We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brafferton Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Airy, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I sat in front of our computer six years ago looking for a bed and breakfast in Gettysburg. We went on to a website site called Bed and Breakfast.com. We chose the Brafferton because of its location. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and really didnt know what to expect. Six years later we still stay at the Brafferton and I would not have it any other way. Joan and Brian do absolutely a perfect job from check in to check out and you wont find a breakfast like they make anywhere. We have stayed in serveral different rooms over the six years all are so nice and clean. We have always found Joan, Brian and their staff to be very friendly and more than accommodating. We feel there is just no experiance like the one we always get when staying at the Brafferton. We would not consider staying anywhere else. Each time we leave the Brafferton the first topic of conversation is "when are we going back".

Room Tip: Any room in Brafferton is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words Chris. We have enjoyed hosting you and your wife over the past six years, and hope to host you again soon!!
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    66
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
95
323
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taneytown, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We celebrated my husband's birthday at the Brafferton Inn. The Lincoln Suite was tastefully decorated and very spacious. Our king bed was so comfortable I barely remember pulling up the covers. Our Kuerig coffee went well with Joan's delicious cookies as we read our morning paper. Breakfast was a feast of fruit, pastries, bacon and blueberry pancakes created by Brian and oh so tasty. We live only 18 miles away, but will be back for the relaxing ambiance and yummy treats.

Room Tip: We loved the Lincoln Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nscgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Can't tell you how much my wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Brafferton Inn. We were lucky enough to get in with last minute reservations and enjoyed our stay so much we extended an extra day.

Pros - Comfortable, quiet room
- Best home-cooked breakfast at a B&B I've ever had
- Staff is OUTSTANDING in all aspects. We think of Joan (the owner) as more of a friend than an Innkeeper.

Cons - Could use a slightly larger TV in the room. Hard to see from the bed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the Inn are quieter and easy access to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a lovely B & B. We stayed in the Garden Room in the Carriage House and it was so lovely. The place is immaculately clean, everything is comfortable, and the food is fantastic. It is in a beautiful setting in downtown Gettysburg, very charming, within walking distance to many restaurants and quaint shops. Joan and other members of the staff (Emily) were absoluately wonderful. We truly enjoyed our time here. Parking in historic downtown is not always readily available, however, and that was not something we really thought about. There was a nice parking garage (paid) behind the inn that had plenty of spaces available and the staff were very helpful about parking information. We would absolutely go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I needed to find a unique Christmas present (surprise) that was relaxing, enjoyable and fun too. I found the Inn on BedandBreakfast.com did some research and booked right on their website. Upon arrival we were given a choice in the room we wanted to stay in.. the Lincoln Suite or our original Catherine's Cove. While the Cove was beautiful we decided to stay in the Suite. It was spacious and absolutely beautiful. Joan and her son were so warm and welcoming! Breakfast was delish and I couldn't have asked for anything better.. We will def be back :)

Room Tip: pick whats best for you... they are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I along with another couple spent the weekend after Thanksgiving at The Brafferton Inn. We will be going back again in the spring. Extremely relaxing, clean, friendly and phenomenal breakfast. We stayed in the Brafferton Suite and our friends stayed in Dorothy's Hideaway. When we went to check out we were asked if we actually stayed there because they never saw us except for breakfast. Yes, we stayed. Yes, we enjoyed. Yes, close to everything. The only suggestion I would make is if you go to the Inn at Herr for dinner plan on a 4 hour experience. We had planned on dinner and a ghost hunt. Missed the ghost hunt because service is extremely slow there. We will go back. No questions asked.

Room Tip: Parking is extremely difficult unless you have it included with your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Codori Suite for his birthday weekend. We just got home to Long Island and I'm already missing the Inn. It was the best b&b my husband had stayed in and this was my first. Joan and Brian were so wonderful and we felt very welcomed. The town was decorated beautifully for Christmas and we had the chance to see the Christmas Parade at night from the warmth of our livingroom! The suite was very comfy cozy and beautifully decorated. We felt it was our home away from home. Brian is an AMAAAZING cook!!! I want to live there! Our experience was so great! I had to buy 2 mugs from them so that when I'm at home sipping on my coffee/ hot chocolate, i can remember the absolutely wonderful time we had there. HIGHLY recommend going there!!! Thanks to everyone at the Brafferton Inn especially to Joan and Brian :0)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilita20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Property: Brafferton Inn
Address: 44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing