We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High above the average on the 3rd floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
1 review
“High above the average on the 3rd floor”
Reviewed December 29, 2007

We decided to take a short side trip from Philadelphia where we were visiting our new grandchild. The purpose was to find a place to relax and to see the Gettysburg Battlefield and National Park. The Innkeepers of the Brickhouse Inn, Tessa and Brian, were a perfect balance of care and concern for our visit and comfort yet also conscious of privacy needs. They provided a truly fresh, generous, and varied breakfast at 9 am and allowed us to visit with the other guests, without hurrying us. We found that we were able to have an active day and not need lunch until the afternoon. Being able to key ourselves into the comfortable home and select fresh cookies, coffee and tea at anytime during the day added to our relaxing. Tessa and Brian provided a certified guide to pick us up at the Inn to tour the Battelfield and also secured dinner reservations at places we would not have wanted to miss. Our room, 'the Ohio' was on the 3rd floor, quiet, very clean, with a new bathroom, and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. Janet and lloyd

  • Liked — comfort and quiet
  • Disliked — 3rd floor walk up
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    133
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
223
1,156
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2007

We loved everything about our stay at the Brickhouse Inn. We come every year to Gettysburg and always stay at a B&B but this was by far the best we have stayed at. The rooms were the cleanest of anywhere we have ever stayed and that is very important to me. The breakfast was very enjoyable both because it was good and always something I don't make at home. The staff was very helpful with scheduling a tour guide as well as providing info about dining. We loved the location. You could walk to town as well as the visitors center and cemetary. Perfect for us. We had no trouble with parking and we enjoyed meeting new people at breakfast. We are looking forward to staying here again next year.
Thanks for the great time!

  • Liked — Extremely clean
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

This was our second trip to Gettysburg, first time in a B&B here, and we decided to try the Brickhouse Inn based on all the positive reviews found here.

Overall the property is absolutely lovely and very well kept. Breakfasts were quite good, if a bit crowded, served in the undersized dining room. I think the most disappointing thing for us is that the Inn is on the larger side and gives the feeling more of a small hotel versus a B&B. In both making our reservations and checking in we were handled by very nice and competent staff, but we missed the feel of getting to know the actual owners that you get at most B&B's.

Our other major difficulty was parking. We arrived after dark and it was difficult to first find the parking lot (which is located behind the Inn, at the top of a steep hill, 19 steps from the Inn to the lot). The lot itself is very small and not well-lit, and there were no spaces left for us. We ended up parking on the street several blocks from the Inn on two of our three nights, for which we had to feed the meter until 8 pm. It was not at all expensive but it was just a surprise to have to deal with this when staying at a property in this price range.

Our room was immaculately clean and done in a very pretty if somewhat generic decor (we were surprised at the lack of period details such as antiques, furniture, etc. which again reminded us more of a hotel than a B&B). Our room had a nice private porch overlooking the gardens. Though situated facing the rear of the building, both the room and the porch proved to be difficult for relaxing due to the traffic noise from Baltimore Street, which is just outside the front of the house and remains busy well into the night. Our bathroom had a clawfoot tub which my wife loved, and we were both impressed by the cleanliness of the bathroom itself, it was immaculate.

Unlike so many other reviewers we found the Inn's location to be more of a hindrance than a plus. The battlefield itself is very large and definitely requires a vehicle for touring, and most of the finer dining restaurants are actually out of town, requiring a car as well. It was frustrating having to wrangle with parking each and every time we went out, and it sort of became a joke towards the end of the weekend, "Will there be a space for us in the lot?" Unfortunately the answer was no the majority of the time.

Overall I believe we discovered that we are far more "country mice" than "city mice" during this trip to Gettysburg! We will look for a spot out of town for next year's trip as the parking issue will definitely prevent us from staying here again. We do thank the staff at the Brickhouse Inn for their very pleasant and professional service during our stay.

  • Liked — Property cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location/Lack of parking
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ziggy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night in the Ohio Room, a smaller, but cozy, quiet, spotlessly clean, and well appointed room on the 3rd floor, rear of the Inn. It felt like being at home. Very comfortable room with an upgraded, sizeable bathroom. Tessa, one of the innkeepers, is a very gracious person; she seems to have her act together. Unfortunately, we were unable to meet Brian (the second innkeeper) as he was out of town, but Brian was most polite, professional, and helpful during our initial phone call to book the room. This lovely Inn is at the best location in Gettysburg; right in town so you can park your car in their spacious lot in back of the property and walk to most places of interest and shops. It is ideal and we will certainly return; however, we plan to stay in the beautiful New York room next time. (Their, nice, friendly housekeeper was nice enough to let us take a peek into some rooms at check out time the morning of our departure.) All of the rooms I saw are very nice. Would highly recommend this wonderful, historic Inn.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LeenieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

We loved our first stay at the Brickhouse Inn – from the knowledgeable and gracious hosts, Brian/Tessa and staff, to the privacy and cleanliness of our lovely room, the Delaware, in a historic home with tranquil gardens in the rear and rocking chairs on the front porch right in the heart of downtown – our stay was so very pleasant. Having made prior arrangements, our room had a bottle of chilled wine waiting as well as tickets to a ghost walk and tickets for ice cream sundaes. Very good home cooked breakfasts each morning including Shoefly Pie coupled with friendly and spirited conversations with other guests made for a great start to each day. Brian’s suggestion that walking, rather than driving, to Culp’s Hill from the Inn could give us a better perspective of the significance of the battles fought there gave us a much better appreciation of this area of the battlefield. Thanks, Brian! While on our walk, we met several local folks who were so willing to point out things to look for which made it even more memorable from a historic point of view. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Gettysburg.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank pandg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2007

My husband & I have visited Gettysburg many times walking past the Brickhouse Inn & vowing to stay there one of these days. This past October we were able to do just that & we were not disappointed. Our room on the 3rd floor was lovely, the breakfasts were delicious, the grounds beautifully kept & Brian was most helpful with suggestions & reservations for dinner.
We met some great people & plan to reunite with them at the inn in the near future. Wonderful location! We love to walk & bike & were able to do just that with easy access to both town & the battlefield. A great place to stay!

Alan & Karen Dorfield
Pittsburgh, PA

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akdorfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

This trip was a 35th wedding anniversary gift from our children.
We were so impressed that we may never again stay at anything
but a B&B.
The property is gorgeous and very well maintained. The room we had, the New England Suite, was immaculate and kept
that way throughout our 3-night stay. The bed was extremely comfortable and we loved the private porch with its two rockers.
There is great attention to detail. I usually bring a night light for the bathroom, but I'd forgotten. Guess what?...there was one in the bathroom. The hosts, Brian & Tessa were very helpful with
booking the private guide for the battlefield tour (it was great & what a bargain compared to the bus tour), as well as giving suggestions for other outings that we wanted to take. Parking was not a problem, as there are enough spaces for all the available rooms. Lastly, THE BREAKFASTS!!! It was tough to go home and have cold cereal in the morning after the fabulous
breakfasts we had there. We met great people from everywhere.

  • Liked — Comfortable atmosphere and accomodations
  • Disliked — no elevator....our room was 15 steps to the second floor
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibertyMoscow_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing