We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Homewood, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

In a town where hotels are not shy about charging top dollar, the Three Crowns Motor Lodge gives a value alternative, and not at sacrifice of comfort or cleanliness. And it’s a lovely reminder of when people stayed at a place called a “motor lodge”.

If you did a lot of traveling in the 50s and 60s, like I did with my parents, most overnighting was done in a motor lodge, or motel. Just like the Three Crowns, you pulled up to the door of your room (park free, of course), and opened it with a real key on a large plastic fob. Just like the Three Crowns, you knew you would be getting a room that was more eclectic than corporate, and there was more than a good chance the guy behind the check-in desk was the owner.

One of the best features of the Three Crowns is its location, which is superb. It is literally across the street from an entrance to the National Cemetery, which connects to the Gettysburg Address memorial. It’s also within walking distance to several historic buildings, ghost tours, and restaurants. If you need to travel to somewhere in the town by car, such as the Gettysburg Museum & Visitor Center, the Three Crowns is at the junction of main streets.

The room itself was spacious. I had some initial fear that the smallish air conditioner way at the back wall of the room would be insufficient, but it blew cold and hard during a warm and humid night. The bathroom area is not large, but adequate. The separate sink area is large, but if I were to make a suggestion to management, perhaps a better place can be found for the room’s dorm-size refrigerator. It works just fine, but having it on the sink top takes a lot of room away from other sink top functions. I also found the light over the sink not bright enough for easy shaving.

Having the refrigerator is quite handy, as the morning repast is coffee and pastries, two foods not on my breakfast list. There is a large supermarket in town, and my wife and I were able to purchase milk, juice, and other food to store in the fridge.

The lobby clerk (not “desk” clerk—the lobby was more interesting than just a check-in desk) knew Gettysburg well, and was able to make several recommendations, including a very nice Chinese restaurant. It also looked like tours could be arranged through the lobby clerk, but we decided to “freestyle” our visit. (By the way, there is a pool. We didn’t use it, but it looked nice.)

If comfort at a value price is what you’re seeking in Gettysburg, you’ll find both at the Three Crowns Motor Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKTravelerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    191
    59
    23
    31
See reviews for
134
163
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not the greatest rooms,but comfortable,right in the middle of everything and the service was top notch! Not to mention free coffee and pastry in the morning!!it was an extremely enjoyable stay!!many places to shop and eat close by,Dairy Queen across the street!

Room Tip: Beds are pretty good size,nothing super fancy,but price was great and service was outstanding! May n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm not sure if Tripadvisor will let me review a place I didn't stay, but I really want to give some recognition to a great motel manager.

I had a reservation at another motel in town and had checked in and was eating dinner at a local restaurant when Mark, the manager of Three Crowns, called my on my cell phone asking me where I was. I had apparently made a reservation at Three Crowns during the early phases of planning my trip, forgotten about it, and then made a reservation at another place. I couldn't very well argue about it because he did have my phone and credit card numbers.

Mark was very pleasant and understanding about the situation and did not charge me for a no-show. Thanks Mark!!!

I looked up the Three Crowns and I wish I had stayed there, as the other place was not exceptionally great and was quite a bit more expensive. The next time I am in Gettysburg, I will definitely stay at the Three Crowns, Mark

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was the third leg of our Motorcycle trip through PA. The price was very reasonable but the motel could have used a little updating. The shower especially. The strips in the bathtub were worn down and you had to spread your feet against the sides of the tub just to balance yourself to shower. Very slippery. The room was clean but needed attention.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldandMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euclid, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Three Crowns FAR EXCEEDED our expectations, even knowing beforehand of its many positive TripAdvisor reviews! Yes, as the many reviews say, it is very clean (maintained by owner's family), has a tremendous location (right across street from Cemetery Hill and Lincoln's Gettysburg Address memorial), priced far below most others properties (we compared before we booked), and includes other basics (like free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, swimming pool/sun-deck and in-room refrigerator) not necessarily typical of every budget hotel in a tourist town. But what really exceeded our expectations during our four day stay was the approach taken by the proprietor, Mark. Mark runs this inn like its a bed-and-breakfast. He takes a personal interest in every guest, helping them to make the most of their stay, providing helpful advice as needed, always seeking to resolve any issues promptly. Mark and his staff (which includes his family) truly make you feel at home. It's not fancy; it's family. It's more than great basics because they truly care. Without a doubt, we expected to find an inn with a great location at a great price, and did so. But Mark and his staff made the experience so much more, serving as civil war historians, travel guides and familial inn-keepers. We'll happily stay there again on any return trip and advise our friends to do so too. As we were checking out, we heard one guest after another say the same things in different ways. Our experience was as ordinary among Mark's guests as it was extraordinary in the realm of budget inns. Thanks, Mark!

Room Tip: Built as a traditional, one floor motor lodge with two separate wings, the rooms farthest from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GREG M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a one-story old school motel with regular keys and parking at the door. Very friendly staff. A safe and convenient location right across from the National Cemetery and within walking distance of the restaurants and shops in Historic Gettysburg. A little rusty around the edges but scrupulously clean. We were there at the end of bike week, some of the biker crowd were still there on Sunday night when we checked in. They stayed up pretty late talking and visiting outside but the noise was very muffled inside our room. I had to give this place 4 stars only because her age is showing and the A/C in the room was very loud. We were able to set the controls to maintain a good temp on a couple of really hot, humid days. My husband and I walked so much during the day we slept like logs. However, if you are a light sleeper you might want to take it into consideration. The beds were comfortable and pillows soft. Refrigerator in the room. Outdoor pool, we did not have time to use it. Coffee, juice and pastries in the lobby in the morning. Overall a good value, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

If you're coming to Gettysburg for the tourism and not to stay in the hotel all day (why would you) this hotel is perfect. My boyfriend and I got a king room for three nights this month. The room was clean and spacious and perfect to sleep and hang out in to relax between site seeing. It's right in town and right next to or only a short walk to many of the sites. The man at the desk (never did catch his name) was extremely nice and always said hi when he saw us and suggested places to go and things to do. For $65 a night this was a great value and we were glad we chose this hotel. We plan on coming back to Gettysburg again and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crimsonred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.2 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,505 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 28 in Gettysburg
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#18 of 28 in Gettysburg
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge

Property: Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge
Address: 205 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2801
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host 3 Crowns Motor Lodge
Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Hotel Gettysburg
Budget Host Three Crowns Hotel
Budget Host Three Crowns Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing