to downtown Gettysburg. It is also close to many good restaurants so one can park their car in the hotel parking lot and walk to where you want to go.The Battlefield is just a half mile down the street.The hotel is immaculate, very well kept, and the morning breakfast features many choices.The lobby features a nice sitting area with a gas fireplace.
We will certainly visit this hotel again.Also for travelers that travel with a pet as we do, they are welcomed also for a nominal fee. it's a pleasure to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: People complained of street noise if staying in a front room. We faced the rear of the building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeabreezeNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We certainly appreciate your review! Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your visit. You are correct-the location of the hotel is great for those that do not want to fight the traffic and pay the meters! Most of the major attractions are within walking distance. The National Visitors Center is a short drive from the hotel. The downtown area is just 5 blocks away-a nice walk. We are very proud of this hotel and our staff. We all work very hard to make sure that each guest has wonderful stay. Our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is a great way to start your day offering a good selection of hot and cold items. It really does seem to be a big hit with our guests. We hope that you will visit us again. On your next stay you may want to ask about our "Loyalty" program for repeat guests! Great savings! Thank you again for your review! Have a wonderful Holiday Season and we will see you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,485 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Property: 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing