We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, amenities and customer service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location, amenities and customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Love this hotel. All remodeled since our last visit and they've done an outstanding job. From the welcome when we checked in (Krissy was adorable), to the cleanliness of the rooms, to the appetizers and drinks on their new cafe patio (where the manager stopped by our table to chat--nice touch), we were impressed. The location is the best in Gettysburg; prices VERY reasonable; parking for $10/day right behind the hotel very convenient. We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRuhstaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    311
    124
    33
    13
See reviews for
320
366
22
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel was wonderful! We stayed for two nights in room 508. As other reviewers had said, the street is noisy, but downtown Gettysburg is where many major streets connect (that's one of the reasons the battle happened here). We simply turned on the ac fan all night. The location is perfect! A free town shuttle will take you to the visitor center and battlefields and you can walk to tons of shops and restaurants.

The hotel is historic, although it has gone through many renovations and a fire over the years, so it's not original. In fact it has many modern conveniences, including a gas fireplace in our room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Prior to arriving, we spent the entire day touring Gettysburg and walking the historic district and dining at the Dobbins House Tavern. Enjoyed many conversations with incredible people we met.
So, we got to the hotel and I want to say that the front desk staff was pleasant, however, may have been inexperienced, or at the end of their shift, because as we are checking in, i felt i had to draw out information such as; where the parking was (public garage behind the hotel), where the fitness room was (in the basement level), and we had to ask for an area map (never offered to us). What ever the case, this over shadowed the beauty of the hotel and the fantastic location.
Another item about the front desk was while we had reserved a room with two doubles/ when we got to the room was a dbl and a pull out couch, went back to the front desk, and they immediately gave us a two dbl.
I would think that this year and so close to the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg, that the service would be 5 star- unfortunately not.

Room Tip: Street view, best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ckstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the hotel the weekend of Gettysburg's tree lighting ceremony. We enjoyed it so much, it will now be an annual tradition for us. The hotel is very nice. Our room was upgraded - 2 rooms - bedroom w/separate sitting area. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff in the hotel was very accomodating even though they were swamped w/a meeting. The hotel bar (also a small restaurant) is gorgeous. The woodwork in there is amazing. We did enjoy brunch at the hotel w/no complaints. The waiter/waitress took very good care of us. The evening of the tree lighting there was a children's choral group singing on our front steps - so festive - then followed by a parade and the lighting. A great weekend over all. Can't wait to back next December!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgoody87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

OK, the room was very comfortable and clean, However, we were dismayed by the breakfast buffets for our group - indifferent fruit compote and eggs/bacon; one day they had to scrounge up an english muffin.

Also we were astounded that there was no DVD player in our room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt-mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this historic hotel right in the heart of Gettysburg. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. The staff we met were on the whole very good although we did have to remind the front desk that our room had not been serviced (at 6pm!) however it had been done when we returned from dinner.
We ate lunch in the hotel's restaurant, service was reasonably prompt and the food good. On the whole a good base to explore this historic area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minstermen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

In November 2012 I took 40 guests to a dinner ball at the hotel Gettysburg. The food was so bad at the banquet that we ordered pizza out in the lobby from Domino's. The next morning in the main dining room food was equally as bad. I cannot believe that they could do such a job on eggs!

The hotel is now under new management since then and I was asked to go back and try it again. I went there in June 1 of this year to their new restaurant One Lincoln. It took two hours and 30 minutes to be served a simple chicken salad wrap I had 12 guests in my party and all waited as long for their food. one woman wasn't even served and when her meal finally arrived the manager offered her a free dessert. I don't have to tell you where she told him to put that dessert! Also I cannot finish this review without commenting on how the new management team absolutely destroyed the ambience of the hotel This is a grand old hotel which sits on the Square of one of America's most historic towns they have modernized it! All of the furniture belongs on Star Trek! It was like taking the mouse out of Mount Vernon! Overall I will never return, nor will my guests. Shame on you Hotel Gettysburg!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing