We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, friendly "boutique" hotel”
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

located right on Gettysburg square, picture perfect. restaurant and bar with good energy and good food. rooms immaculate and quiet. happy hour included free punch and cookies, the area's most and probably only upscale choice. loved it!

Room Tip: had very quiet, beautiful room located in "new wing"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momwifesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Gettysburg on June 21 & 22 2013. Right in the middle of Lincoln Square, no better place to be, than slap dab in the middle of a great historical town!!! When we arrived it was really crowed. But they were fast and very polite at the same time. They had a great restaurant, and bar. The help staff was very good. The rooms were great, clean and spacious. There is so much history in this hotel, I just loved it. We will come again and stay a bit longer, as to enjoy the town itself. The people of Gettysburg were so friendly as were the people at the winery we visited while staying in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 211 w/no view, but had a great room, quiet and cool! I would suggest to tell them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tercost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hardest pillows I've ever slept on, no computer in the lobby, smells old, but is clean. The icing on the cake was when the power went out on Sunday morning. No refund of any kind even considered. Booked it b/c of the location, would not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Margaret W, thank you for sharing your review of our hotel with us and fellow TripAdvisor members. We’re disappointed that your experience with us exceptional from check-in to check-out and very sorry for any inconveniences that the power outage in Gettysburg may have caused you during your stay.

We’d be remiss if we didn't take the opportunity clarify an inaccurate statement from your review for future TripAdvisor readers. Our lobby does feature a computer with Internet access and printing capabilities which is conveniently located adjacent to our front desk. We also offer a large 42” touch screen device that provides local area information, maps and directions for our guests.

Each of our associates strives to provide exceptional customer service and accommodations; so we’re terribly disappointed to read that your stay wasn't magnificent. If you would like to further discuss your recent stay with us, please contact Rooms Manager Michael Taylor by calling the hotel directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

In center of town, plenty of places to eat, clean, very helpful staff, priced right. There is street noise in the front rooms, but it didn't bother us with the AC on. Be sure to have breakfast at the Lincoln Diner....

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor. King rooms have a queen pull out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarnBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel and the staff here. The hotel was clean, historic and just charming. The continental breakfast was super yummy. No complaints about anything. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Gettysburg. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

You can't find a better location for a hotel in Gettysburg. The building is beautiful and the rooms are large and nicely decorated. The attached restaurant is open late and has a nice menu. Parking is not attached to the hotel, but it is a short walk away and isn't that expensive ($10/day).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Love this hotel. All remodeled since our last visit and they've done an outstanding job. From the welcome when we checked in (Krissy was adorable), to the cleanliness of the rooms, to the appetizers and drinks on their new cafe patio (where the manager stopped by our table to chat--nice touch), we were impressed. The location is the best in Gettysburg; prices VERY reasonable; parking for $10/day right behind the hotel very convenient. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRuhstaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
894 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $116 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing