We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three strikes your out” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Havertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three strikes your out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have stayed at the Gettysburg Hotel three times and three times the bathrooms have unclean with hairs in the sinks, hairs in the jacuzzis and dirty floors. We can not stay again in a hotel where they even clean the rooms!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kml63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We appreciate your comments related to your experiences with us. I’m very sorry that our accommodations didn’t meet your expectations during each stay. Typically our rooms score very high marks for cleanliness in satisfaction surveys - so you can imagine our disappointment when we read that that we missed that mark with you. Again, I’m truly sorry about this. I’ve shared your review with our housekeeping team and we are reviewing their inspection processes to be sure we continue to provide consistently spotless rooms for our guests.

For those conducting research on TripAdvisor (and all our guests of course,) I encourage you to call our front desk immediately if the condition of the room is unsatisfactory upon arrival. Surfacing your concerns promptly with our front desk allows our team to make it right so you may enjoy the duration of your stay. You’ll rest better in the comfort of knowing everything in your room is “just right” and our team can enjoy the satisfaction of providing a great experience.

Kml63, I understand by the review title that this may be our third strike; however I do hope we get another at bat next time you’re travels bring you to Gettysburg. I’m confident our team can hit it out of the park.

Chuck Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    311
    124
    33
    13
See reviews for
320
367
22
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel exudes history. The rooms, however, are very 21st century. The hotel staff cheerful and helpful. The one site restaurant is a very good one, probably the best in Gettysburg. Very good lunch and dinner menu and service. We would highly recommend this hotel when you visit Gettysburg. The location of this hotel cannot be beat...on the historic Gettysburg Square.

Room Tip: If you want a room in the "historic" part of the hotel you need to ask for it when making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikerbabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmdc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This updated hotel right on the main square (circle?) in Gettysburg, PA, is very pleasant. The room I stayed in was very large and updated, with a very comfy bed and nice fixtures. The staff was all very helpful, and the catering service provided for our onsite meetings was good (great staff, mediocre pastries and fruit). I liked being right in the middle of town.

My only complaints: 1) The television service: the cable system does not provide a guide for its programming, and the remote in my room was tough to operate, it was very old. 2) The parking situation is also a bit annoying - you have to pay to park in a garage behind the hotel on an hourly basis, without in-and-out privileges or a flat per-day rate. You'd think they could work out a deal for guests with the garage owner.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel (think bars and restaurants) are good, stay away from elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

When I made my reservations I told them that were coming to the hotel on our honeymoon. Upon arriving the front desk congratulated us and they gave us a room on the corner of the hotel looking down on Lincoln Square. Through out our stay the staff was friends and extremely helpful. Our hotel room was very large and housekeeping kept it spotless. The hotel is in a great location to restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: There is no parking for the hotel so you will have to pay $15.00 per day to park in the public parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelingwvgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Right in the centre of town with easy parking at rear (to be paid for). Short simple drive to battlefields. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Room spacious and clean. We were not disturbed by noise at all which has been commented on by some reviewers. Very pleasant lounge to sit and read in the evening but disappointed with restaurant - poor vegetarian meal and my husband's chicken, though tasty, was rather cool. No atmosphere either. Give the restaurant a miss!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently and loved it. The hotel was very neat and clean and the receptionist was pleasant and accommodating. We stayed in the Governor Casey Suite which was beautiful. The fireplace added a nice touch to the room and definitely came in handy when it got chilly at night. The hotel is situated right in the middle of town which is perfect for exploring the town on foot. There are a few great restaurants and stores right in the area of the hotel. Plus, the hotel is close to the battlefield and other historic sites. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone visiting the Gettysburg area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is located right in the circle in the center of town. For this reason, it's a great spot for walking to shops and restaurants. You will have to drive to the battlefield and other spots close to the battlefield. However, the location also means that there will be some noise from pedestrians walking and cars. The beds were comfy and the room was clean. Parking is close by buy charged at a daily rate if you leave the car, but an hourly rate if you take the car out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if you require quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktaylork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing