We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Refuse to Stay Anywhere Else in Gettysburg”
Review of The Doubleday Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Doubleday Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We Refuse to Stay Anywhere Else in Gettysburg”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was our second stay. The reason we came back was - our first stay. Christine and Todd are wonderful hosts. Breakfasts were delicious and met our low-carb requirements to perfection. They were able to recommend great restaurants and gave us tips on what to order. Todd was able to provide us with a great deal of information on the battle of Gettysburg.
The location is so peaceful, right on the Oak Ridge battlefield. It was very relaxing to sit outside with a hot cup of coffee and reflect on the beauty of it all. When I awoke in the morning, with my head still on the pillow, I could see the batllefield. You just can't do that downtown.
Molly, the resident golden retriever, happily accepts all of the love you can pour onto her. She is a doll.
Our tour of the battefield was greatly enhanced by the loan of the CD and field guide. Be sure to ask when you come.
As soon as we got home, we made another booking. We just can't stay away. We are truly hooked.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are named after Conderate officers, while those on the north side are named...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    21
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
113
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We greatly enjoyed our return visit to the Doubleday. Todd and Christine are excellent hosts, with an assist from Molly. Each room in the inn is unique and we have stayed in four different rooms thus far. The Doubleday experience includes an awesome location on Oak Ridge(part of the first day's battlefield), excellent rooms and breakfasts, friendly and helpful hosts, and the opportunity play with Molly(golden retriever).

Room Tip: Several good choices, research the view, room size, and tub/shower options on the Doubleday's we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Henrietta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Who doesn't want to wake up on the flower laden majestic battlefield of Gettysburg? Within sight of the Eternal Flame memorial, this cozy home is beautiful, clean and welcoming. The breakfast is wonderful and the owners are very accommodating. The shelves are filled with books to red, there is a public laptop & printer, the battlefield driving tour CD and map is available for free. There is a refrigerator, water, tea, coffee, and cookies available during the day. Several of the rooms have "football field" size bathrooms. The view is amazing and a morning or evening walk is just so delightful. I've stayed here twice and plan to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedzingerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have been staying annually at the Doubleday Inn for at least 3 years now. The owners (Christine and Todd) are wonderfully helpful (they do just about everything, from making restaurant reservations, loaning guests camp stools to use on battlefield walks, to arranging specialty battlefield tours). I love their breakfasts and those yummy, freshly baked cookies in the evenings. The Doubleday is wonderfully quiet and away from all of the noise and parking problems in the main part of town. No, the Doubleday Inn does not have TVs and radios in each room, but has the much more attractive advantage of allowing you to converse with your fellow guests about Gettysburg and various aspects of Gettysburg (not only about the battle/Civil War, but some very interesting hobbies, including ghosthunting, architecture, geology, and strange restaurant experiences [fellow guests told us about eating a combination lunch of pizza and Chinese food]). I honestly can't see staying anywhere else when in Pennsylvania, let alone on a visit to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRI-Sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place is pretty much a complete 180 of the Inn at Herr Ridge. The Doubleday Inn is located directly on the Gettysburg Battlefield Auto Tour route. I again went with my partner and was pleasantly surprised by the owner's manor. Christine greeted us and gave us more than enough information to help us get around the city. The Bell Jefferson room was absolutely perfect for the two of us. I wasn't sure how the breakfast was going to be, but when I walked out, I found a plate of fresh fruit, blueberry french toast, sausages, orange juice, coffee, and all the tea flavors I could ever want! Christine and Todd kept interesting conversations going the entire breakfast, and their adorable dog, Molly, was a sweety! I recommend this Inn to anyone who wants to take a trip back in time. Christine and Todd, if you read this, thank you SO much for such a fantastic experience. We could not have asked for a more romantic getaway!

Room Tip: We were in the Bell Jeffereson room and it was very cozy, but really a look at the Doubleday Inn web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Beautiful B & B, very friendly, accommodating owners who go out of their way for their guests. Amazing location right on the battlefield. It seemed a little expensive, but I have no idea what the going rate is for B & B's in Gettysburg. Really can't say enough good things about our experience. Relaxing, peaceful, quaint......can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BooTerp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at Doubleday Inn which is a very comfortable, clean B & B right on the Battlefield! There was a talk by an historian which was very informative and we found the whole experience quite amazing and moving! Todd & Christine are very helpful hosts and Gettysburg itself is a lovely little town. This is a great location to then maybe go to the Amish areas of Pennsylvania, which we did!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,021 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.9 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
858 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,466 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doubleday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doubleday Inn

Property: The Doubleday Inn
Address: 104 Doubleday Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8519
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Gettysburg Bed and Breakfast located directly on the National Battlefield! You are literally "up above it all" here on Oak Ridge, overlooking both the Battlefield and the town of Gettysburg. With just 9 rooms and onsite owner/innkeepers, we offer a TRUE B&B experience with exceptional service and personalized attention. Offering gracious accommodations to discerning travelers for over 20 years, we invite you to come see for yourself what all the buzz is about! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Doubleday Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing