We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
1 review
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed June 16, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful time during our recent visit to Gettysburg and the Brickhouse Inn. My husband is from New England and we've stayed at severl B&Bs before. We stayed in the Kentucky Suite in the Welty House - GREAT - we had our own private balcony and we did not face the main street (which can be a little noisy). Comfortable bed, huge bathroom, and our balcony's wall had bullet scars from the battle. Breakfast was wonderful!! We enjoyed meeting all the other guests - from CA, GA, Holland, MA. We are history buffs and the private tour of the Battlefield (which the Inn will arrange) is a must - it made the battle so real for us. We had read many books about the battle but our licensed guide added to our knowledge and guided our tour so the battle came alive! Brian also recommended a trip to the Antietam battlefield - only 1 hour away - and well worth it if you are into the Civil War! Dinner reservations were made for us at both the Dobbin House and the Cashtown Inn - my favorite was the Dobbin House - only a 5 minute walk and delicious. Brian, Tessa, and the entire staff were great. We want to go back with some family to visit in October during the Apple Festival!

Susan and George from Ohio

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OhioTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    134
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
230
1,184
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, NY
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2008

What a truly amazing Bed & Breakfast! We have gone to many over the years, from California to the NY Islands, but this was honestly one of the best ever!!!

All of my special requests, celebrating my wife's doctorate degree, were met with outstanding service. The Lemon-Lemon cupcakes were a top-notch delight and were certainly a grand surprise to my beautiful wife.

We loved meeting Brian at the back of the home with his arms elbow-deep in topsoil preparing the garden for the summer. What a lovely gentleman he is! Not only did he spend the time to give us a tour of his lovely house, but gave us some history of the area and dining and event recommendations. His choice for Ghost Tour WAS the BEST!!!

And our reccommended tour guide, Mr. George Nelson, was a true delight. He had such knowledge and passion for the history at Gettysburg that there is no better way to see the Battlefield in our opinion.

The rooms of the Brickhouse Inn gave you a true feeling of living in the days of yesteryear with all of the creature comforts of modern day. Our balcony from the North Carolina Suite was outstanding and it became a morning ritual to sway in the rocking chairs while watching the cardinals swoop through the back gardens.

The breakfasts were worthy of the top cooking shows on the food network! Any special request was met and all glasses were kept full with the utmost of service. Simply a delicious way to start the day!

The in-laws were also very pleased with the entire stay at the Brickhouse Inn. Having never planned trips ahead of time, they were so thankful that their amazing son-in-law :) took care of everything...especially getting them the New England Suite right down the hall which they adored.

All in all, we will most certainly be back again, hopefully this autumn.

Cheers to Brian and Tessa for creating an amazing destination for travellers to remember and treasure as a place they can call a second home.

  • Liked — The owners of the B&B were very friendly and kind!
  • Disliked — Having to leave after only two days.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bluekryptonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We had a wonderful long weekend at the Brickhouse Inn. We stayed in the beautiful Texas room that features a romantic 4 poster bed and a bay window with cushions. The inn is very centrally located, we were right in the middle of historic Gettysburg and could walk right to the cemetery and battlefield, as well as to shops and restaurants. The room was very clean and the staff was wonderful. They really went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was very good- I highly recommend the Shoo-Fly Pie. The only drawback is that the Inn is right by the street and you can hear the traffic, running the AC and using my earplugs solved that problem.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank LizM_Arlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA 01085
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2008

The location is great! Rooms are beautiful. The food is delicious. Gardens and pond are so relaxing. Last but not least, Tessa and Brian are wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Please don't laugh too hard at the "Enos" handle, the wife and I share that name to use write our reviews. This one is mine so here goes.

We booked a room at the Brickhouse for two nights, May 8 and 9. Since this was our first trip to Gettysburg we wanted to be certain the room was clean and that the battlefield was within walking distance since we like to hoof it when on vacation.

After carefully reading all of the reviews for establishments within the immediate area and speaking to the staff at the Brickhouse we were convinced that this place would not be a disappointment. It was not. We were satisfied in both respects, cleanliness and location.

We stayed in the Georgia Room at the Welty House and quite honestly I liked the privacy and the porch that overlooked the back yard. Off-street parking is adequate. The only drawback in my opinion was the noise from the street (it would be the same anyplace in town), it never seems to stop. We were able to overcome that by turning the air conditioner on and slept well the second night. By the way, the A/C malfunctioned the first night and as soon as I mentioned it to the grounds keeper, another unit was made ready to be installed. Some folks we met at breakfast recommend staying in the main house at the rear. With a little ambient noise from something like an A/C unit, the traffic is not that big a deal.

Breakfast is family style, not something the wife and I generally care for. In this case we must take exception to that. Whether it was due to the theme Gettysburg presents ergo certain folks are drawn there or it was just plain luck, we met some really interesting and fun folks at the inn. One couple gave us their Trip Advisory name so that we could stay in touch but unfortunately I did not write it down. Hopefully they read this and reply. In fact, they shared numerous photos of orbs with us at the breakfast table.

Plenty to do and to see, we never started our vehicle once there. We did jump on the trolley when the rain started rode it the entire route to see the sights. We walked into several areas of the battlefield and despite the slight commercialization of Gettysburg (not that bad), I found myself having a difficult time holding back the tears. I was so overwhelmed with whatever was there that I am having difficulty expressing myself here. Let's just say that sometime I need to revisit.

Insomuch as the commercialization was mentioned in another review, yes it is there and I would expect that. What one must do is a bit of research in advance to determine what is real and what is a scary story for a fee. We saw the ghost walks taking place, looked like folks having fun, no more, no less. Create your own ghost walk with a camera in the cemetery after dark.

Now for the food. For the most part, the food is pretty average given that we live near many good restaurants. So "average" to us may be exceptional to someone else if they don't have access to fine eateries. Not only that, the wife is a gourmet cook so it takes a lot to impress either of us. All of the places we ate (yes, all four meals, not much of a sample) had decent sized servings and the food was of good quality be it lunch or dinner. Our best dining experience was at the Farnsworth House Inn B&B. The game pie, spoon bread and pumpkin fritters were out of the ordinary. The service was very good and the atmosphere was exceptional. Ask for some Tears of Gettysburg wine with dinner, we shared a bottle.

  • Liked — Clean and secure, great owners!
  • Disliked — Breakfast was great but a choice of entries would have been even better!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Enos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

The Brickhouse Inn is truely a five-star accomodation, in terms of facilities and customer service. The Georgia room was beautiful -- all with original era decor, a gas fireplace and a wonderful private balcony overlooking a perfectly manicured lawn. The Inn owners were more than helpful at making great recommendations on area restaurants and activities to include arranging an affordable private Battlefield tour and dinner reservations at the near-by Dobbins House. The location was perfect as were the breakfasts!! There was plenty of parking and the Inn truly made for a perfect quick getaway!

  • Liked — Location, Private Balcony with Wi-Fi
  • Disliked — Honestly, wouldn't have changed anything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank minthillgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Some places are not as good as they look in the pictures, but the Brickhouse Inn exceeded our expectations. Tessa and Brian are wonderful hosts. The rooms are comfortable and well thought-out to accommodate the visitors needs. Set aside a couple of hours of relaxation to sit in the hours.

Finally, the best part of the whole stay was breakfast. Don't miss it! It's awesome!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kelly0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing