We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$114
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1863 Inn of Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gettysburg Hotel(Gettysburg)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Days Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$135
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodges at Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$149
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
324
48
6
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
48
6
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnmorning historytack roomhistory lessonghost storiescivil wareach morningcookiesroot beerlocal historiancats roaminghideaway roompre breakfastbreakfast was deliciouswedding venuebeautiful propertyother guests
Filter
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 386 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Agree wholeheartedly with all the recent good reviews! The inn exudes warmth and relaxation in a wonderful rural historic atmosphere in the huge national park, along the battlefield touring route - much better than being in crowded, touristic town! We'd been worried that families would be disruptive, but all the kids we met were interesting, interested and delightful. The morning history lesson with a reenactor (and former US marine) was a real treat - worth getting up early for! - food was great, special food needs cheerfully catered to - and advice cheerful exchanged among table companions; one felt part of a temporary but very real community. Yeah, the bathroom fixtures are old - it's more the traditional-style B&B, not the chi-chi kind prevalent now; but our total experience was so great that we recommend unreservedly to anyone who thinks a rack of costumes available for guests in a livingroom full of antiques (plus a piano & guitar) trumps designer towels any day. (PS: We have pet allergies, but the farm cats are all outside, and staff washed our comforter before we arrived in case a visiting dog had lain on it.)

Room Tip: Hart's Artillery small; stow stuff in large closet. Bathroom doors thin, hear guests next door. But gorgeous room, great bed.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrandTour111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Had a really great time here. Truely a bed and breakfast with awesome service. Kid friendly, but very quiet. The house is very nice and the rooms spacious. The food was great (cookies in the afternoon), drinks available 24 hours a day and a wonderful breakfast. They even bring in a historian each morning before breakfast t discuss the civil war. It was a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smtowncop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Recently completed a four-night stay at the Battlefield B & B, and couldn't wait to write a review. What a wonderful stay! We stayed in the General Merritt suite, which was beautiful and comfy and quiet. The breakfasts were unbelievable, and the other guests a pleasure (which is not always true in a B & B). The historical presentations each morning were a highlight -- one couple at our table said this was their favorite part of the entire trip to Gettysburg.

I'm usually hard to please, so there must be a negative, right? It's very hard to come up with anything bad to say about this B & B. It's a bit out of the way -- but that puts it far from the crowded tourist zone. It's allegedly haunted -- but that adds to its historical charm. There's a dozen cats roaming the grounds -- and my wife found one she wanted to pack in her suitcase and bring home. OK, the bathroom's not too deluxe and the shower is a bit weak -- did I mention we stayed in the part of the house that is nearly 200 years old! Did I also mention that this 200 year-old house was the only lodging on our entire vacation that offered free wireless access?

All in all, a top-notch experience. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sola7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast on March 18-20, 2011. This made our fourth visit there since our first visit in November, and our second time staying in Reilly's North Carolina Artillery Suite. It has a lovely queen-sized bed with the backdrop of a stone wall from the original 1806 farmhouse. It had an adjoining bedroom with two twin beds; which was perfect for our pre-teen daughters.

This was our first time experiencing the Friday night ghost stories, and it was a very enjoyable and entertaining experience. The entire experience has been absolutely perfect every time we have stayed there. If you are looking for a relaxing experience with immaculately clean rooms, an incredible morning history lesson, delicious breakfast and wonderful, dedicated staff, this is the place to stay! We will certainly be going back again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoraL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

My wife and I only stayed one night here but I wish we had stayed longer.

Just in the house alone there is so much to do. There are pianos, games, costumes you can try on, a nice dining area, cats, books, artifacts, ghost stories, history lessons, etc.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating (they'll ask you if you have any food allergies or any other preferences during your stay).

The property is well-situated location-wise, as well. It's far enough off the road that you don't hear any traffic going by and getting back on the main road to go to Gettysburg and all the other sights is convenient as well.

Some of the rooms look a bit dated--as they should! This is after all, an OLD HOUSE, not a Marriott hotel built in 2010. It never fails to irk me when people complain about how old or worn a B&B or house is when they obviously never take into consideration the history of the place. It's hard enough getting a 1960s house up to year 2000 standards, one can only commend the efforts at doing the same for a house built in the 1800s.
Anyways, the room was comfortable, as was the bed. The gas fireplace worked and was easy to turn on and off. Despite the B&B being almost completely booked for the weekend, full with dogs and children, there was plenty of peace and quiet in our room.

I really felt at home and relaxed here and would definitely recommend this B&B to others who are going to Gettysburg for the first time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james09173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews