We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, nice quiet location with easy parking. Easy drive to town and the visitors center. We stayed two nights and particularly enjoyed seeing the goats, sheep, ponies and many cats...some friendly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carterry81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    37
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
88
95
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The first night we stayed there the temperature in the room went down to 50. I guess thats why they keep 5 blankets on the bed. Next morning I complained abouth the temperature in the room and they gave us a portable heater. They said someone must have been playing with the thermostat. Next night the room was 90 degrees even after I unplugged the portable heater they gave us. Also the second night our powere went out twice. The people in the adjacent room lost their power at least three times and they also told me the first night their room was also freezing cold. I could not in good faith recommoedn this place to anyone else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JOHNNY3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenerol, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Unfortunately, the heating system had a malfunction the weekend that this guest stayed. We have remedied this with the guest in question. We immediately got help from a heating specialist that we trust. We are now in the process of adding hardwired baseboard heaters to several of our rooms so that the guests can have individual control over their room temperature. This should not happen again. The project should be complete by March 11, 2013. This should not be a concern in the future. Please feel free to give us a call if you have any questions about this episode. Your innkeeper, Florence Tarbox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I have been to Gettysburg several time. This was our first trip with our dog in tow. The Battlefield B&B is the ONLY B&B near Gettysburg that is pet friendly. And they really mean it; responsible pet owners and their pets are fully accomodated. We stayed in the Tack Room, which is seperate from the main farmhouse. Very convenient with direct access to the extensive grounds which were excellent for a walk after the fantastic breakfast. The history lecture before breakfast alone is worth the stay at the Inn. The finishings in the room were tastfully done and there was plenty of room for all our needs. Despite the frigid winter temps the room was toasty and they provided an additional heater to keep the beautifully tiled bathroom warm. The experience was fantastic and we hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmcm2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My dad and I come here a few times a year, and every time it's fantastic. The breakfast is phenomenal, as well as the people you meet during it. The presentations are accurate and entertaining. I love playing with the cats too! If you're thinking of coming to Gettysburg, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband ,14 year old son and I had a wonderful time visiting Gettysburg this past November for the first time. Staying at the historic Inn really made us feel like we had the complete civil war experience! We enjoyed watching a movie in the parlor in the evenings and loved being able to turn on the fireplace in our bedroom on the cold nights we were there and the bed was very comfortable. Everything was very clean, the windows overlooked beautiful property and it was peaceful! In the mornings we didn't mind getting up early to hear the different historians as they were so interesting! The breakfasts were generous and as delicious as they were beautiful, with something different served each day. We have raved about this Inn as well as the whole Gettysburg visit to all our friends and family!! We defintely plan on coming back!

Room Tip: we stayed in General Merrits suite and loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stay here if you want authenticity and a cozy, comfortable feel. The presenters were knowledgeable and personal. We loved eating breakfast each morning while meeting other guests. We met people from as far away as Germany. What a fabulous experience for my 11 year-old son for whom we took the trip. It was a home school civil war field trip. It's the perfect place. I will come back again.

Whitne, Bountiful, UT

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. Take any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our overall experience was wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the service and the staff exceptional.The gourmet breakfasts along with the history discussions over coffee while waiting for breakfast made this very special place even more special. The fact that we could bring our dog along made it perfect. We plan on returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardengirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.0 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#16 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing