We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brafferton Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Do yourself a favor a step back into time at the Brafferton Inn. The hospitality enjoyed by my wife and I was second only to the fact that the B&B dates back to the civil war (Cordi House).

Whether you are a civil war buff, history enthusiast, or simply looking for a cozy get away, you will be very pleased staying at the Brafferton.

Our compliments to the Inn keepers.

  • Liked — Hospitality, accomodations, and locaiton
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Preslincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    72
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
103
353
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2007

I've stayed at many bed and breakfasts but have rarely found one with such wonderfully caring owners as the Brafferton Inn. The house is charmingly decorated in period style, and the breakfast was outstanding both mornings I was there!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CW_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

The Brafferton Inn has rooms both in their main house and some several buildings away down the street- that is where we stayed- in the newly remodeled "modern" rooms. All rooms have wall shakers for A/C- noisy. This room had paper folded window shades held up with clothes pins, and nothing covering the bathroom window. The TV from either another room or the adjoining builidng could be heard through the thin walls so loud I could not sleep. The breakfast was very good as long as you don't drink tea or prefer fresh milk or cream for you coffee instead of the cheesy plastic half and half containers piled on your table- kind of reminded us of the bus station. The inn keepers are very friendly until you request something special- like real milk or hot water, and all of a sudden they are not so happy to have you as their guests. We have stayed in B&Bs all over the world, and all over the US so can fairly judge by comparision, the Brafferton did not live up to its reputation by a long shot. NOTE: My husband and his buddy proclaimed the sausage breakfast quiche one of the best breakfasts ever! So- eating- good, sleeping- not so good.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Room quality
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Flaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2007

The Brafferton Inn is our choice for excellence in Gettysburg.
We visited the Brafferton Inn in June and had a marvelous stay!! The room (Tillie 's)was cleaned every day and fresh towels were provided. Can't say enough about the beds...they were so comfortable and very welcome after a day of tramping the battlefield and the town. The location of the Brafferton is also a plus as it is within walking distance to everything. The breakfasts were superb!!! Brian used us as guinea pigs for new dishes that he was trying. I envy the folks that followed us as these new breakfasts were yummy. We loved the baked goods that Joan made fresh each morning. The poppyseed cream cheese muffins were to die for!! Even though we had a TV in our room, many times we chose the cool comfort of the front parlor to just unwind and enjoy the evening. Joan's chocolate chip cookies were also a big factor in that decision as there was always a fresh plate waiting there along with fresh coffee and iced tea. We have also stayed at the Brafferton during Remembrance Weekend and History Meets the Arts. As busy as these weekends are, we found the same excellence in service and care. We will be returning again and again!!!

  • Liked — The Brafferton has such a historic atmosphere as well as being very up-to-date.
  • Disliked — Loved it all!!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cannoneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2007

The Brafferton had been recommended to us by some friends who stayed there earlier this year and still rave about the friendly and comfortable accomodations. They also told us that we would find the breakfast a real treat. THEY WERE RIGHT ON ALL COUNTS !!!!

Our room was clean,comfortable and decorated in the style of the day (Civil War) including an actual bullet from the war in our fireplace mantle. I'm sure the air conditioner was not "in period" but was a great comfort upon our return from the battlefield. The room and overall premises were well maintained including a beautiful deck and garden area.

Brian, who is more of a chef than a cook, prepared the most wonderful quiche which was served alongside some delicious fresh fruit and scrumptuous muffins.

The owners were very knowledgeable with regard to the town, its history and the local restaurants and attractions.

WITHOUT A DOUBT, WE WILL BE BACK!!!

  • Liked — Staff & authentic decor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKEYHATESIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Clemens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

This is the 2nd time we have visited Gettysburg. This, however, is the first time that we stayed at the Brafferton Inn. My husband and I wish we had stayed at the Brafferton the first time as well. We found it much nicer then the other B@B we stayed at. It is in a great location within walking distence to dining and shopping, and other Gettytsburg activiies. Lots to see and do here.
We found the hosts, Joan and Brian, very helpful in every way. The room was clean and comfortable. The breckfasts were to die for. Gourmet to say the least!!! And the afternoon chocolate chip cookies were the best. We plan to visit again next year and will not stay anywhere else. Our advice, stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Historical area and the B@B fits right in
  • Disliked — nothing--loved it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hulagirlmtclemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, NJ
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2007

I am a Civil War enthusiast and have many trips to Gettysburg over the years, and have stayed at most of the hotels and B&Bs, but none of them measure up to the Brafferton Inn. In addition to being ideally located (just steps from Lincoln Square) this inn is a marvelously cozy place to stay. It starts with the owners, who greet you warmly when you arrive and attend to your every need, to the wonderful breakfasts to the well-kept rooms). I have been there half a dozen times now and have stayed in a different room each time, and was pleased with all of them. When the weather is nice they have a lovely back deck to enjoy, and when the weather is not nice their living room is quite cozy. I can't recommend the Brafferton Inn enough.

  • Liked — Great service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,044 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Property: Brafferton Inn
Address: 44 York St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing