We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food and sleep wasa awesome”
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brafferton Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“food and sleep wasa awesome”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

bed was soo compfy and house was very old and well kept we will stay again and the price of room was good and the breakfast was really good. onwers were nice. perfect spot in town and parking was close .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaizeb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you. We had a great time meeting you. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    70
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
102
345
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Brafferton Inn to celebrate New Year's Eve. The inn was lovely, the hosts were charming and accommodating. We were greeted warmly and given a lovely tour of the property. The owner, Joan, explained everything we needed to know about town, the battlefield, and the New Year's Eve celebrations. Brian was a great host.
The room was well appointed, pretty and super clean. Breakfast was fantastic! We had the best blueberry muffins ever. The crab quiche was superb and my husband enjoyed the egg and sausage scrabble.
A pleasant surprise was the lovely celebration put on by the town for New Year's Eve. We would have had a great time without it but it sure made our two night stay even more memorable.
Hint from Joan--hire a private guide to drive your car around the battlefield. So worth it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhoWantsToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Thank you so much!! We had a wonderful time getting to meet you. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We had a great time at the Brafferton, we stayed in the Brafferton Suite and the room was beautiful. The homemade breakfast was great and they offered plenty of options to choose from. Also, the Inn was centrally located in the middle of Gettysburg, which was very convenient. We will definately stay there agan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbeissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We have been staying at the Brafferton Inn since 2003 and have nothing but praise for Brian, Amybeth and Joan Hodges who own and run this beautiful B&B. We are there at least three time a year if not more. There are plenty of rooms to choose from, and each one has it's own special decor. If you want something sweet and cozy, try Dorothy's Hide Away. Romance all the way...well, they've got just the rooms for you to choose from and a variety of price ranges to fit. Breakfast is always something special! When you stay at the Brafferton, it's like staying with family. They take great pride meeting all your needs!

Sincerely,
Theta Ramsey
A Misplaced Texan living in Maryland

Helpful?
Thank Schopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Thank you for the kind words Theta. We have really enjoyed hosting you and Alan over the years. Can't wait to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2010

This latest visit to the Brafferton Inn was the latest in a long line of stays. From our very first visit, six years ago, Brain, Amybeth, and Joan have treated us as though we were the most important guests they had. The welcome begins with a tour of this historic home (including the mantel with a Civil War bullet in it). Any renovations they have made have been respectful to the era and reflect a lot of TLC.

One of my favorite places is the lobby/living room. You can comfortably sit for hours and enjoy one, or more, of their Civil War books, all while enjoying a hot beverage of your choice. The art work displayed is breathtaking! From spring through fall, the backyard flower garden is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the outdoors.

We have stayed in many different rooms over the years and have always had a great stay. Every room is warm, cozy, and inviting! When choosing a room online, you can find one to fit your desires and needs. We tend to prefer the rooms with no TV, but many rooms do have televisions.

Breakfast is served at convenient times and we have found them delicious and plentiful. Be sure to take note of the china and, of course, the mural in the Breakfast Room. It is truly lovely to experience a breakfast at the Brafferton.

The Brafferton Inn's location is wonderful. It is right off the square, which is the hub of town activity. The nearest trolley stop is half a block away. The trolley system allows you the choice of leaving the car behind while you visit the Visitor's Center and Cyclorama, the many museums in town, go for a double-decker bus tour or do some shopping in the area. The trolley even takes you out to banks, Walmart, Peebles, and fast food eateries.

The Brafferton is ALWAYS our choice for a quiet getaway where we can set the pace and mix tourism with relaxation. I highly recommend the Brafferton Inn so you can get the true feel of this wonderful town of Gettysburg.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbg280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2010
Thank you! We have really enjoyed getting to meet you over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for four days on a leisure trip. This Inn is with out a doubt a five star Inn. The check in was flawless and we were briefed thoroughly. I opted to have roses, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for my wife. The roses were some of the very best we both have seen and the strawberries were excellent. We stayed in the Codori suite and it was absolutely beautiful. Spacious, very clean, king sized bed and brand new amenities...walk in shower with double heads and a large whirl pool tub that was also brand new. The location is right next to the center of town where you will enjoy some of the best shopping that Gettysburg has to offer. Our only observation that we would recommend for improvement would be obtaining double ply instead of single ply TP. The Inn may be on a septic system though. We would also recommend that they upgrade their wifi so that it is strong enough for their guests to enjoy in the comfort of their own rooms. Currently guests must use this important service in a public area. You will get no less than four choices for breakfast and Brian seems like he takes great pride with providing you with a very large range of of different and well made entries for you each morning. The rooms were also very quiet. If coming to Gettysburg for more than a day, my wife and I highly recommend a stay here. You will certainly be glad that you did.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronco38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while in Gettysburg. We were very impressed with just about everything - the friendliness of the inn keepers, the building and rooms, and especially the breakfasts. Each morning you get a fruit cup and a homemade pastry, followed by your choice of one of several dishes. The choices weren't your plain boring things either (like pancakes, waffles, etc.). Some examples were raspberry stuffed french toast, breakfast crab kiesh, and sausage/egg/cheese caserole. The food was better than most nice restaurants that we've ever been to. The afternoon cookies were also great!

Our room was the Brafferton Suite which is in the front of the building, near the street. The room was absolutely incredible; our only complaint while there was the level of street noise at night. The street doesn't look like a busy road but it really is. There is constant traffic all night long and many semi trucks also drive by. In fact, the room was louder than rooms I've stayed at in NYC and on Bourbon Street in New Orleans and this gave us some difficulty sleeping. To be fair, on the Brafferton's website it does say that the room has some street noise and to pick a different room if you need absolute quiet - just be sure not to underestimate the level of noise if you pick a room facing the street like we did.

The only other minor complaint is that there wasn't much literature of area attractions in the room or in the lobby. We stayed at the Brickhouse for a night after leaving and in every room they had a comprehensive directory of local dining, shopping, tours, etc. We didn't get any of that at the Brafferton and I feel that we may have missed out on a few things on our first two nights in Gettysburg. Also, there is only on-site parking for two of the rooms (the suites). Otherwise, you need to park at the local parking garage. It is practically next door to the inn, but I'm not sure what limitations you would have if you frequently needed to use your vehicle.

All and all, I would definitely recommend this place to anybody wanting to stay at a B&B. The rooms were wonderful, the staff was friendly, and the food was great. We stayed at the Brickhouse as well and I would rank these at almost a tie, with the Brickhouse getting the slight advantage for the quieter rooms (ours there was on the street but much more quiet), more central location, and the on-site parking.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlyden316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed meeting you here at the inn. Just to clarify a few topics:
We have 18 bedrooms in total, 4 of which may be effected by street noise.
The other 14 bedrooms are off the street and extremely quiet. We offer 4 free parking spots for our king suites. Our other rooms use either street parking or a public parking garage located directly behind the inn.
At check in time, we go over a detailed map of the town and a dining and attraction guide is given to all guests detailing everything to do here in Gettsyburg. We also have menus to every restaurant here in Gettsyburg located in our living room for guests to look over.
Thanks Again,
The Hodges Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,021 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
372 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Property: Brafferton Inn
Address: 44 York St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing