We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
$116
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$104
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$130
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1863 Inn of Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gettysburg Hotel(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$179
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$93
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodges at Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$127
$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
318
47
6
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
318
47
6
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnmorning historytack roomhistory lessonghost storiescivil wareach morningb bcookiesroot beerlocal historiancats roaminghideaway roompre breakfastbreakfast was deliciouswedding venuebeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 379 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

From the beginning of your stay you will feel like you have come to the home of a close friend. The rooms are warm and inviting. The staff go beyond being kind and helpful by offering advice and recommendations to the local attractions and restaurants.

There is a ghost story time with the owner, Florence each night at 8pm. She dresses in full costume and tells you about the different ghosts by introducing their stories in splendor.

Each morning there is a historian that will tell you all about the Gettysburg battle. We found that Jerry was the best. He is a true historian that really brought a plethora of knowledge. Breakfast is served right after the history lesson and so the discussion may continue.

Food: The breakfasts are wonderful as are the late afternoon cookies and lemonade. Coffee was not good, but they do have a Keurig available so I stuck to that....sorry, I am a coffee snob.

Grounds: The B&B has beautiful grounds and there are animals galore if you are so inclined to meet them. It is a nice stroll to walk around the pond on the property.

The Inn: It was very homey and open. There are two pianos - one which was made in the early 1800s and has a very interesting story attached to it. Just ask Florence. There is an inviting parlor and costumes to dress up in if you are so inclined. There is also a room where they have several games. Each room has a tv with direct tv and wifi is free throughout the inn.

The inn is VERY quiet and away from downtown but within 1 mile of the battlefield. The other high point is that all the rooms have a lot of privacy - they aren't next to each other.

This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. All B&Bs should be modeled after this one. And we weren't surprised that many of the other guests had been there many times before. Overall, if you are staying in Gettysburg - this is the only place I would stay!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SNJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I along with our youngest daughter stayed in the General Merritt Suite on December 15, 2013, for a 25th anniversary celebration. It was our sixth time staying at the inn, and our second time staying in the General Merritt Suite. The suite was just as beautiful as we remembered, and the gas fireplace so warm and cozy.
It was our first time staying in December, and the inn was decorated so beautifully from top to bottom with the loveliest Christmas decorations. Snow had fallen outside the night before, and it was just breathtaking.
The history lesson was simply amazing, and the breakfast was absolutely incredible. Never have we ever had nothing less than a perfect stay while on any of our visits to the inn. Florence, Bill and the staff go out of their way to make everyone who stays there to feel so welcome and comfortable. Just a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The General Merritt Suite is perfect for couple traveling with children. The second bedroom is not far away from the master, but not too close either to allow for privacy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoraL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a lovely two nights at his lovely bed and breakfast. We had a late reservation so we did not get a choice on rooms. Our room was above the kitchen and it became rather loud early in the morning when they cooked breakfast. It was a delicious breakfast. It is reportedly a haunted location as many are said to be in Gettysburg. I do believe it is but not in a bad way, we heard strange sounds of people walking the halls all night of our first night. It is nothing to be concerned about though. We would stay again absolutely. Just in a different room, ours was the Texas infantry room. They treated our dogs as they were part of the family and they guests had several there while we were staying. Bed was comfortable. A great place to spend a fantastic weekend.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenerol, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I will speak with the breakfast staff and remind them to be more mindful of the guests near the kitchen. We need to know so I'm glad you mentioned this. Hopefully, it won't be a problem in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Battlefield B&B and we very pleaded! The kids cannot wait to return, and that certainly says something. From the minute we arrived until the time we left, everyone was very friendly, helpful and pleasant. I cannot say enough about the staff!
The location is one the battlefield and the grounds are wonderful. Note that you must drive 5 minutes to town there really is nothing within walking distance. The last day, our 10-year-old tired himself out running around and spent most of our drive home sleeping. There is a pond and lots of grass, along with a barn that was used as a hospital during the war. On Friday nights, there are ghost stories in the parlor. Each morning for an hour before breakfast there is a presentation on some aspect of the war - interesting for kids and adults. The kids even got to shoot a musket one morning. One morning, however, the lecturer was a no-show and several people were disappointed.
We stayed in Reilly's and there is plenty of room in two rooms for our family of four. It's right off the dining room and accessible without having to climb stairs.
Our kids were looking for other young ones to play and didn't see any when we first arrived. However, as my son was listening to my daughter play the piano in the dining room, he saw a little girl. Turns out there were NONE staying at the inn that night, but we were told that a neighbor girl from a nearby farm would stop by occasionally, even though she had passed on many, many years ago. My son was thrilled to see Rebecca!
Breakfast was absolutely delicious! Portions were large and filling. First day we had French toast, 2nd was biscuits with sausage gravy and eggs, and the third was a veggie frittata

We highly recommend staying at the Battlefield and will definitely return in the future!

Room Tip: Reilly,s North Carolina is great for families!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenerol, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We do enjoy families. We make it a point to consider the needs of all our guests and I'm glad that the children had a good time. We rarely have a morning without a history program, so if for some reason, the historian has to cancel at the last minute, you are welcome to stop by on a different morning for a "make-up."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent our Honeymoon this past September (2013) in Gettysburg and stayed in the Swan Cottage of this B&B. Not only were the breakfasts delicious, but we had the added comfort of having our two dogs with us. Even though this B&B is pet friendly, you wouldn't know it by tell-tale signs of former four-legged visitors' fur balls left behind. The Swan Cottage was immaculately clean and, thankfully, our two "kids" were very well-behaved and stayed off the furniture and on their blankies we brought with us. If you're a pet lover in need of a get-away, the Battlefield B&B is the place for you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghostchick1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews