We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'd rather sleep in your car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Northern NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You'd rather sleep in your car”
Reviewed July 25, 2006

The desk clerk was rude and when he stated the room would be $85 and I asked if that was negotiable (I've paid $79-99 at beautiful Marriot Courtyards in every major city on the east coast) he said I would not get a room in Gettysburg anywhere else for less than him. We figured he was right, we'd seen that the previous 3 motels we'd passed had no vacancy. The rooms were small, outdated and the bathrooms had no water pressure and the towels smelled bad and were old. The comforter was almost sticky when you sat on the bed. And then we noticed the sheets were also old, and if they were clean, then they were stained. We left, got our refund (we had paid in cash) and went 5 miles down 34 on the right to a beautiful old fashioned little motel (Blue Sky Motel) with tidy knotty cedar-paneled rooms and clean comfy beds for $55. The shower was hot, the bathroom small and clean (toilet even had a sanitized wrap on it to show it'd been done) and they were VERY nice. Did I mention the AC got the room comfy in about 5 minutes? Don't waste your money at Three Crowns Motor Lodge. It's disgusting.

  • Liked — It was very close to town
  • Disliked — The room, the dirty sheets, the dirty bathroom, the clerk.
  • Tips/Secrets — Drive a little bit north of town on 34 and stay at Blue Sky Motel
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CountryBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    185
    55
    20
    28
See reviews for
128
157
44
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 30, 2005

We have stayed here twice and may very well do it again,We found this motor lodge to be just what We needed,it was close to all local attractions plus they sold tickets for a washington D.C. Bus Tour which the wife and I liked so well We have taken the tour twice.....Good clean old motel.

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2005

We booked this hotel because of the lower price. I called to confirm the reservation and whoever answered the phone couldn't find it for 20 minutes while I panicked. The room included 2 double beds, we were charged extra for having a 12 year old with us. The place was very clean inside. It's an older hotel, located in the heart of things. You can walk to most museums and the cemetary. The hotel advertises "breakfast" on it's sign, which consists of lousy, watered down coffee in small cups, a few donuts and orange juice. They have a pool as well, which at first glance seems ok. It's very old also, and appears to be clean... until you get in. The water was salty, and we emerged feeling sticky and dirty. The area around the pool could use a good sprucing up, it appeared unkept. Compared to other rates in the area, it was the most economical, but still way overpriced for what you got.

Helpful?
4 Thank mealove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 18, 2004

Very convient location close to everything.It,s ok for an older style motel.Clean and comfortable.Good food and attractions within walking distance .Parking right outside your room very nice.Would recommend to people traveling on a budget.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2004

Good standard motel. No problems parking. The room was clean and roomy. Plenty of hangers. Older fixtures - toilet handle needed to be held down. Staff takes pride in their work. Great location - everything within walking distance. The pool, however, was not clean; also on the small side. Morning coffee was good. No clock in the room. Will stay here again.

Helpful?
6 Thank civilkpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2004

This a very nice motel with a great location. It was very clean. Great pillows! We didn't use the pool, but it was clean and other people were using it. The motel is withing walking distance to EVERYTHING in Gettysburg. It is located across the street from the cemetery. A couple great places to eat are nearby, the Gingerbread House and the Avenue Restaurant. I would stay there again. The price was good. I think it was a good bargain.

Helpful?
4 Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 11, 2004

I have been staying there for the last 10years. It has always been clean and comfortable. Everyone has always been real helpfull and at times went out of the norm to take care of us. It is located within walking distance of everything

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.2 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge

Property: Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge
Address: 205 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2801
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host 3 Crowns Motor Lodge
Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Hotel Gettysburg
Budget Host Three Crowns Hotel
Budget Host Three Crowns Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing