We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hotel I'll stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have been to Gettysburg MANY times, and stayed in different hotels. Since I stayed here, I won't stay anywhere else! The price is very reasonable, especially if you get the "Loyalty Rewards Card." The rooms are always very clean and the staff is wonderful. They will give more coffee for the coffee maker, and more towels if you ask them. The rise and shine breakfast is pretty good. Also, it has a great location. It is within walking distance of anything you need, plenty of restaurants around, shops, and a convenience store.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

We appreciate the wonderful review that you posted regarding your stay with us! Thank you so much for your continued patronage. Our goal here at the 1863 Inn is to make sure that every guest enjoys their visit! Our "Loyalty Program" gives you huge savings with no black out dates-if we have a room you get the "Loyalty" rate! There is someone at the front desk 24 hours a day to take care of what ever extra supplies you may need. The Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is a nice way to start your day. If you are looking for something a little more extensive there are plenty of other options within walking distance of the hotel. You can't beat the location of this hotel! We look forward to your next visit. There are plenty of things to see and do in Gettysburg and with the 150th Anniversary in 2013 there will be many events planned for the next 2 years. It will be a very exciting time here in our little town! We hope you will be able to join us!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 895 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed for one night recently and would recommend it. Room was spacious, clean and quiet (had room in the back). Hotel is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the square. The free breakfast in the morning was very good. Big selection of hot and cold items. Dobbin House Restaurant nearby was excellent. I recommend making reservations ahead of time, especially on weekends. Will definitely stay here again on next trip back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

We certainly appreciate the wonderful comments you posted regarding your stay with us! We have a great location-you can park the car and walk to most of the major attractions. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our Free "Rise and Shine" breakfast! We do offer a very nice selection and our guests seem to love it! I will make sure that the Housekeepers know that you were pleased with the cleanliness of the room. They wrok very hard and love to hear that their hard work is noticed. We hope that you can visit with us again. Gettysburg is a beautiful little town and offers so much to see and do. Thank you again for the review!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Has the feel of a comfort inn or holiday inn. Furniture seems up to date, and the room was fairly spacious and clean. Fluffy towels.

My biggest gripe was the bedding: Bed was hard as a rock, terrible pillows, and a VERY thin blanket with no warmth at all.

No room service.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superlaura905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Thank you so much for posting a review on your stay with us! The information you provide is very helpful to us. You mentioned that we had the feel of a Holiday Inn-we were a Holiday Inn. We decided to drop the franchise. But we still provide each guest with a clean and comfortable room packed with the same "goodies" as the larger name brand hotels. I am sorry that the mattress was not to your liking. It is very difficult to provide bedding that suits every guest. Some poeple like a hard mattress and others like a soft one. The room you were in had a new mattress therefore it was on the firm side. You mentioned that we do not have room service. We do not have a restaurant so we do not have room service. We do offer a Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast with each room. That seems to be a very big hit with our guests! I do apologize for the "thin" blanket. Actually those blankets are some of the blankets that we used when we were still a franchise hotel. We are currently changing to the Vellux blankets that seem to work much better. We would have been happy to provide you with a different blanket but were not aware that there was an issue. For future reference, there is a member of our staff on duty 24 hours a day to assist our guests with any needs they may have.
I do hope that you will visit us again. The next 2 years are going to be very exciting here in Gettysburg! There will be many events leading up to the 150th anniversary in 2013! Hopefully you will be able to join us! Thank you again for the comments!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed one night and then went to another place. I only change places because of location. I wanted to be closer to the square.

There was nothing wrong with the place. The room was nice, clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the one night that you did stay with us! Normally our location is a big plus because we are located within walking distance to most of the attractions. But it is a bit of a hike to the downtown area-about 6 blocks. I will make sure that the housekeeping staff knows that you were very satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. They do a wonderful job! I do hope that you will visit us again if you are ever in the area. Gettysburg is such a beautiful little town! So much to see and do. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed at the 1863 Inn for 2 nights, and had a great experience. The room was very clean, bathroom large, and the location is very convenient to everything that Gettysburg has to offer. Will stay here the next time I come to visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cebe_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us! I was very pleased to see that you were happy with the accommodations. The Housekeeping staff does an excellent job cleaning the rooms. They are very proud of this hotel and it shows in their work. The location is great-just park the car and walk to mostly everything of interest. Gettysburg has much to offer. There are many events being planned for the 150th Anniversary celebration in 2013! It will be a very exciting time here! I hope that you will visit us again. Thank you again for the wonderful comments!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our second visit there this year and we had the best stay ever. A nice, quiet, and very clean room. As always a convenient location, helpful staff, and a great complimentary breakfast. Can't think of anything that was lacking. We love this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDR102EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. We have a perfect location for taking in all the attractions! You can just park the car and walk. Our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast seems to be a big hit. It is a great way to start your day. We work very hard to make sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your patronage. We hope that you will visit us again if you are in this area. There are many events being planned for the 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg in 2013! Hopefully you will be able to join us for some of those events!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The location, right in the heart of much of Gettysburg, is quite convenient, and the idea that the hotel is not a chain is appealing. There's also a pool on the property--something not every Gettysburg hotel has--and the streetside view from the top floor is nice. However, we found the overall feel less than completely welcoming, particularly in the context of posted signs with negative tone (ex. a sign announcing that you should be prepared to show your room key at breakfast). There are classier ways to convey that message. We recommend the Travelodge across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regiontravelreturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. I was very pleased to see that you were basically satisfied with the hotel. I would never want you to think that we are unfriendly. The sign posted at the entrance to the room that we have our "Free" Breakfast in actually states-" Free Rise and Shine Breakfast for hotel guests. You may be asked to show proof of registration". It does not say that you "will" be asked-it states that you "may" be asked. Please allow me to explain why we felt the need to post the sign- we are located on a major street here in Gettysburg. We have had several incidents where people have walked in off of the street and helped themselves to the breakfast that is meant to be enjoyed by our guests. Now that we have posted the sign there are fewer problems. It is my understanding that you were not asked by any staff member to show proof of registration. The Travelodge that you mention serves their breakfast on their 2nd floor so it is easier for them to control it. I do not think that the wording on the sign is offensive or unfriendly in any way. I do apologize if you felt that it was. I do hope that you will consider staying with us if you are ever back in the area. We really are a very friendly hotel and we do everything that we can to make sure all of our guests have an enjoyable visit! Thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,528 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $81 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing