We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Olmsted, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our experience at the Brickhouse Inn was fantastic. The food was great, the atmosphere was great, the room was clean, and Tessa, Brian, and their staff were helpful and informative. This was the best bed and breakfast my husband and I have stayed at. The Brickhouse Inn has set the bar high!

Room Tip: The Alabama Room has bullet holes on the exterior from Union Soldiers shooting at Confederate soldie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    131
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
211
1,113
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellant on all levels. Our, first stay at a B&D. Tessa, Brian, and the staff are great hosts. Our room was roomy, clean, and cozy. A delicious breakfast in the morning. You can easily walk to shops, restaurants, attractions, and downtown Gettysburg. Parking on site is also a plus. We are looking forward to staying at The Brickhouse Inn again

Room Tip: Staff members are helpful in making reservations for dinning and attractions before your arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay at a B&B! It is nice to be able to get around town easily and just leave your car behind - we do so ourselves frequently. We look forward to seeing you the next time around!

Take care until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Another absolutely wonderful stay at Brickhouse Inn! We have stayed with Brian and Tessa several times before - have tried a couple other Inns but we always return to Brickhouse. Brian and Tessa are a wonderful host and hostess team, and they do their absolute best to ensure your stay is everything you want it to be. The breakfasts are superb and plentiful and it is obvious a great deal of thought and planning goes into each one. The Inn often is full on weekends and that is a good thing, it speaks to the inn's popularity and satisfaction within the community. When full, they have two b-fast seatings, 0830 and 0930 (i think) - it works very well and ensures that guests have adequate space to relax and enjoy the breakfast. I don't understand the negative reviews about being 'pushed out of the dining room' after finishing breakfast. There are more than enough places to sit, relax with other guests to include the balconies, porches and beautiful garden area. We have had some great conversations with our "tablemates" and enjoyed everyone we met.

The rooms are immaculate and very tastefully decorated and we enjoy staying in a different room each time. The Inn is in a great location for walking in either direction, towards the many attractions along Baltimore Street and Steinwehr Ave as well as a short distance to Lincoln Square where there is a good selection of shops and places to eat/drink.

I could go on and on but the short side is - I would highly recommend staying with Brian and Tessa at the Brickhouse. Accommodations are clean, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Innkeepers are very pleasant and their personalities are a good compliment to each other. Food is excellent. The grounds are immaculate and their is a wonderful garden area with ample seating and a wonderful little pond with waterfalls. Oh and did I mention - the beds are very comfortable !

Can't wait to go back again and we will !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Wow. Thank you so much for your absolutely beautiful review. We are very grateful to hear that you have had such a lovely experiences at the Brickhouse and we do hope to have such kind guests as yourselves for many years to come.

Take care and we hope to see you at our door again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Brickhouse Inn provided a wonderful period-based experience which added so much to the visit in Gettysburg. A delicious breakfast and cordial, attentive staff made our stay worth repeating. Brian and Tessa were truly gracious hosts whose attention to detail sets the Inn apart from many others.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms may have a "ghostly story" - ask for them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
It's so great to hear that your stay with us added to the spirit of your Gettysburg experience! If you want any breakfast recipes, let us know! We are quite happy to share our menus with our guests.

We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

SPECTACULAR! Peaceful, private and quiet!! The hospitality and food was amazing. The Carriage House was the perfect place for us. It was more than we had expected for our getaway to Gettysburg, PA. Thank you Brian and Tessa for your advice on daily trips and assistance with our plans. Your INN is absolutely beautiful and our memories will last a lifetime. We will visit The Brickhouse Inn again!!

Room Tip: The Carriage House
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce N Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Carriage House Room! The Carriage House, since it is set off by itself in the garden, is particularly private. A good choice for a vacation aimed at peace and quiet. Hopefully you'll look us up again when you're ready for some rest and solitude again!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited Gettysburg for the first time on Easter Weekend. Neither of us are history or civil war buffs but we totally enjoyed ourselves. We visited the many historic places and took the two hour bus tour. The guides are the most knowledgeable that I've ever encountered. They spoke clearly and loud enough for everyone to completely understand and appreciate the information they were sharing. We started out at the visitors center where there is a plethora of information, then took the two hour bus tour. It's a great little mini vacation, the B&Bs are very nice, there are a number of decent places to eat and when the weather is nice you can stroll around and just enjoy the town. It was a good trip with a fair cost.

Room Tip: The hotel is absolutely spotless. The rooms are nice size, the bed very comfortable and the room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaRose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Gettysburg isn't just for the history buffs! It's great to hear that you went on a tour with a Licensed Battlefield Guide. They study very hard to become as knowledgeable as they are and they are great to tour with no matter your background in history. Come back sometime to relax and stroll through town on another mini vacation!

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Brickhouse Inn in Gettysburg! The hosts were charming and the rooms were fabulous. We look forward to a return trip this fall! The breakfast served was delicious! It's location was great for walking abou the town.

Room Tip: rooms are viewable on their website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing