We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had our wedding at Battlefield B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had our wedding at Battlefield B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

Battlefield B&B hosted our wedding and reception on October 25, 2008. It was everything I'd hoped it would be - the staff is phenomenal; Florence is a gem. Everyone worked to make our day perfect, despite the pouring rain. When I walked into the barn for the reception, it was just as I'd pictured it in my mind for many months. Our wedding was casual, fun and unique - and everyone raved about it. We stayed for a couple of days for our "honeymoon," had a couple of ghostly experiences, and ate some fantastic breakfasts. Battlefield is a great place - and I know that even though we live only a few minutes away, we'll stay there again, just for the heck of it, when we "want to get away from it all."

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — We had some ghostly experiences! but nothing bad .... just exciting
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ktzmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    37
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
88
95
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
almond, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We have stayed in many B & B's in our travels, but we have made Battlefield B & B a yearly must! Florence and her staff are a joy and the breakfast is scrumptious. We can have a snack for lunch and be ready for the evening meal at one of our favorite restaurants. The morning programs are very informative and Florence's Friday night ghost stories are so wonderfully scary. This year our dog Fawn came with us and she was treated like a person and she felt welcomed, I'm sure. We have already booked our favorite room for November, 2009.
Howard and Susie Chambers, Almond, NC

  • Liked — Lovely room, convenient to battlefield, town, restaurants, friendly staff and farm animals.
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Freindly hosts, great grounds for kids to run around on, tasty food. About everything one could want at a B and B. History lesson every morning - firing the musket was great!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGeern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

let's see, where do i begin... in a nutshell, i booked my trip a year in advance, so i could be there for the big 145th reenactement. i booked online, which was my first mistake. the room i booked was online for 175-199$'s per nite, i assumed the price would be the latter due to it being on the weekend, than when i rec'd my invoice, 10 months later, they added on 50$'s per nite because it was the "heritage days"... i didn't even know what that was! they had me caught between a rock and a hard place... they knew there wasn't another place to stay w/in a 50 mile radius of gettysburg at that time of the year... so, i had to stay there and like another reviewer said, the first thing they wanted was my money, barely a hello. the inn itself is ok, very noisy and the decor leaves a bit to the imagination... it could be real nice, if they took the time to display some of their civil war things better. take your shower at nite, than it may be warm. the innkeeper didn't even introduce herself, i actually thought she was just the cook. i will give it kudos for it's breakfast and lemonade, but there are other inns that provide those just as well.

  • Liked — breakfast, lemonade
  • Disliked — price gauging
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bard0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renceta, owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2008
We reconfirmed with these guests two months before they arrived and made sure that they were aware that holidays and Heritage Days have a surcharge. I wish that the guests had asked for a referral to a less expensive inn because our bed and breakfast association shares availability information. We happily give out this information. There were rooms available at other inns if they had asked. On that weekend, I had made a point to arrange a special tour for my guests to see the Union Cavalry arrive at the Civil War reenactment. I took most of my guests out early and we spent the morning visiting a Revolutionary War cemetery, an 18th Century church, and watching 200 uniformed horsemen march through the farmland north of Gettysburg. It was an amazing sight, a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Some of my guests hurried to the reenactment and declined the tour, so I didn't spend as much time with them. If any of our guests want to spend time with me, I would like to encourage them to tell the staff. I enjoy my guests and enjoy spending time with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Our stay at Battlefied B&B was a total emersion into the history of the Civil War and the impact the battle of Gettysburg had on the people, property and the economy of Gettysburg. Where else would one hear an informative lecture in history while sittlng in a cozy B&B? Only at Battlefield B&B.

The food is delicious and the host helped us feel at home. Her depth of knowledge about the battle added to our understaning of the historical significance of the battle of Gettysburg. She offers well constructed themes that drew us into the time and place of the battle.

I highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

The problems that we had with this place centered mostly on the bathroom. There was carpeting through out the bath which we found a bit repulsive. The tub/shower was a bit dirty when we checked in and it took great skill to coax any hot water out of the tap. They didn't even provide tissues . The room itself was cute. However, it was not indicated to us previously by the web site that there are no in room tv sets. The last complaint is that the walls are so thin you can hear everything in the other rooms...and I mean everything. The staff was friendly and the food was excellent. However, I would not return.

  • Liked — The food was great
  • Disliked — The bathroom was a bit disgusting
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PineNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renceta, owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2007
We thank the guest who made these comments. We agree that this room needed updating in 2006. The bath was redecorated more than a year ago, correcting all these problems. We removed the bathroom carpet and made some other improvements in that bathroom, including replacing the shower head. Since our focus is Civil War history and a country experience, we have not installed televisions in all of our rooms. Many of our history-minded guests appreciate this. We do have a portable television by request. We also have a comfortable television area in the parlor with a new large-screen TV. We solicit guest feedback with every visit and address problems in a timely manner. We hope that this guest gives us another try. We are improving every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

I found a link to this B&B when we were planning our first ever trip to Gettysburg. What a gem of a find! We LOVED the quiet, relaxing atmosphere, very enjoyable after trekking around the battlefield and monuments all day. The morning history lessons even prompted our teenager to get up each morning! In addition to the knowledge of the staff, we enjoyed the interaction with the other guests; sharing historical knowledge and present life stories.
What a Wonderful place to stay! We will be recommending it to anyone we know, and when we return to Gettysburg, we will definitely include Battlefield Bed and Breakfast!

  • Liked — The History lessons, the TERRIFIC Breakfasts, Relaxation, Close to the Visitor center
  • Disliked — Our bed - just because it wasn't what we are used to
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NHhistorybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.0 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#16 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing