We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but...”
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brafferton Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Inn is lovely, we stayed in the Loft. Nobody said anything about this place being haunted but we had a few strange things happen! Yes the breakfasts are great and the place is immaculate. My only complaint would be the parking. Its costly to use the back door parking garage if you plan on going in and out and it would probably be easier if they just tacked on another $10 on the daily price and included the garage parking. Trying to park on the street with meters was ridiculous and mostly hard to even access as the spots were usually taken.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodlife55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

I am so glad you enjoyed the house, it's history, and our breakfasts! As noted in previous reviews, parking in downtown Gettysburg can be challenging for all hotels, bed and breakfasts, and restaurants, not just our inn. Since we are located directly in the center of downtown, we do not have a private parking area for all our guests. Our guests can use street parking, or as you mentioned a public parking garage, located directly behind our inn. The fee for the parking garage is 75 cents per hour with a maximum rate of $10 per day. The metered parking is free overnight, and there is usually enough spots for all of our guests. We purposely charge less than our competitors on our room rates to cover any possible parking fees. You paid $140 for your suite on a busy weekend, where you probably would have paid $160-$175 per night for a comparable room at any other inn in town. I feel you got a great deal! As far as ghosts and being haunted, yes I have heard many, many stories, but I never want to advertising as being a haunted inn!
Thanks,
Brian Hodges
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 591 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in The Garden Room. Loved the shabby chic deco touch. Exceptionally CLEAN! Breakfasts were delicious! Location is in the heart of Gettysburg so we easily walked around town. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaJarrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you so much. I am so glad you enjoyed your room and our inn. I would love to host you again, and remember our repeat guest program!
Thanks,
Brian Hodges
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Brafferton Inn was our last stop on a 3 month cross-country road trip - a delightful way to end our travels. Brian and his team were very welcoming, with coffee, tea and cookies to tide us over to dinnertime and helpful recommendations. Breakfast was wonderful and we appreciated having several options to choose from. We stayed in the King Suite (with parking) - a vast and comfortable set of rooms (bigger than our NYC apartment). Lots of Gettysburg-related paintings and reading material in the sitting room - we wished we had had more time to enjoy the Inn.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter since the Inn is on the street; the suites have parking but many rooms don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalletBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We brought our daughter in law to the Brafferton Inn this past weekend for her birthday. We stayed in the Gettys Suite (for the second time) We love staying at the Brafferton Inn. Joan and Brian are wonderful host and are always so friendly. The breakfast are to die for. We will be coming back for New Years again this year and we cannot wait. In our opinion this is the best BB in Gettysburg.
Rick and Kathy Young
Hummels Wharf, PA

Room Tip: The Gettys Suite is great for 2 couples. Plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

It was fantastic hosting you again, and this time also your son and daughter-in-law. I had a great time meeting them. Cannot wait to see you again on New Year's Eve!
Thanks,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were in the Lincoln suite. Nice and quiet, good bed, great bathroom with amazing shower. No wifi in room. The satellite TV should have a channel list, but maybe we just didn't find it. Only six parking spaces so check before you book, otherwise you need the muni lot. Skylights in the ceiling right over the bed let light in at dawn, so be warned. Late October for our visit, so it wasn't an issue. Staff tries hard to please, and succeeds. Breakfast is hearty, with a fancy omelet daily and wonderful fresh baked muffins. Superb coffee. We were pleased with our stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank 74HarryRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

I had a great time meeting you and all your friends. I am so glad you enjoyed the Lincoln Suite, it is one of our top selling rooms. Comfy bed, spa shower, large living room with fireplace and flat screen. The DirectTV remote does have a channel guide button on it for a list of all the channels (over 170). Breakfast is my favorite part of the day, and I am glad you enjoyed our hearty breakfast choices as well as our pastries and coffee.
Thanks again!
Brian Hodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent 2 night in this very nice inn. The people are friendly and the place is charming. Location is great, all around us was history, and beautiful shops. We loved the nice breakfasts, and our room was so cozy and comfy. The only thing that seemed strange to us is the parking situation.
We did not get this info until we had checked in. It is a bit costly to park, and you have to park a distance from the inn. We had no problem with this but others may, if a person had any physical conditions it could be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for room with quiet areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeandob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at the Brafferton Inn. We are so glad you found us to be cozy and charming.
A note about parking, since we are located in center of downtown Gettysburg, we cannot provide private parking for all our guests. Some guests do use street parking or a public parking garage, both of which are located right out our back door, directly behind us, so it is not far away. The benefit of staying downtown is the fact that you can park your car and walk everywhere in town. The metered parking spots are free every night, while the parking garage charges a rate of 75 cents per hour, and caps out at a maximum of $10 per 24 hours. We always discount our rooms compared to other inns in the area to compensate for the fact you may pay for parking. So in the end you may be actually paying less than staying at another inn or hotel.
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in october and I never wanted to leave. We stayed in the Pear Tree Suite and it by far exceded my expectations. Check in was a breeze and breakfasts were a delishes 3 course affair. There is a choice of 4 entrees each morning that will impress even the pickiest eater.The room was huge and included a private parking spot. At night you would sink into the bed and in the morning not want to leave. We took a total of 7 bathes in our jacuzzi tub over the course of 2 days. The innkeepers are super friendly and accommodating. Please just remember to tip housekeeping. They work super hard and make sure you get to come back to a clean room and they never get much recognition. The only disappointing part was we couldn't stay longer. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajh1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words. We had a great time meeting you both and are so happy you got good use out of the Jacuzzi tub! Hope to see you both again soon.
The Hodges Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Address: 44 York St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $120 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing