We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much charm in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Brickhouse Inn in a charming 2 building B&B. We stayed for one night in the Maryland Room. A great front of house room with a queen bed and private bathroom.

The afternoon tea and cookies was a nice touch. The staff booked a dinner reservation at a wonderful restaurant, plus a local ghost walk tour (not one of the typical one). Morning breakfast was tasty and filling.

Ample parking made things very easy and the great location allowed us to see so much and do plenty of shopping. Umbrellas by the secured front door were there for our use. And the various sitting areas on the property were cozy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlFromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,596 - 1,602 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2009

We were there for 3 nights and the Brickhouse Inn was centrally located, our New England suite was roomy, comfy, clean and we had our own balcony porch with rocking chairs. Tessa, Brian and staff served a delicious hot breakfast in the beautifully landscaped backyard garden. (Yes, I have Garden envy :-). After a day of walking the battlefields, it was so nice to come back “home,” pour a glass of homemade iced tea out of the pitcher, get a cookie from the cookie jar which seemed to be waiting for us in the lovely Dining room, then relax in the backyard and plan our next walk in the area! Brian and Tessa know how to run a B&B, we’ll be back and we will highly recommend the Brickhouse Inn to family, friends and co-workers who will be visiting Gettysburg!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drewolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

The Brick House Inn offers wonderful accommodations. The owners have provided numerous small touches which add up to a most comfortable and welcoming experience. The public rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. And all is super clean! Any return trips we make to Gettysburg we hope will again be highlighted by a stay at this B&B. Brian's and Tessa's warm hospitality is evident in all details of a stay - from reservation details to scrumptious breakfasts to kind service in making arrangements for tours!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdairUpstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed at the Brickhouse Inn from July 13-July 16th. This was our first experience at a Bread and Breakfast. I must say, we will never go back to the traditional "hotel" after staying here. The service was wonderful, the food EXCELLANT and the atmosphere was like stepping back in time to the Civil War days. Brian and Tessa were very helpful with making reservations for us, but they also knew that we wanted privacy and they were very respectiful in that way. There when you neede them, but discretely absent also.

The Inn is very centrally located and offers many sightseeing options within walking distance. The Inn itself is beautifully decorated and the gardens outside are outstanding. Breakfast is a treat in nice weather because it is on the patio in the garden. I cannot recommend strongly enough that you stay in the B & B. We will definately be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historybuffsMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

STOP: WAIT READ THIS REVIEW !!!!!
My wfie and I stayed at the Brickhouse during the Heritage Renactment in July 2009 for about 8 days. First, the Brickhouse is a first rate and A number one place to stay. It is near the center of town.. It is central to everything. We have been all over the world and this Inn rates at the top. Perhaps the best thing is that on vacation, you like to sleep a little late. With coffee at 8:00 and breakfast about 9:00 in the Courtyard , it is just right.

Second, if you are going to Gettyburg, please sign up early and stay at least 7 or 8 full days. A short trip just will miss the important things that are a "must see". the Inn will furnish you a early breakfast or a take it with you breakfast, if you have to start early. Brian and Tessa just can not seem to do enough for you both before your arrive and while you are at the Inn. Plus the back yard is extremely pleasant with flowers, roses, and even a waterfall with fish. It is just the right place to start the day.

Third, please do not take the bus or auto tours. Spend the money and hire a licensed park guide. Brian call make the arrangements. We hired John Wiexel who helped up walk and feel the impact of this three day battle. You just can not appreciate the fight without having an expert. That is a must. And if you are going to hire a guide, call Brian and use John Weixel.

Lastly, the beds at the Inn must be imported from heaven. That was the best sleeping that I have dodne in many years.

Becky and Wayne Wheeler ( Birmingham, Alabama

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abogato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Highly recommend you stay here. The rooms are cozy ,wonderful decor and the clawfoot bathtub is charming. Brian and Tessa and staff make you feel like family. They helped me surprise my sister with a birthday cake and they all sang happy birthday to her. My sister was very surprised and just loved it all. I was very happy with the cake and song.
The B&B is right in the middle of everything.Walking distance to Shopping,resturants,battlefields,And the historic Farnsworth inn. This was my second trip and there will be many more.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We liked that this B&B was in the center of activities in Gettysburg. It's easy to get to restaurants, battlefield, tourist shops, Lincoln square, ghost tours. The room in our inn was very comfortable. My husband was able to access the internet to check on things from work. The Inkeepers are nice and they serve great breakfasts. One downfall is that the Innkeeper made one restaurant recommendation for The Dobbin House for dinner. I'm pretty sure he said it was the "nicest place in town." Do not go there unless you want to immerse yourself into a tourist trap. It is loud and busy and the food is not the great and overpriced for what you get. It is in a historic building but the price of the meal is not worth your time. If you are looking for a nice, relaxing meal after a long day of walking the battlefields, then this is not the place for you. He did make another recommendation for our other dinner which we wanted casual and that was "The Pub" in Lincoln Square. It was good pub food - exactly what we were looking for that day. Overall we would stay at this B&B again in the future but will do more research on our own for restuarants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThoughtsbyMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
390 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
323 reviews
3.8 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $108 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing