We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel has super helpful staff. They go out of their way to help you out. I recommend this hotel for the extra effort they put in to help. If you are looking somewhere to stay that it a good value and great service, this place would be a good bet in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James201210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy you felt our staff was helpful and we were a good value hotel. We try our best to make everyones stay perfect! The new staff are more customer oriented and do go out of their way to help. We have ongoing training programs in customer service and have been using the winter months to become more focused on the battlefield attractions so we are geared up to help more in 2013. Again thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 412 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a nice stay here...But...,SOME staff needs to be schooled on customer service!! B-rast were o.k.Rooms were clean and maintained.I do feel i was in the right place at the right time! The feeling i got from here is o.k., And i would stay here again......

Room Tip: DO check your travel locations......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Underway1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were pleased with your room and had a nice stay. We look forward to seeing you again. We are unhappy you were not pleased with the staff that much. We recently hired a new staff. We have chosen friendly, more customer oriented staff. They undergo continuous training in customer service. They also are more knowlegable on Gettysburg. If you check the reviews after your stay you will see that staff service has improved. Again we look forward to having you stay again and meet the new staff. Thank you again for your nice comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We reserved connecting rooms here more than a week before our visit. When calling the day before our planned visit to confirm, we found out that only one room had been reserved. Not a big deal, and we reserved a second connecting room at that time.

We arrived at the hotel at 2:15 to pay and hopefully check in. I am a freelance writer and often do articles on hotels and restaurants as we travel, and 95% of the time, we can check in anytime after 2 at the 3:00 check-in hotels. Again, not a huge problem, just annoying and we drove around for 45 minutes.

But then the "biggie" that WAS a problem happened. After making us wait not a minute sooner than 3 to check in, they found out we were paying with cash (as we always do without a problem.) They tried to charge us $150 deposit to pay with cash. I am well aware that some places do this with debit cards, but we have been traveling numerous times a year for more than 20 years and never once until now was there any kind of deposit required to pay with cash, let alone such a seemingly unreasonable deposit.

We found another pet friendly hotel in Gettysburg that ended up costing a considerable amount less, said not a word about paying with cash, and saved our vacation that could have been a horrible memory if we'd not remembered that they were pet friendly as well.

As a side note, we used to stay at this Comfort Inn on York Road often... the most recent being just a few years ago. Never had a problem and always had a great stay. I have no idea what changed, but it was not a positive event. I see that some of the reviews seem to be mixing this up with the Comfort Inns and Suites also in Gettysburg. Two very different establishments.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize for any mixup with your reservation, however this may or may not have been the front desk associates error as there are many booking agents and reservation sites. It appeared they made all efforts to please you at checkin. The main problem you encountered was the security deposit request. Up until this year we never requested a security deposit. With the new televisions and upgrades we have had to make changes on the deposits if you do not have a credit card. Alot of hotels lately will not even take cash anymore so you must have a credit card.The main reason we did it is because in the beginning of the year I had a room destroyed with over $3000 in damages. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you due to the security deposit. If you are in the area again I hope to see you. The other hotel you stayed at that allowed pets I'd call ahead to make sure they still don't charge a security deposit because I heard it's changed. Thank you agaain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Gettysburg on York Road for 2 nights while visiting the area. The hotel parking was fine, we found a spot near the door every time. The check-in was smooth. Our room was on the first floor (we asked and they delivered) and it was clean and tidy. The TV was a big flat screen and was very nice to watch. The a/c worked perfectly fine. The bathroom sink was outside of the bathroom and it was well-kept. We had enough towels too. The fridge was a big one, bigger than I've ever had at a hotel. It also had a microwave and a coffee maker.

Now the breakfast had more to be desired. The breakfast was typical of a Comfort Inn with hot food items being waffles, scrabbled eggs and sausage patties. The cold items were hard-boiled eggs and yogurt. Plus it had the normal items like coffee, tea, cereals, toast, muffins, and fruit. Unfortunately, it was not the best food around. The yogurt was soupy (near expiration), the blueberry muffins had a funny taste and not something we would eat again; we were too afraid to try what looked to be cinnamon muffins next to them. The bananas were nearly totally brown, but people were eating them, myself included. The individually wrapped butters/margarines in little tubs, although stored in the mini-fridge, had their lids partially off already when you took a few from the fridge (were they frozen and re-frozen, nobody knows). One of the two waffle makers were out-of-service (never to be fixed while we were there) which caused confusion and longer lines for the only waffle maker there. And they ran out of food/milk, etc on one day and it was in the middle of the breakfast time frame. The eggs were cold and tasteless, not to be eaten a second day.

If we stay here next time we will have to go out for breakfast, although the Perkins Family Restaurant across from the parking lot didn't give us much hope as we ate there one night for breakfast and the sweet potatoe fries had a strange taste.

Room Tip: If you choose a room on the 1st floor, you may get the room next to the front desk and you will here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLoisLayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy you were pleased with the room, with the new flat screen televisions and fridge and microwave. We were unhappy to hear you were not that satisfied at breakfast. We implimented the new "Your Morning Breakfast" and we have recieved rave reviews. The food quaility seems to be much better. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future and trying the new breakfast selections. Again thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel was fabulous! We stayed there for 11 days and I feel I picked a great one! The staff was very friendly, very helpful and just pleasant to chat with. The housekeeping was excellent. Our room was very clean and smelled fresh the day of our arrival, and was kept that way throughout our stay. The housekeeping staff was friendly and happy to provide us with extra towels or whatever else we needed. Breakfast was delicious - many hot items included (such as sausage, eggs, waffles) and a great variety!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We feel our breakfast is the best of the three hotels surrounding us. This is the new "Your Morning Breakfast" program, which we have been getting outstanding comments about. Thank you for your comments about the staff in general. They all complete extensive ongoing training in customer service. The rooms we try to give the like new look. We were complately remodeled a year ago but we try to maintain the look. Again thank you for your nice comments and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We stay at this hotel almost every year we started about three years ago when they had big tube tvs, now its freshly, and newly done nice flat tvs which my husband loved, cleaned shower, smelled clean overal ok however the hotel staff was awful the housekeeping was nice but didnt speak english we would walk out the door and the general manager i believe white hair? & have the staff bigger brown hair lady, others girls were sitting out there smoking seems like everytime we went to our room they were there, so no wonder when we need help we didnt get any!!! Food was ok but mcdonalds kept looking better.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harisTdc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the room and the new 42 inch flat screened televisions. As for the staff being on break whenever you needed them we usually only have one staff member working at a time so perhaps there was a company meeting going on that day. If there was no one behind the desk they are always available by phone and a sign posted at the front desk. Recently we have had a change of staff at the hotel that are more customer service oriented. They are constantly enhancing their skills through training in customer servcie.Thanks again and we look forward to you giving us another chance again to prove our improvements in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Probably picked a bad time to visit Gettysburg, there was a series of WW-II re-enactments events going on which we didn't realize until we drove into town. Several hotels/motels we tried first were all booked out and the Comfort Inn was the first that had availability. Due to the amount of people visiting the town check-in was very busy and took way longer then it should, staff also appeared stressed but effort was definitely made to stay professional and friendly.

Room was ok and of Comfort Inn standard, not overly spacious but comfortable and for a single night more then fine. I wasn't overly impressed with breakfast but this might have been caused by the mass of people all trying to have it at the same time in a too small area. I'll give it the benefit of the doubt and say that in a less busy period I'd consider staying there again (check that calendar).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller-935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa120, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. Sometimes it does get a bit hectic with the tourist season. To me I prefer the winter when the museums, restaurants and hotels are less crowded. We now have additional seating for breakfast in another breakfast room for days when the hotel is full. We recently implimented the new "Your Morning Breakfast". The breakfast consists of sausages, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, assorted danishes and muffins, juices, oatmeal, yogurt, assorted breads, home made waffles, coffee and tea. We hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,540 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
574 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#23 of 28 in Gettysburg
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg

Address: 871 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7501 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Gettysburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range: $52 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Gettysburg
Comfort Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing