We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent food and Hospitality. . May be Haunted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excelent food and Hospitality. . May be Haunted”
Reviewed August 15, 2007

I have nothing but high remarks for this B&B. Florence the owner is very hospitable and breakfast is bar none the best! We stayed in Reilly's North Carolina Artillery Suite and the rooms was spacious for my family and in-laws. The grounds are beautiful and lotus pond is breathtaking like a living Monet painting. The farm animals were such a nice welcome and we enjoyed petting them. The outside cats are also great companions! We also thoroughly enjoyed the morning history demonstrations.

On the haunted side, we did put out a voice recorder at 1:30 AM on the old Piano when the house was very quite and guests were asleep. I didn't listen to what was recorded until we got home and was surprised to hear there was a man talking on the voice recorder at great lengths however could not make out what he was saying. I’m a believer and a skeptic. Not sure what to make of it but it was compelling to say the least! Would be interesting to hear of others who also use a voice recorder at this location.

  • Liked — Historical era home, Hospitality, Food & Farm Life
  • Disliked — Cant say there was anyting I didn't like
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank prblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    43
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
114
139
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2007

We decided to run away and get married last year. We had stayed at another B & B in Gettysburg previously that was lovely but the breakfasts were a little too "frou-frou" for my husband's tastes so we searched the Internet for another B & B. The pictures of the Battlefield B&B caught our eye. We read on the site that a wedding could be arranged through the owner and decided to commit, sight unseen, to letting her arrange that for us. We could not have been more pleased.

In the meantime we decided to include some friends from Ohio as our witnesses and booked them a room, also. The minister was the most wonderful "man of the cloth" we have ever met. Our wedding was intimate and special in front of the fireplace in the parlor. Florence stayed up late the night before and made a cake of our choosing (carrot) from scratch and decorated it with real flowers from the garden. Her staff, who are all wonderful, also made heartshaped apple pancakes the morning of our wedding for all of the guests.

The rooms were beautiful and spotless, beds are comfortable and grounds are peaceful and quiet. One of the reviews made mention of the dark parlor...well, gosh it's in the part of the home that was built in 1809! If someone wants new and fancy, they shouldn't be looking at B & B's in a historical place. Food is excellent and the historians are fascinating. We have already booked a return trip for our anniversary...we can't wait!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything we didn't like
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gettysburglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2007

This was my second visit to Battlefield B & B, this time under a different owner. Again, I was pleased with the accomodations (civil war era themed rooms), the food (delicious breakfasts plus homemade cookies and lemonade in the afternoons), the company (owner and staff are very friendly and accomodating), and setting (peaceful farmhouse location with lots of cats--some lap friendly and other people-shy). I look forward to spending time there again on my next trip to Gettysburg.

  • Liked — Warm, friendly staff, food, cats.
  • Disliked — Thin walls in our room.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KidWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2006

We have stayed at the Battlefield twice and will be back many more times. First of all the breakfast they cook up every morning is incredible. My buddy Van will entertain you with his history narations at 8:00 am before breakfast, you must attend those.
The owner Florence is so kind and really is concered about your stay. I love this place!!!!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank gotthelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Me and my husband stayed here for the "Dinner with President Lincoln" weekend.
Upon arrival, we were very warmly greeted and shown to our room, which was awesome and spotless.
There was a history talk every morning at 8:00 a.m. before breakfast that was expertly presented. Breakfast was delicious and the service was great. The other guests all seemed to be history buffs which made for some very interesting conversation.
The house as a whole gave one the feeling of actually being in the 1860's, complete with costumed staff. This was a very unique experience for us and one that I would recommend very highly.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank century1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 11, 2005

This B&B is made up of a new section and an old section. I splurged and stayed in the old section - and it was great. The bathroom & room were clean, the bed was comfortable and the place was very inviting.

I went to Gettysburg for the History Meets The Arts weekend and I'm so glad I chose this place to stay instead of a newer hotel.

The food was great and the period presentations at breakfast by the host were a blast. I'll stay here the next time I go to Gettysburg!

  • Stayed April 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 2, 2005

The Battlefield Bed and Breakfast is far and away one of the best inn experiences I've had - hands down. Florence wakes her guests each morning to an optional hour talk by a local CivIl War expert which is followed by a two or three course breakfast, which is beyond great. Her friendly staff insure that all guests are taken care of and Florence herself joins in the inevitable after breakfast conversation with the guests. For Civil War buffs the optional hour long morning program is the perfect way to begin a day on the battlefield. You grab a cup of coffee or tea sit back and are amazed by the breadth of knowledge and passion these folks show about this seminal event in the nation's history. I could not recommmend the Battlefield B & B any higher. It's the best! 5 stars!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,475 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#5 of 23 in Gettysburg
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7114
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg
Battlefield b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing