We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great stay at the Doubleday Inn!”
Review of The Doubleday Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Doubleday Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Always a great stay at the Doubleday Inn!”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Christine, Todd, and Molly provide superior hospitality. The combination of the Inn, its great inkeepers, and location on Oak Ridge(the site of part of the battle on July 1) makes the Doubleday Inn a top choice among Gettysburg b&b's. We look forward to our return to the Doubleday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    20
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
110
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

On our first trip to Gettysburg, we stayed 2 nights at this B&B in the Sallie and Ramseur rooms. The Sallie was adorable and the perfect size for our teenager and the Ramseur was adequate for us. Todd and Christine are wonderful hosts, helpful in every way. We really enjoyed sitting at the breakfast table listening to the lively banter of Civil War buffs, and the food was delicious! The owners had made arrangements on our behalf for the private battlefield tour guide - wonderful! Just plan in advance. The Weds night Q&A with another battlefield guide was icing on the cake.
Two nights were good but three would have been better. The historical location of this Inn is like no other in Gettysburg. (tip: the Cutler room was substantially larger than the Ramseur - worth the few extra dollars and was the only other room I saw.) We felt very comfortable here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apples0ranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

place to stay in Gettysburg. Warm and inviting, super hospitality as well as delicious breakfast. My sister and I had a wonderful stay in April.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc42607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Six adults met here for our once a year get-together. Perfect location with Battlefield views, driveway and walks cleared of snow, hosts were waiting for us and were very helpful and knowledgable about the area, nice rooms, very clean. Fresh cookies and a warm fire. Breakfast was excellent. We would all return again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lititztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

If you are looking for a cozy, comfortable and picturesque place to stay while in Gettysburg, look no further than the Doubleday Inn!!! Each room is unique, with charming, "period correct" furniture and decor. Everything is well maintained, very clean, and accommodating. We stayed in the Iverson room, which has an amazing view! The Inn is right in the middle of the battlefield, so you can literally walk to many monuments and sites, including the Eternal Peace Light memorial, quite easily. The breakfast menu is incredible... my personal favorite- caramelized French toast! There is fresh fruit served with each main dish as well. And there are always delicious homemade cookies in the dining area all day! The rooms are not cheap, but the atmosphere, friendliness and competence of the owners and staff and service definitely make it worth what you pay, in my opinion. We definitely recommend the Doubleday Inn to anyone looking for a unique place to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PA101girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

As others have said this B and B location can't be beat! Loved sitting on the lawn at sunset with a glass of wine overlooking the battlefield as well as viewing the morning mist over the valley while eating a wonderful breakfast! The hosts were extremely helpful, the inn was charming, loved Molly the golden, and only a few minutes from downtown, but with a feel of being far from everything. It was a very special stay for us in Gettsburg. Would love to come back someday.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monarchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We just returned from a two-night stay with our niece and we second what everyone else is saying. The Doubleday Inn is in a great location, especially if you are a morning walker. We had two rooms, the Devin and the Sallie, and both were great, with the minor quibble being the bathroom for the Sallie (the only one in the house without an ensuite bath) is farther down the hall than we were told ("a few steps" = about 15 feet). But still, both were great and spotlessly clean, and the other rooms I poked my head into looked similarly well-appointed. Free wifi and an available computer really were nice things to have.
Gorgeous views! We watched the sunrise in our bed overlooking the battlefield.
A word of caution for those who have allergies, the owners have a lovely golden lab who hangs out downstairs (away from the rooms, but near breakfast). She really is a sweetie and is very well-behaved, but remember to bring your Zyrtec.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrldTrav-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.9 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.0 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.4 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#9 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#5 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doubleday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doubleday Inn

Property: The Doubleday Inn
Address: 104 Doubleday Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8519
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Gettysburg Bed and Breakfast located directly on the National Battlefield! You are literally "up above it all" here on Oak Ridge, overlooking both the Battlefield and the town of Gettysburg. With just 9 rooms and onsite owner/innkeepers, we offer a TRUE B&B experience with exceptional service and personalized attention. Offering gracious accommodations to discerning travelers for over 20 years, we invite you to come see for yourself what all the buzz is about! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Doubleday Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing