We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I would not stay again”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Terrible musty odor in the room due to the AC unit, but when it's 100* like it was for our trip- it wasn't an option to turn it off. WIFI was slow, breakfast was less than i had hoped for. In our shower, the tub floor felt like it was very soft- not just creaky- but there were soft spots where it felt like it could cave in. Moldy corners in the shower and the shower head didn't work well, old bedding ripped/torn blankets. The Beds/pillows not the most comfortable (we stayed at a hampton the night before, loooove their beds) I will say the staff was very nice and professional and close to everything historical downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabreezegettysburg, General Manager at Days Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
I am very sorry that this guests stay was not enjoyable.I wish we could make every guest that comes to our hotel have a good experience.That is certainly not always the case no matter how hard we try. ( and we do try our best ).Our AC is cleaned as often as needed, but for the use they get in the summertime we can't get to each and every one immediately. Our box springs and mattresses are Serta Pillow tops ( brand new ) just put into the rooms in March 2012 so i don't know why they were uncomfortable although everyone does not like the same firmness with a mattress. I have NEVER seen a ripped or torn blanket on the beds and if i did it would be replaced immediately or would have been replaced had the guest let us know if in fact it was there.I do however apologize for any inconvenience any guest has at our hotel as we strive to make our hotel the best we can.Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    572
    233
    63
    24
See reviews for
604
437
88
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked two rooms for our family and both rooms had a bad odor and it seemed like a citrus freshener was used to cover up the odor. We must have not stayed in renovated rooms because we had the old style fitted polyester spreads on the beds. Our sinks were located outside of the bathrooms. The tubs were old with cracked tiles and no caulk. The wireless service was difficult to use and did not always work.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Days Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I am very sorry you did not have a positive stay at our hotel.If i had known this while you were here i certainly would have done my best to rectify the issue. I would like to know the room # so i can personally check on this so it does not happen again.I apologize also for the wifi issue as we were having issues with it. I had Tech support working on it as diligently as possible. Please accept my apology as we do occasionally run into things that are very annoying and that is one thing we do not want our guests to have to cope with. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Thiswas actually our second choie BUT it turned out for the better. A very receptive front staff and friendly people . The breakfast area was service continuously and was clean . Would stay here again without hesitation !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikermarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Days Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review. We are always striving to make our guests feel at home when in our hotel.It's guests like you that make our job very enjoyable. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future..Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,753 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed a couple nights and was very pleased. Rooms were updated with flatscreen tv's. Very clean and hotel had an excellent location. minutes from downtown. Offered a free continental breakfast. Excellent and friendly service. Next time I go to Gettysburg, I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlantern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your generous feedback..We look forward to a future visit when you are in the area. It's always a pleasure having nice guests stay in our hotel and thank you for choosing Days Inn...Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The faucet was not attached to the sink. The toilet handle had to be held down to work. The lamp inthe corner didn't work, either did the outlet for the computer on the desk lamp. 3 bath towels for 4 registered guests. A coffee maker, but no cups were provided. Dirt and a childs toy left by prior guests, who knows how long ago. Housekeeping, try moving the furniture and cleaning. It was only 2nights, but there are many other places, stay there instead.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
I am so very disappointed when i read this.I certainly apologize for this and wish this had been brought to my attention while the guests were here.I don't have a room # to check on these problems as no one said anything about any of this..Again my sincere apology and anytime our facility is not how it should be please let me know while in the hotel so any problem can be rectified...Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed at the Days Inn Gettsburg during the Memorial Day Weekend for my daughter's soccer tournament. The hotel was recently renovated and I was plesantly surprised at the new look and feel of the hotel. Here are a few things to note:

1) Very good customer service: I was originally placed on the second floor, but a strong scent of cigarette smoke was coming through the vents, so they immediately moved me to the fifth floor.

2) The room: All of the furniture appeared to be new. It didn't have that "carpet powder" smell that I associate with hotels of this level. Water had good pressure. Beds were comfortable. There were two washers and dryers on the third floor, which helped.

3) The breakfast room: It was packed at 9 am, but the typical assortment of breakfast items were available - waffles, donuts, juices, cereal, fruit, etc.

4) Location: It is about 2 miles from the heart of Gettyusburg.

5) The pool: I didn't have a chance top get to the pool, but it looked as if people were enjoying themselves.

6) The gym/workout room: This was below standard, especially for a hotel that was recently renovated. It smelled and had very old equipment.

Overall: It is about what you would expect from a no frills hotel in terms of amenities. The renovation is what made the stay bearable for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabreezegettysburg, General Manager at Days Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We do our best to make sure all guests are happy and comfortable.Thank you for choosing our hotel while in Gettysburg and we look forward to a return visit..Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

It was better than average but less than stellar. I think what made it really good was the staff. The front desk clerks were always friendly and helpful. They really knew their jobs and took care of people with courtesy and friendliness. When we decided to add an extra day on to our trip, it was handled efficiently and quickly. We didn't even have to move rooms.

The room itself was clean and the beds were comfortable. I think my only complaint (and it wasn't a big deal at all) was the fact that the shower and the faucet would run at the same time. So if we were showering, the bathtub faucet would be going as well. I meant to tell the front desk staff but I never got around to it.

The proximity to the national park containing the battlefields was fantastic. Everything in that area was within a 5 minute drive. We'll more than likely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabreezegettysburg, Director of Sales at Days Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your positive response.We value all opinions as it helps us to focus on issues that our guests may have. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future..Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,443 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
1.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gettysburg

Property: Days Inn Gettysburg
Address: 865 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#13 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing