We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Inn”
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brafferton Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Freericksburg
2 reviews
“Our Favorite Inn”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and I had the wonderful expeience of being among the very first visitors to the Inn under the (then) new management of the Hodges. We quickly fell in love with Gettysburg, the Brafferton Inn, and the Hodges' family. Each visit to the Inn is a new and wonderful experience, Brian, Amy Beth, and Joan all go out of their way to make our stays such fantastic experiences; what more could one ask for??! Each room in the Inn is unique in it's own very special way and; Brian constantly looks for new ways to improve upon existing rooms. My wife and I have been back to the Inn tme and time again and always look forward to our next greatest and most wonderful experience at the Brafferton Inn. Thank you all for giving us so very many and different wonderful experiences at the Brafferton and in Gettysburg....Love from Virginia; Honey and Me!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    70
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
102
345
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

While the location is charming, we were deeply disappointed by the lack of hospitality at The Brafferton. With so many alternatives in the neighborhood, go elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathleenmjoyce622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
As owners, we do not feel this review should be on Tripadvisor, because they actually did NOT stay with us.
These guests did book a room online with us for 2 people. When they showed up to check in, they had a party of 5! We explained to them we did not have any rooms for 5 people, and they got very angry and abusive towards us for not allowing them to cram 5 people into the room.
We did refund their deposit to them, and actually got them a room at a local hotel.
We are not sure how you can rate our rooms/cleanliness etc. without actually staying as a guest with us.
Thank You,
Brian Hodges
Owner/innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My mother and I traveled to Gettysburg for the first time together, and this was our first B&B experience as well! Overall we had a really nice trip, but the Brafferton has its ups AND downs. Our room was not fantastic. We appreciate the "old" qualities of such an establishment but think some things should be pointed out on the website when booking. (For example, an older or slightly disabled person probably wouldn't be able to step up into the room itself without great effort and/or assistance or do the huuuge steps that lead into the bathroom. We stayed in the carriage house section, by the way, which in order to get to, you have to go back outside...) The bed definitely was sagging toward the middle, which was not comfortable for our backs at all! The window air conditioner was also a problem. It didn't fit in the window properly, causing large open gaps on either side of the unit...just totally open to the outside! Not good when there are about a thousand crickets jumping around outside on the path. The unit itself was literally about to fall out of the window as it was...My mother and I, being resourceful, rigged it ourselves to stay upright.

I've read that people thought the owners were not friendly. I'll have to admit I can see where some of them are coming from. We arrived about a half hour early (2:30pm) and I went in just to see if our room happened to be ready a little early (that happens sometimes) and she acted pretty annoyed that I even asked. I was just asking, no big deal! The son, Brian, was very nice though. And I believe he makes the breakfasts, which are DELICIOUS. If it wasn't for the wonderful breakfast I would probably have a worse overall review of the place. Love the cookies and the Keurig machine in the living room. Very quaint house.

The location IS central to downtown, but you have to drive to things like the museum and battlefield tours and many restaurants and such anyway, so that's not really a plus. ESPECIALLY because being downtown, and having to park behind the establishment publicly, led us to having my tire slashed on our first night there, along with about 4 or 5 others parked in the row! Now I realize that the owners have no control over the horrible actions of others, but I truly believe that SOMETHING has to be done about the "no parking" situation with this B&B. It's the place's biggest downfall. There's a parking garage back there (which we definitely used the second night!). Why don't they make a deal with the garage or something to let their guests park in the garage for free? Then the new tire I had just purchased earlier that summer wouldn't have been slashed out on the street! I was also somewhat less than impressed with the way the owners handled that. They were apologetic, of course, but we were certainly on our own as far as finding a good place to have the repairs done the next day and everything. Thank goodness for AAA and the other guests helping each other out in a time of need! One guy even got a big parking ticket for being parked back there too long, when it was very clear (and known to the police) that his tire was slashed on a Sunday and he had no way of moving it and getting it fixed til the following day! Pretty ridiculous situation that should be avoided. I guess it was silly to feel safe parking the car there just because it's a small, quaint town!

We're going to Gettysburg again this fall, and we're staying at the Lightner Farmhouse just outside of town, with FREE PARKING included in a very secure lot. Thank goodness.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback on our inn. This is one way in which we can improve the inn and it's operations. I believe the room you stayed in must have been the Garden Room, which has been totally renovated, with central air conditioning, and new bed and mattress, and a two person Jacuzzi tub.
As far as parking, since we are located in the middle of the block right smack dab in the middle of downtown, we do not have a private parking lot. We can provide 4 private spots for our king suites, but the rest of our guests do use street parking or the public parking garage. We have had zero incidents of vandalism in the 27 years we have been open as a b&b, other than the incident of the tire slasing when you were a guest here. The suspects were later attributed to be attendind a wedding at the Gettysburg Hotel, and were from out of town, so they were not local people. This could of happened anywhere, a hotel parking lot etc.
Yes, we are walking distance to all restaurants and shops, but the battlefield itself is a driving tour, and the National Visitors Center Museum is about 2-3 miles south of town. There are no b&b's or hotels within walking distance of this museum.
Thank You
Brian Hodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Location of this historic old Inn was great. Inn was easy to find upon our arrival by car and we are a directionally challenged couple. We wanted to be able to walk to everything in downtown Gettysburg but yet not be in the area that tends to be over crowded during the summer season. Brafferton was perfect. Just a short walk to the old town square which is delightful with many interesting shops and restaurants.You can walk to most of the historical sites as well if you're up for some longer walking adventures. Great way to see the town and work off the below referenced great breakfasts.

Breakfasts were all that had been mentioned in reviews we had read and more. Muffins were the best we had ever tasted. Amish casserole was also another bit hit. We were there for three days and breaktast offering was different and wonderful each day
All Inn personnel were welcoming , knowledgeable and very helpful with recommendations. Great attention to every detail ,including tips for navigating the parking lot and garage which you'll need if you arrive with a car.
The guests were great as well. We enjoyed meeting and talking with interesting people from so many parts of the country.
We stayed in the Loft Suite and would recommend it for families who need more space if you're okay with walking up stairs as the building does not have an elevator. We had the entire third floor to ourselves, with great views of the street out of both rooms.
Would not consider staying anyplace else on a return trip to Gettysburg!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeful14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Brafferton inn in Tilly's room. It had it's own private entrance located in the old carraige house. The room was clean with central air, the breakfast was good, the staff very polite and helpfull and the location was great. We only needed the car when we went out to the National Museum.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed in Pear Tree Suite. Excellent room and facilities. Never once heard any outside noise or disruption. Breakfast is among the very best we have ever experienced. Brafferton Inn is located one half block from Lincoln Circle. Very close to the public transit that takes you to the visitors center and other places. ( Seniors ride free). The owners and employees were always friendly and available to answer your questions. Brafferton Inn is very cozy and located in a historic setting. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judgefrankl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We can not say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at the Brafferton. Brian, Joan, and staff were very knowledgeable about most anything we were interested in doing during our stay in Gettysburg. Their courtesy and hopsitality are both impressive. The morning breakfast are incredible and if you enjoy being pampered this is the place to stay. We stayed in the Gettys Suite which is very spacious and would be suitable for families with small children. We were able to cook and eat out if we wanted for lunch and breakfast. The housekeeping staff has everything sparkling and clean. They certainly aim to please! The Brafferton is within walking distance to most attractions so it would be convenient and also help save on gas. If you are looking for an incredible place to stay the Brafferton would be a good match!!!

Room Tip: Gettys Suite and the North Suite are beautiful rooms and great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandjhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,021 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Property: Brafferton Inn
Address: 44 York St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing