We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Tessa and Brian run a tight ship! Very accommodating, clean facility, great historic atmosphere (one of the two houses is riddled with bullet holes from the Union Army), great food, and a beautiful garden. We were wholly impressed (again) -- we stayed here about 10 years ago and wanted to return because we'd had such a good experience. Even after the years in between, nothing has changed...in fact, it was BETTER than before. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepperhead331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks so much for coming back to The Brickhouse Inn, and for bringing your special friends. We really enjoyed meeting you, and it was good to know that you enjoyed your time with the Battlefield guide. We're glad you were able to have your breakfasts on the patio - as traditional for this time of year.

We hope you'll come back - it would be great to see you again!
Best wishes,
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We recently visited Gettysburg with our two teenaged sons and stayed at this charming B&B in the historic part of town. The house and rooms are lovely and the hosts Brian and Tessa were warm, solicitous and informative. We really enjoyed sitting in their shady,lush garden behind the Inn with its beautiful trees, flowers, running stream and koi pond complete with two frogs that fascinated and delighted our youngest. (You don't see a lot of frogs in Phoenix.) My husband and I have enjoyed many delicious B&B breakfasts in the past but the Brickhouse Inn's breakfasts out-did them all and even included an excellent homemade dessert to cap it off! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would recommend this Inn to all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanbtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

It was such a pleasure to meet you and get to know your family - it's especially good to have a visit from a whole family - you were such nice guests. We often wish that guests could stay for several days, as you did, and get to see more of what Gettysburg has to offer. We're also glad that the weather cooperated for you, and enabled you to have the outdoor breakfasts.
Thank you for writing the review. Although you live far away, we hope we might see you again one day!
Best wishes,
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is our sixth time at staying at the Brick House, we have great expectations from previous trips and are always delighted at our experience. The owners and staff are very hospitable and helpful plus they have the best breakfast in town. The only thing that might disappoint you is the weather.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I recently returned from a three night visit to the Brickhouse Inn for my son's Gettysburg College graduation weekend! What a fabulous place to stay.... within walking distance of downtown Gettysburg, Gettysburg College, many eateries, shops, and museums! My room was immaculate, spacious, with lovely furniture, historic and modern amenities, complete with all the extra touches to make my stay a comfortable one! The owners Brian and Tessa, as well as the Inn Manager, Melanie, were extremely warm, friendly, and helpful. The atmosphere of the inn is inviting and relaxing. The hospitality is top notch. The backyard gardens are like an oasis in a busy part of town....the beautiful plants and greenery, the babbling brook and fish pond complete with Adirondack chairs for reading and relaxing as well as tables on the patio for eating or chatting with other guests. There are also rocking chairs on the porches, which I enjoyed. If the weather is nice, a delicious three course breakfast is served outside on the patio and if it rains, it is served in the dining rooms. We got to experience both! It was always fun to nibble on a baked good or have a glass of iced tea each afternoon. There is some traffic noise, especially if staying in a room in front of the house, but I found that the plusses outweighed that. It really can't be helped in that historic area. I slept remarkably well in a very comfortable bed. I highly recommend The Brickhouse Inn for your stay in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Brickhouse Inn. The grounds are beautiful and location is very convenient to the Battlegrounds. Breakfast was outstanding and the staff very helpful. The room was smaller than it appeared on the website but it was quiet, functional and had a private entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family and I went to Gettysburg during April 2013 and we booked at the Brickhouse Inn because of all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor - It did not disappoint! We had never stayed at a B&B before so we did not know what to expect. The accommodations were very comfortable and Brian and Tessa could not have been more gracious hosts. Since we are such history fans, we planned this trip to see the battlefields and Brian made the arrangements with a licensed guide who was just wonderful. His re-telling of the 3 days of battle kept us on the edge of our seats, eventhough we knew the outcome! If you are thinking of Gettysburg and touring the battlefields, I would strongly recommend hiring a private guide for the full 3 hours, you won't be sorry. Thank you Brian and Tessa for making our stay so memorable. We would love to return and when we do, we will book at the Brickhouse Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YPerez1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week's stay at the Brickhouse Inn; what a fantastic, absolutely wonderful stay we had!! Everything was so perfect, from our beautiful spacious room to the very delicious breakfast we were served every morning!!!! The owners Tess and Brian could not have been more helpful and charming!!! Their location is just perfect for the person that has never been to Gettysburg before, within walking distance to almost all the attractions except for the battlefields. The gardens are sooooo beautiful and relaxing, we had breakfast outside several mornings, so nice. Many chairs to relax in the gardens or rock on the porches. Can't forget the delicious treats we found every afternoon on the dining room table. And they also own the Sunset Ice Cream Parlor less than one block from the Inn; some of the very best ice cream I have had!! Most of all, the food at breakfast was "to die for", soooo good, especially the "Shoefly pie". I want to go back just for the breakfasts!

Room Tip: Check out their website; detailed description of all the rooms. We stayed in the Illinois room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
387 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
323 reviews
3.8 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $108 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing