We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“The best B&B so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bodenkirchen
1 review
“The best B&B so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having traveled a lot of European countries and also the US and Canada, the two nights in the Brickhouse Inn have been a very pleasant and special experience of B&B! A comfortable, very clean room, excellent breakfast (freshly made every day) and very nice Innkeepers, who made this stay most delightful! We hope to come again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We greatly enjoyed meeting you both. We don't get many guests from Europe - perhaps only 1% - so it was very interesting to talk to you. Besides our talks, we remember you particularly because you seemed to enjoy having breakfasts on the patio.
We're delighted that you might come back - it would be great to see you again!
Take good care of yourselves,
Best wishes, Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    126
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
196
1,032
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights at the Brickhouse Inn over the Labor Day weekend. This was our first time visiting Gettysburg and look forward to visiting again and staying in this outstanding Inn. We had a most delightful stay. We stayed in the South Carolina room. Our room was nicely furnished and had a very comfortable bed.
The owners, Tessa and Brian, as well as all of the staff, are warm and welcoming people. Because the weather was good, we were served breakfast outside in the gardens. The breakfast was wonderful and included fresh fruit, a delicious entrée, baked goods and great coffee. Thanks again to the staff at the Brickhouse Inn. Regards, Russ and Paulette

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rupaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks a lot for coming to stay at the Inn. We're pleased that you liked the South Carolina Room. It's good that you were able to have your breakfasts out in the patio. We can usually do this from Memorial Day to Labor Day, and we had a spell last week when it was warm enough. Sadly it's now too cold to do it.
It was good to meet you, and we hope you'll come back for another visit.
In the meantime, take care of yourselves.
Our best wishes,
Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

In March my boyfriend Matt and I wanted to book a trip to Gettysburg and were trying to find an Inn at the last minute and Brickhouse was the only one we found that had a room available and was very affordable. Well, aren't we lucky. We arrived a bit early for check in but were escorted to our room right away, scheduled breakfast, and shown the unlimited coffee and tea by the sweet manager. When we walked into our room, (the Ohio Room) we were speechless. From the smallest antique details to the most charming bed and electric fire place. It was so perfect and cozy. The bathroom had a heated floor! In the morning we met Tessa and Brian who were SO generous and accommodating. Our breakfast was so delicious and the shoofly pie was to die for. They even made sure our breakfasts were vegetarian, they asked before we even had the chance to mention it, so thoughtful! We sat with an older couple who we bonded with right away. It was so nice to sit and have breakfast with new people, very refreshing. After that, we had such a great conversation with Brian who told us the best spots to visit in town. For the rest of the trip Tessa and Brian made sure we had everything we needed and made us feel like family. When we got home, two couples that we are friends with booked rooms within the week and loved it. We CANNOT wait to stay again and absolutely recommend staying. Love, love, love.

Room Tip: The Ohio Room is super cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We're so glad you liked the Ohio Room and enjoyed your stay at the Inn. We really enjoyed meeting you.
It's no trouble at all to cater for dietary needs, but we always try to find out ahead.
It's very kind of you to recommend us to your friends, and we're glad they had a good time here.
Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review - we really appreciate it.
Take care of yourselves. Best wishes.
Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our third trip to Gettysburg and by far the best. We have stayed at other bed and breakfasts but the Brickhouse Inn was superior. Brian and Tessa were perfect innkeepers, not only were they professional, but they were also thoughtful and kind. They took the time to talk to us and made us feel very much at home. The breakfasts were excellent, the rooms charming and well maintained. If you tend to shy away from bed and breakfasts, please give the Brickhouse a chance you will be pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the Kentucky Suite, we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forestgal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for writing the review - much appreciated! We really enjoyed meeting you and chatting to you. It's one of the best things about being innkeepers, and we wish we had more time for it. If we don't chat with guests it's sometimes because they are already having a great conversation with other guests, so we don't want to interrupt.
We're glad you stayed in the Kentucky Room - the nicest in the 1830 Welty House.
Thanks again, and take care of yourselves.
All the best, Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The best thing about the Brickhouse Inn is its location. It was within walking distance to so many restaurants, shops and attractions. We also loved the gardens, the breakfast, and our room. We stayed in the Tennessee Room overlooking Baltimore Street. I was so excited about where I was and the history surrounding me, I couldn't sleep the first night. But the bed was so comfortable I took a nap the next day and slept great the second night. We loved being greeted with cookies, cake, cold iced tea and sodas and then knowing it was there for us when we returned in the evening. Wonderful experience. We would return and would like to try a different room next time for a different experience.

Room Tip: The Tennessee Room is a little noisy on the weekend, being so close to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank for coming to stay at the Inn. We're glad you liked the location, and the fact that you can walk to most of the shops and restaurants. We're often asked how far it is to the Battlefield, and we explain that the National Park surrounds the town, but the nearest part is only a hundred yards behind the Inn. Of course there was plenty of fighting in the town - hence the bullet scars on the Welty House.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - much appreciated.
Best wishes from Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Tessa and Brian epitomize the definition of inn keepers.
They personally greet their guests upon arrival and they are seen frequently walking around the inn. Every time they saw a guest they asked if everything was o.k. and if there was anything they could do and they meant it.
The Inn and the grounds including the breakfast patio, the parlor, and the spotless and very comfortable rooms make a busy Gettysburg visit very relaxing.
The breakfast was varied and delicious and we could tell that a lot of talent and care was put into it.
If they saw that something was not to our liking, they immediately asked what else they could prepare for us.
We recommend the Brickhouse Inn without reservation and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vetgal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We much enjoyed meeting you. We enjoy greeting and talking to the guests and wish we had even more time to spend with them. It's the most rewarding aspect of innkeeping - also, when we see couples chatting to each other, and even making friends with each other.
We're glad you're thinking of coming back because we'd love to see you again!
Take care of yourselves.
Our best wishes, Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed here more times than I can count. It is so wonderful, relaxing, right downtown. The staff and owners will do all then can to assist in what you need. Breakfast is a wonderful treat. If you would like to get away and feel at home then Brickhouse Inn is the place. Will return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank receiptplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks very much for coming back so many times. We really appreciate your loyalty, and we're glad you like staying with us. One of the pleasures of running a B&B is meeting repeat guests again, and we very much enjoyed seeing you again.
Thank you for writing the review; we're grateful to you for taking the time.
Take care of yourselves, and
Best wishes,
Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing