We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Brickhouse Inn is a wonderful place to stay and use as a base for touring Gettysburg. It is an easy walk to museums and restaurants and short drive for the battlefield tour. Brian was a great host with maps, restaurant recommendations, and booking a licensed battlefield guide. Our room was very comfortable. We enjoyed the food and company at breakfast. The hosts even remembered my preference for Coke on ice instead of coffee!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivetotravelBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We're very grateful to you for taking the time to write a review. We so much enjoyed getting to know you. It's very rewarding for us to be able to help you with tours and dinner reservations, especially when you enjoyed them so much. Also, it helps prospective guests to know that we can do these services, and to know how good the Battlefield tours are. We think that more and more of our guests are taking licensed guides, and for three hours rather than the standard two hours, which we recommend.
Hoping to see you again one day!
Best wishes,
Brian and Tessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,747)
There are newer reviews for Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Birdhouse Inn! The location was perfect for walking to the local establishments or even Cemetery Hill. I was unfortunate in losing my voice our second day there, however the staff at breakfast time made me hot tea with honey which was greatly appreciated! We would definitely stay there again! Thank you Brian and Tessa!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teener22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

First class accommodation in a historic location. The hosts, Brian and Tessa, along with their staff were very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Three course breakfasts came as a pleasant surprise and were wonderfully prepared. The Brickhouse is literally 5 minutes walk from Cemetery Hill (perfect for a pre-breakfast stroll) and the Battlefield Visitor Center is 5 minutes drive away.
I would unhesitatingly recommend The Brickhouse as the perfect accommodation for anyone visiting this historic location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FGH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Front Office Manager at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for the review - it's good to know that you got home safely! We were very impressed with all the things you did during your time in Gettysburg. You certainly made the most of your stay. Thanks for pointing out how close the Soldiers' Cemetery and the Visitor Center are. We are now warning guests that if they walk to the VC they should not take back-packs! We really hope that you will drop in on one of your future trips. In the meantime, keep well.

Best wishes,
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stumbled into the Inn in the early afternoon, expecting to be told "come back at 4:00, your room isn't ready, yet!" Instead, Brian was so welcoming - offered us tea/coffee and slices of carrot cake - checked us in, walked us up to our suite, showed us around (check out the bullet holes in the back wall from the battle) lent us a CD for the road tour of the battlefield. Brian is an excellent innkeeper, and far and away our favorite of the 4 b&bs we visited on our vacation. The Inn is also charming, lots of the original woodwork and neat old wooden door knobs, pretty furnishings. It was antique and attractive w/out being cutesy or stiff. Our suite was like a small apartment - large bedroom, hallway w/ a cool sky light, bathroom, another bedroom, and a large private porch w/ rocking chairs. The back yard of the Inn is pleasantly landscaped w/ a fountain, brick patio, lots of flowers in pots and in the ground, and pretty rod iron tables for plein air dining in the warmer months. Breakfast was large and very tasty and they even offered us slices of Shoofly pie or Turtle pie for dessert! Very delicious. We only wished that we could have stayed another night or two. There are a lot of interesting and fun sights in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: We stayed in the New England suite and it was wonderful and quite large!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastward24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you liked the New England Suite - we wish we had more suites. Luckily you saw the garden emerging from the long winter - every day seems to being something new - like one of the clematis plants starting to flower.

It was a great pleasure to meet you, and although you live a long way away we hope to see you again one day.

With best wishes,
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Gettysburg and The Brickhouse Inn was everything we had hoped for and more. The Inn is spotless, tastefully decorated, and Tessa and Brian make you feel like guests in their home. They go above and beyone and even packed us a "bag breakfast" for the morning we had to leave early for the airport. The breakfast is delicious and there are all kinds of homemade goodies, drinks, etc. available all the time. The grounds are beautiful and a great place to kick back and relax after a long day of exploring the battlefields. We loved the water garden and patios. The location is awesome and you can walk to just about everything. We stayed in the Georgia room in the Welty House which has its own balcony and a spacious bath with a claw foot tub. Staying at the lovely Brickhouse Inn helped make our stay in Gettysburg one of the best trips we have taken.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room off the back further from the traffic sou
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabsRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're very pleased that you liked the Georgia Room - at last it's warm enough for the balcony porches (we have four rooms with them) to come into use. It always pleases us to see guests sitting on the rockers in the evening, enjoying the view of the garden. We're glad you enjoyed the breakfasts - wish you had been able to have them on the patios - any day now!

Take good care of yourselves.
Best wishes
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Beautifully kept B&B was so welcoming and comfortable. The claw foot tub was a bonus. We slept well, enjoyed the delicious breakfast and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Gettysburg! Our host and hostess were warm and gracious!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinLady_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks for the very positive review. It's always helpful and valuable to have an opinion from experienced travellers.

We're glad you liked the claw-foot tub - six of our fifteen rooms have them, and we feel they add to the period feeling of the old houses. Brian carried (with help) one of them to the second floor of the Welty House seven years ago and can vouch for heavy they are!

We hope to see you again one day.
Best wishes
Tessa and BRian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

On a wonderful trip to Gettysburg and surrounding counties, we stayed at the Brickhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast in Gettysburg. The three story home has several under rooms named after the states. We stayed in both the South Carolina room and the Ohio room. Both were clean, neat, and well maintained. When you come home after a long day of sightseeing, you are greeted by coffee, tea, and fresh baked cookies. Each morning, Brian and Trish, the inn keepers would meet you at breakfast and it was so interesting to meet your housemates from all over the states and Canada. It was a wonderful experience and we will go return on our next trip to Gettysburg. The inn is walkable to restaurants and points of interests.

Room Tip: You can make it to the third floor if you need a better value.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $109 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing