We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This was our second stay at the Battlefield B&B. It was just as much fun as the first time.
The breakfast was delicious and beautifully plated.
The host or hostess are so helpful with directions and special events.
Each morning they have someone speak about different aspects of the Civil War. They make their topic very interesting.
My husband and I took a walk along one of the paths in the back. The groundskeeper told us of two trees in the distance that were there during the war.
We went on Miss Betty's ghost tour which ended back at the barn of the B&B.
My hubby's favorite amenity was when you walk in the door of this establishment they have a Keurig !
We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the older part of the Inn which had great views.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 345 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast and could not have been any happier! The room was comfortable and decorated beautifully. The breakfasts we had were SUPERB and fun and relaxing. Good start to our adventures in and around Gettysburg! The hostess was pleasant and accommodating to our every need. We felt right at home! Loved the Friday night ghost stories and the morning activities. We especially enjoyed the man who played the piano and sang songs from the Civil War era. It gave us an insightful look back in time.
The grounds are beautiful and we took several walks, accompanied by a couple resident kitties to watch over us. We would stay there again in an instant and HIGHLY recommend the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast!

Room Tip: ANY of the rooms are great!!! We were upstairs and it was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was one of the most relaxing and entertaining experience we have had in lodging experience. We have traveled across the USA from Ohio. Our visit to Gettysburg was so fun and educations. And our experience at the Battlefield B&B was above our expectations. The staff is friends, they activities they provide are interesting and the place is immaculate. Very homey and comfortable. We will definately be back when we visit Gettysburg again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithvs220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We've stayed at Battlefield B&B twice now. It is a great place to stay. One morning I went for a walk and met Horace Greeley on the front walkway. The B&B has people come and do presentation before breakfast. The actor playing Horace was in character the whole time. Rooms were nice. One trip we had the "haunted" room. Didn't see any ghosts though. The Inn is just a mile or so south of the battlefield so is close but not too close.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had a delightful visit here. We came to spend 2 days and really see Gettysburg and the new visitor center. This was the perfect place to stay on the ede of the battlefeild in an historic home and sweeping grounds. The owner talked history with us over beakfast after a delightful hour talk from a civil war union soldier in full uniform. Rooms very nice, food good but for us it was the sense of being right there--a part of the history we came for.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrudyMcFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My paddymac from Ireland and myself spent 2 lovely nights at this B & B [20 Nov 2011 - 22 Nov 2011]. We found the B & B and grounds very charming and the staff very hospitable. Not to mention, the breakfast spread was awesome. I'd give the French Toast served on our first day rave reviews. The house had a very cozy atmosphere, despite the rumors of ghosts! The Harts Artillery Room was very nice and had a great canopy bed (also very comfortable). To our surprise, we were the only guests on our first night (Sunday night). The host offered to stay on site if we were uncomfortable with this, but we thought we might catch some ghosts so were fine being on our own. Unfortunately no sightings to report.... The gentleman who gave us our history lesson in the morning was fantastic and even let my paddy fire a blank from a musket. I would definitely stay at this B & B again as the experience was unique and authentic. The location is good as well, just a short drive to downtown and the visitor center. Our visit to Gettysburg was made more memorable because we stayed at this B & B! Highly recommed and be sure to say hello to the animals in the barn. The donkey was great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24_Smushing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This place was great. It's just on the outskirts of where thousands of men fought each other during the three day battle during the Civil War. The rooms are very quaint. The dining room is beautiful and the rest of the house is just great. We woke up both mornings to a one hour history talk about the war followed by a fantastic breakfast. The talks were wonderful and very informative. Things you can't find in a book. Our host Bill who works at the place, made us feel welcome from the second we walked in the door. The whole staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations. The Inn is very convenient for touring the battlefields and town of Gettysburg. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. I got the best nights sleep I had in a long time. There is just one important thing you should know. This place is pet friendly. I love dogs so it didn't bother me in the least that on our first night there were five dogs running around the place. I actually had fun playing with one of them. Some of the dogs felt the need to jump up on the sofa and hang out with the rest of us. If you hate dogs, this might not be the place for you.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms were nice and quiet especially if you wanted to call it a day a little early.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyfdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,548 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
887 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7114
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $198 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing