We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted to be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This is our 5th year at this wonderful bed and breakfast. We found it when it was basically under retrofitting by the previous owners.

There were not as many finished rooms at that time. We enjoyed the place initially but the present owners have made it into a treat beyond our best expectations. The owners just make you feel like you were meant to be here and the staff has a very cordial attitude towards the guests. I have never heard anyone say anything but wonderful things about the place. We have at times parked the car and not moved it during the visit. Other times we have been very mobile while staying here.

The proximity to the things we are here for is just wonderful.. We walk to lunch and dinner every evening if we so wish and have walked back and forth from the battlefield.

On the other hand we can drive to so many other wonderful eateries that it is hard to make the choice at times. If you are looking for a grand experience of Gettysburg, you can not go wrong relaxing in the lovely, peaceful gardens and patio's of this remarkable place. Brian and Tessa make this a very pleasing choice of places to stay. If you come here you will probably want to return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rahspaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,747)
There are newer reviews for Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,620 - 1,626 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2008

I hate to write this review because our hosts were so charming and accomodating. But we spent a very uncomfortable night in the South Carolina room. It was on the third floor up very narrow stairs and we had difficulty toting our large bags up the stairs. The house is a former duplex and the layout somewhat confusing. The hotel is on a busy street at the bottom of the hill and as our room was located on the street side, we were bothered by motorcycles and traffic noise late into the night. It was very hot during our visit and the small window ac just couldnt cool the room to our comfort. Breakfast was below average compared to other bed and breakfasts we have visited. It also is at a flat appointed time of 8:30 leaving little flexibility. The positives to our stay were the staff who all were very polite and helpful. and there is a simply beautiful garden in back of the house. Another room could have provided a much more positive experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RHDorshorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2008

We’re sorry that these guests were disappointed. They took the last room available, and were aware that it was on the third floor - we’ve never heard that the layout is ‘confusing’. We’ve had over 300 guests in that room in the last three years and none has complained about the air-conditioner, which is an adequate size for the room. They didn’t have the prepared breakfast because they told us they didn’t like eggs, and we gave them pancakes as requested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

What a wonderful inn. As colonial as Abe himself.

The location is suberb, walking distance to every major attraction you could ask for.

The grounds were immaculate. As a matter of fact, I was searching out the groundskeeper to shake his hand. Gorgeous!

For a historic home, the rooms and building itsself were immaculate with a capital I. Even the bathroom (with tub!) was literally clean enough to eat off of. The Maryland Room, where we stayed, had a 3-paned picture window overlooking the Spring and several historic buildings on the main street.

Brian and Tessa helped us make dinner reservations at The Dobbin House (charming), and more importantly, arranged to have a personal tour guide for 3+ hours in a car for a pittance. John, our guide, was suberb, and we could not have appreciated the history of the town without such in depth background.

As a diabetic, the Innkeepers were very concerned as to what foods I could or could not consume, which was appreciated. They also allowed access to a small fridge in the main dining room and had water, tea, and cookies daily. Yum! The food was typical B&B fancy fare - not for everyone - but delicious for those who can venture beyond Cheerios.

For those nitpickers, the rooms have room unit A/C, which may not be to the liking of some. Personally, I did not have a problem with it at all. Also, breakfast was promptly at 8:30 a.m., but knowing this, there was no reason not to plan ahead, and I did see a few latecomers served without question. They are very strict about check-in between 4-7pm and check out at 11am, but knowing the Innkeepers live there and can't be ready to accommodate checking in 24/7, it's totally understandable as far as I'm concerned. They were very good about allowing us to leave our cars in the lot prior to check in and after check out as we continued to enjoy the town, which eliminated any problems.

Bottom line, if you don't like this Inn, I can't imagine you'd ever find a B&B you'd be happy with, because this one has it all.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

This was my first stay at a B&B and I am extremely glad and fortunate it was at the Brickhouse Inn! The service is top notch, the food outstanding, rooms impeccable and friendliness is overflowing. I must hand it to the owners, they truly have a GREAT American Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ryche1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

The Brickhouse Inn is a perfect place to stay for a very relaxing and enjoyable visit to Gettysburg. We stayed in the Kentucky Suite and it is even better than the photos on the website. The room was exceptionaly clean and cozy. Our balcony looked into the beautiful gardens. We also booked a days tour of Washington DC thru this B&B and that was also a great trip. They had suggested to me at the time of my booking and i am glad they did. They even provided us with a baged breakfast for the trip. The Brickhosue Inn also made reservations for us at the Dobbins House for dinner.,it is just up the block. The food was great and the service excellent. The Brickhosue breakfast was very tasty and fresh.You could tell that it is all freshly made and prepared with care. I can honestly say that there was nothing at this B&B that was not a 10 on a 10 scale. Do yourself a favor and go and treat yourself to this great B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

There are many bed and breakfasts to choose from in the Gettysburg area. We are so very fortunate to have finally selected the Brickhouse Inn.

It all started with the convenient parking lot when we arrived and continued on to be one of the most relaxing and beautiful B&B's in which we have ever stayed.

One of our constraints was that we were travelling with our two children (ages 11 and 15). Finding a cute B&B (not a hotel) that would accommodate all of us was a challenge. The New England Suite was perfect as it had two separate bedrooms connected by a lovely bathroom.

We have stayed at a number of B&B's over the years and the Brickhouse Inn was definitely one of our very favorites. Tessa and Brian were the most gracious hosts and the house was lovely on the inside and out. I especially enjoying relaxing in the peaceful backyard and my children loved the lemonade and cookies.

We even managed to learn a lot of history from Truman the certified battlefield guide that Brian arranged for us! Don't forget to ask the Brickhouse Inn staff to arrange that for you. It's definitely worth the cost to have the guide ride in your car with you.

We will definitely plan to visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shazzaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for one night this past week (April 23rd).

The good:
The room (Illinois) was quite warm and cozy. Beautiful bathroom and great rate. The Inn itself if just about the best location you can be in if you want to visit Gettysburg. Check-in went smoothly and we were taken right to our suite (parking out back of the Inn was easy too). The gardens and yard of the Brickhouse are also beautiful and relaxing. Eating in the garden in the morning was also fabulous!

The bad:
The "all must eat breakfast at 8:30am sharp" was a complete turn off. My husband and I are no slouch and made it to breakfast at 9am only to find out that you may only eat at 8:30 (we thought we could eat breakfast until check out at 11am). We felt as though we were beggars after that as one of the staff begrudgingly "scrounged" us up some breakfast. I was also put off as I wrote an email before hand to staff asking them for "romantic" recommendations as my husband is about to head to Iraq at the end of the week and they never got back to me in email, in person, by phone...by note...nothing. I felt that to be quite impersonable.

Anywho, we still enjoyed the Inn and I'd recommend it (especially since the other hotel options in the area ....super 8's, etc, were really quite scary!!)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cmeadows83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,548 reviews
0.5 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
374 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $109 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing