We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My dad and I come here a few times a year, and every time it's fantastic. The breakfast is phenomenal, as well as the people you meet during it. The presentations are accurate and entertaining. I love playing with the cats too! If you're thinking of coming to Gettysburg, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    37
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
90
97
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband ,14 year old son and I had a wonderful time visiting Gettysburg this past November for the first time. Staying at the historic Inn really made us feel like we had the complete civil war experience! We enjoyed watching a movie in the parlor in the evenings and loved being able to turn on the fireplace in our bedroom on the cold nights we were there and the bed was very comfortable. Everything was very clean, the windows overlooked beautiful property and it was peaceful! In the mornings we didn't mind getting up early to hear the different historians as they were so interesting! The breakfasts were generous and as delicious as they were beautiful, with something different served each day. We have raved about this Inn as well as the whole Gettysburg visit to all our friends and family!! We defintely plan on coming back!

Room Tip: we stayed in General Merrits suite and loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stay here if you want authenticity and a cozy, comfortable feel. The presenters were knowledgeable and personal. We loved eating breakfast each morning while meeting other guests. We met people from as far away as Germany. What a fabulous experience for my 11 year-old son for whom we took the trip. It was a home school civil war field trip. It's the perfect place. I will come back again.

Whitne, Bountiful, UT

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. Take any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our overall experience was wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the service and the staff exceptional.The gourmet breakfasts along with the history discussions over coffee while waiting for breakfast made this very special place even more special. The fact that we could bring our dog along made it perfect. We plan on returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardengirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are just starting to experience B&B's so we don't have too many places to compare, but we were very happy with our experience at the Battlefield. The room was comfortable and very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and served right on time. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSC104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 days in August 2011 at the Battlefield Bed & Breakfast at Gettysburg , P.A and were thrilled with the experience. We are returning there in November 2012. The accomadations exceeded our expectations and the breakfast was outstanding. The staff is courteous and attentive. They display the knowledge of the Inn and the Hospitality that enhances your time there. Surrounded by the period antique furnishing, the warmth of the rooms, immaculately clean, and the property itself leads to a very restfull stay. I highly reccomend this establishment and my thanks to Florence, the Inn Keeper, for providing the setting for a wonderfull time. We are returning in 2012 with 9 of our friends so that they may share this beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: They are all excellent rooms but if you have mobility issues there are those that are available on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My daughter and I just got back from a weekend in Gettysburg and stayed a night in the beautiful Tack room of the Barn. The exposed beams & stone wall of the barn along with the most comfortable bed made this place my new favorite comfy luxurious getaway spot.

The staff is what makes the place so special. All were accommodating and made you feel right at home. The full breakfast was delicious. And the morning history lesson with Gerry was fascinating.

The grounds were beautiful and well kept. I liked feeling like we were away from it all when actually just a few moments away from all Gettysburg attractions. I plan on returning as soon as possible and look forward to seeing the staff once again.

My only regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanfrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#16 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing