We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Brickhouse!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, MI
1 review
“Love the Brickhouse!”
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Can't say enough about the Brickhouse Inn. My wife and I look forward to staying there every year. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are very nice. The food is outstanding. Always look forward to breakfast the next morning and their famous shoe-fly pie!

We've recommended it to several of our friends and family members.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank msu2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,551
    133
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
226
1,171
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2007

Besides the special sights of Gettysburg, the Brickhouse Inn was a truly wonderful experience. We will never stay anywhere else. From when you begin your day with a scrumptous breakfast served in the beautiful gardens to watching the sunset sitting in the rockers on the front porc h, what a treat. Tess and Brian and the rest of the friendly staff met our every need from questions to reservations. We were there for 5 nights and I was calling it "Home" by the time we left because that is the way everyone made you feel. We met some new friends and plan on coming back for a reunion at the Brickhouse in the near future. Thank you for making it so special.

Bob and Deb Koontz,
Greenville, SC

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank momk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2007

This was our first visit to Gettysburg and to stay at a B&B. We stayed in the Georgia Room at the historic Welty House and was very impressed with the decor and size of the room. I really loved the clawfoot tub! The room was very comfortable. We had a balcony that overlooked the beautiful gardens. Breakfast was exceptionally good and even though it was cool in the morning we still had our coffee outside at the tables in the garden. Brian and Tessa were very friendly and Brian was such a big help in directing us to restaraunts and the best way to view the battlefields. We hired a personal guide to drive our vehicle and we were very impressed that he not only found the one relative my husband was looking for but two of them and all the battles they fought in. It was great staying right in town to walk to all the shops. We had such great luck when we walked into a small museum and the owner found a picture of my husband's great great grandfather in his collection. It just added to the wonderful time we were already having. We definately would stay at the Brickhouse inn when we return to Gettysburg. They do have a private parking lot right behind the inn which really was a plus staying in town.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank bdrumbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2007

We had but a single night at this lovely and well appointed Gettysburg B&B. We were able to book a one night stay (usually a two night minimum is required) as it fit between other reservations. Thus, we knowingly ended up with one of, if not the smallest room at the inn. I might add, it was also the smallest price. Despite this, the room was very clean, well maintained and very comfortable. We were quite pleased with the attention given each guest. We felt as though everyone was treated in just that way...more as a guest than a patron. Brian greeted us and was very attentive and spent ample time reviewing tips for dinner, touring the battlefield and so on.

The landscaping was well done and sitting in the back yard among the plants, trees and waterfall/pond was most enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing. Wireless internet is accessible in this rear area, too. A bountiful, tastey breakfast is served (weather permitting) outside on the two patios in this lovely back yard environment. Afternoon tea, coffee and snacks is a welcomed touch.

We will definately make the Brickhouse Inn our first choice next time we're in the Gettysburg area.

  • Liked — Friendly, relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — small steps to upper floors, though typical of older buildings
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAImbiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed at the Brickhouse Inn for two nights. I have been to Gettysburg many times and have always enjoyed where I have stayed. The Brickhouse Inn was no exception and has become a place that I will return to on my next visit. We stayed in the Illionis Room in the adjacent Welty House. The room was spacious and very well kept. The clawfoot tub and stained glass accents gave a unique touch . Our host , Brian , was very friendly upon our arrival and gave us a tour and a quick history lesson about the beautiful Inn. Brian was very accomodating and willing to assist us with any questions we had. The Welty House has an interesting history itself, with several bullet holes from the Civil War in the brick still visible. The main building was also very nice-there was always tea available and in the afternoon there were cookies as well. Breakfast was also served there inside or if the weather was nice (which it was for us) it was served on the back patio among the beautiful and well cared for gardens. There is also a very pretty koi pond and waterfall. Breakfast was delicious and very graciously served. We would have liked to be given a range of time for breakfast instead of only one seating but it gave us a good excuse to get up and out early (breakfast was served at 830 am). This is one of the best locations to stay in Gettysburg-it really is close to everything. There is parking directly behind the Inn, it is a short walk to the Inn and we were on the second floor so I was a bit worried about carrying our bags-but- Brian offered any help that we may have needed. Definitely tour the Battlefield, the private guides are a great way to go. We went horsebacking riding on the battlefield (Artillery Ridge Campground offers rides) and it was an interesting way to experience the battlefield. Overall staying at the Brickhouse Inn complimented our trip to Gettysburg and made our time there even nicer.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank catontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2007

In June of 07, we wanted to stay at a Bed and Breakfast in Gettysburg and we just took a chance and we were lucky enough to get a room. We stayed in the Tenn. room and just loved it. It's like living history. The location is perfect for the battlefield as well as the town of Gettysburg. The hospitality of Brian and Tessa was fantastic, you could not have asked for anything better. The accomodations outstanding. A home away from home and you get to live the history too. We liked it so much, before we left we made reservations to come back for the Apple Festival in October. This time we stayed in the Illinois room and it was great, but our favorite is the Tenn. room. The food is extremely good and the service makes you feel special. We plan to return to Gettysburg often and this is the place we want to stay.

  • Liked — Friendlyness, extremely clean, historical value of premises.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LatrobeChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

What a lovely way to experience Gettysburg!

Our trip focussed on seeing the town instead of the battlefield. The inn is conveniently located below the National Cemetary on Baltimore Street. From there, it was very easy to walk into town or stroll up to the cemetary for a taste of the battle from that vantage point.

The inn itself is quite lovely. Very clean and comfortable with a tasteful mix of antiques to give guests a taste of upper class civilian life at the time of the battle. Our bed was extremely comfortable -- more than enough pillows and blankets.

We were fortunate to have lovely warm weather and could dine each morning on the terrace by the gardens in the back of the house. Breakfast was delicious and filling enough that we chose to eat icecream for lunch instead of another meal!

Our hosts were extremely helpful in making dinner reservations for us at the Dobbin House -- which was three minutes walk from the inn. They also recommended the tour of the Shriver House to better understand how the townspeople were affected by the battle.

We highly recommend this inn.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank AftonJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing