We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyed Our Stay Here in Two Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were 2 grandparents, a mother and two grandkids (10 & 14). The rooms were adequate size and very clean. The location is great, directly in Gettysburg and near the battlefield. The proprietor is friendly and extremely helpful. He let us use a CD drive tour for free and advised us about how to view the battlefield. He also guided us to a fantastic colonial restaurant (it was part of the underground railway) that was reasonable and a 4 minute walk from the motel. In this regard, this is an old-fashion motel, with all rooms being on the first floor and there being two separate buildings with a parking lot between them. There was a sparse breakfast, but no place to sit; thus, we took our breakfasts back to our rooms, which worked. I'm rating it a 4 rather than a 5 to only to save the 5 for a truly exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 470 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is an old fashioned motor court. It is relatively clean and in good repair. Very convenient and affordable. The proprietors were friendly and the little continental breakfast was nicer than some. I would recommend this place for those who prefer to spend their money elsewhere (like local attractions and restaurants!) I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked this motel solely because of reviews we read on Tripadvisor. Rooms are clean, but feel like you stepped back into the 80's. The manager (Mark) is great, and he caters to his guests. He let us borrow his audio tour CDs, which saved us at least $30.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank thegoodguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We are mid-40’s and traveled to Gettysburg without our kids. Both of our first time to the area. I had done research on accommodations and decided this place would meet our needs for being close to the action but also within budget. We were looking for a family-owned, clean, comfortable place within walking distance of food and attractions. I generally stay at Hilton or Hyatt brand mid-priced options for work-related travel and we vacation from camping to cruising, so we have a lot of experience at different levels of “luxury”. The Three Crowns Motor Lodge did not disappoint!

Positives:
Close to everything
Nice owners
Coffee and fresh (homemade) breads on the morning
QUIET—rooms have thick walls, and the location is so close to the main drag but you’d never know it
Great value at around $79 plus tax on weekends or $65 plus tax on week nights
Comfy bed and pillows
Clean outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room

Negatives (which some may care about, but wouldn’t keep me from going back):
It is a motel with outside doors to the rooms
The pool is very small
It is not the Hilton or Hyatt—it is a motor inn
Coffee and breakfast not available until at least 7:30 a.m., and no coffee maker in room.

Overall, we LOVED the place (and Gettysburg) so much we decided to stay an extra night! We will definitely stay here again when we go back. If you are looking for a clean, quiet place to stay within walking distance of everything, at a great price—this is your place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mommy3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have stayed here in the past, but started staying up at the Colton (sister motel up the street). We thought we would try it again and was not disappointed. Room was clean and comfortable.
Was welcomed upon arrival and checked in immediately. Our room did not have a refrigerator, when I asked the staff, we were moved immediately to a room with one. Location is great - walking distance to everything. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIKENGIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

A little outdated but everything was fine, room was clean and in order when we arrived. Hotel staff very helpful with suggestions. Within walking distance to shops and historical locations. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark48124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This budget hotel is centrally located and the owner is seems to be taking great pains to keep improving it. The beds were comfortable and clean, and the pool was small but well maintained. Having a nice pool at the end of a hot, sticky July day is very important. The owner was very helpful with advice on getting around town and on how to get the most out our visit to the National Military Park. This hotel is a value for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JantiffRavensroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.2 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#22 of 28 in Gettysburg
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge

Address: 205 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2801
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $52 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host 3 Crowns Motor Lodge
Budget Host Three Crowns Motor Hotel Gettysburg
Budget Host Three Crowns Hotel
Budget Host Three Crowns Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing