We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodations, good location”
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good accommodations, good location”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel, which has been beautifully refurbished with a great new bar and restaurant, faces the traffic circle in the center of town and there is traffic about 22 hours a day. We had a mini-suite in a new wing on a side street facing a dive bar and a 24 hour diner. The soundproofing was unable to cope with the sound of customers talking in the street, but added to that it was biker's week and the noise from the constantly revving Harleys made sleep impossible. We were able to move to a room on the inside of the building on the second night, but other guests were not so lucky. Our advice: find out when biker's week is and don't go unless you're joining the riders - the sound of the bikes circulating the town is inescapable, even at the battlefield.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pudding24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    347
    136
    36
    18
See reviews for
370
396
26
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel was clean, with well appointed rooms, and friendly staff. Staying right downtown, allows you to walk around the square, do a bit of shopping, enjoy one of the many restaurants or cafe's downtown without having to get in your car. Easy drive to all the historical sights. Roof top pool was refreshing - and we enjoyed the restaurant attached to hotel. The lobby has a beautiful seating area that you can enjoy watching over the square. I am surprised this hotel is not in top 5 to stay at in Gettysburg as it felt like a boutique hotel to us. Our room was spacious, with a separate bedroom and living area. We had a small bar fridge that we were able to stock with breakfast and lunch items. Great stay. You do have to pay for parking but it was convenient and right behind the hotel. This is not uncommon for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have you walked around the square? Popped into every little shop? Need a few minutes to refresh yourself? Get thee to the bar at the Gettysburg Hotel and relax. We made new friends, learned about the hot issues in town and how tourism affects everyone's bottom line. It was the perfect middle-of-the-day stop and gave us just the lift needed to keep our fun-seeking selves going.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel, large well appointed rooms, great location, they will validate parking in the garage. We stayed 2 nights during the Reenactments (July 5 and 6) and this was the perfect hotel. You can walk to almost everything or catch one of the free bus lines. The main transportation center is just behind the hotel. The restaurant and bar are very good. We ate breakfast there 2 mornings and dinner one evening - both were fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel! One funny thing is we were in room 702, but there is no 7th floor. It is actually an annex with a separate elevator. Staff very courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Overall, our stay was a pleasant one. The pool is small. There is no on-site parking. You must use the indoor parking garage behind the hotel, and you have to pay for it. The package we bought stated we would get 1 dinner & 1 breakfast, for 2. We weren't told when we booked it, that it was a voucher TOWARDS breakfast & dinner, so we wound up adding money to it. We would have been better off not getting the package. The hotel is very clean, and the staff are very friendly & helpful. Location is great for walking all around the historic town.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask a LOT of questions before you book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrickGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I recently spent two nights at the Gettysburg Hotel on a business trip. The hotel has been renovated but has retained it's historic feel. My room was generously sized with a large modern bathroom and jetted bathtub. The hotel is located on the busy circle in the center of town and is very close to shops and restaurants. The hotel is owned by Gettysburg College and is within easy walking distance of the College and the beautiful campus-well worth the walk. Also, the adjoining Majestic Theatre has been renovated and it is certainly worth viewing one of the unique movie presentations if time permits. There is a parking garage for a modest daily fee. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Overall, the Gttysburg hotel seems to clearly be one of the best choices for lodging especially if you want a historic feel since many of the other hotels are typical of what you find at most destinations and are located on the outskirts of Gettysburg.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here in the spring over Mother's Day weekend and were pleased with this hotel. The hotel was recently remodeled and has a nice boutique hotel feel. The Gettysburg Hotel offers the best location to experience the historic town of Gettysburg. For Lincoln history buffs, the David Wills House is across the street from the hotel. It is the house where Lincoln spent the night before the Gettyburg Address. A good diner (the Lincoln Diner) is a block down the hill. Note: Get details on the special dinners at the hotel before attending. The Mother's Day buffet had a corporate feel to it. It was buffet style in the ballroom. Enjoy the local restaurants instead. There was good bar food at the attached restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,505 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing