We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay at the Gettysburg Battlefield” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watkinsville,georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The place to stay at the Gettysburg Battlefield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and just returned from a three day trip to Gettysburg and the Battlefield. We stayed at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast and could not have found a more friendly and quaint place to stay near the Battlefield. Each morning they provide a hour historic discussion with a very informed individual...these discussions were a prelude to an exciting day at the battlefield. Next the B&B served a fabulous breakfast
The rooms where very clean and quite. Again the staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the entire area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hart's Artillery room, which consisted a very comfortable double bed with a can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    39
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
102
121
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We made a last minute decision to visit Gettysburg over the spring break and wanted a fun place to stay. This place was perfect for us as it was especially kid and pet-friendly. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel right at home. After a long day of driving and touring, we had fun taking pictures as we tried on the Civil War era clothes in the family room. Our room, the Tack Room, was beautiful! What a treat to wake up to horses at our porch door! The history lesson before breakfast was an extra that made the experience even more meaningful. Breakfast couldn't have been more delicious. It's a little out of the downtown area but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandcrab710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! The property is beautiful. Lots of room to roam. The rooms are comfy,clean & well equipped. The staff is awesome! They're very friendly & went above & beyond to make sure we were happy. The breakfasts were yummy & almost too pretty to eat. Morning history programs are a great touch. We wil definately will be returning on our next visit to Gettysburg

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in General Merritt's Suite on the night of 30 March, and had a wonderful time. The suite is huge and has two separate bedrooms, with a very large bathroom too. Our small dog had plenty of room to move around, and she really enjoyed seeing the horses and goats on the property. Our morning discussion was about civilians on the battlefield at Gettysburg, peppered with plenty of amusing anecdotes about the townspeople in the early 1860s. Other guests who had stayed here previously had stories of ghost encounters in and around the house. The only spirits that accosted us were of the red wine variety...maybe next time.

Room Tip: Get the Merritt Suite if traveling with children. You'll have two rooms, a shared bathroom, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telmuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

As a Civil War Buff and lover of old, old historical Inns, I couldn't have found a better place to stay while visiting Gettysburg. This 1809 farmhouse has been added on to, creating a bit of a irregular shaped structure and interior but the Union Cavalry officers stayed there on the night of July 3rd, 1863!! Well that's enough for me! I'm sold!! The decor was great and the innkeepers very sociable providing their own stories of past visitors and past history. The family and I stayed in the Merritt suite which is comprised of two separate rooms. Both room were comfortable and provided a restful night. In the morning, I woke up early to come down to the dining room to listen to what I thought would be just another re-enactor. Instead, I spent a good hour clinging to every word of a former curator of a Gettysburg museum who took his rapt audience though the history of the war before and after the battle. Dressed in period costume and with a soldiers "kit" to boot, his reasoning was that we'd hear all we needed in the park itself that day and he was right! A most excellent talk which you should not miss.
Breakfast was delicious served by very sweet ladies who served your every need. I will stay nowhere else on my future trips to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just stayed at the Battlefield B + B on March 25-27. I thought the experience was excellent, as did the two people staying with me. The highlight is that they have history programs in the morning from different guides and history workers in the Gettysburg area. I am not a Civil War buff, but I really enjoyed the insights these people had on the battle. The interesting thing was that you get much information at the battlefield, but the inn's presentations focus on other angles, which gives more of a complete picture of what happened in Gettysburg. We stayed in the 1809 section of the house. That area has an old-time feel, with the exceptions of the TV sets and modern bathrooms and gas fireplaces. Still, we liked those amenities. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food is very good in the morning. The old part of the building has a ghosty feel - creeky steps and other things. We were there for two nights, and one night we went to the Civil war lecture series the inn is doing. The night we participated was on the 13th, 14th, and 15th amendments. The speaker was very knowleable and very friendly. He was a retired judge who does history work in the area. He wanted us to ask questions during the presentation and to share our own insights. We had a nice discussion based on what we had learned at the end of his presentation. We are going back to the inn in the future because of the history focus at the inn. The dress in period dress in the morning, give a history lesson every morning, and have other opportunites for history events at the inn. And, the 1809 house and its barn were there during the battle and used by troops. We recommend the inn.

Room Tip: There are a limited number of rooms in the 1809 section of the inn. We wanted to be in these to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reedybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Oak, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was only here for one day, from the 26th of March until yesterday the 27th then I had to leave earlier then I wanted to meet up with my group. Even still, it was a nice place to stay in and was my first B&B experience. The staff was friendly, the room was nice, and as I walked the grounds yesterday morning before I walked back to where I was heading, they had very nice grounds. I would come back and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.0 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7114
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing