We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this historic hotel right in the heart of Gettysburg. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. The staff we met were on the whole very good although we did have to remind the front desk that our room had not been serviced (at 6pm!) however it had been done when we returned from dinner.
We ate lunch in the hotel's restaurant, service was reasonably prompt and the food good. On the whole a good base to explore this historic area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minstermen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    316
    126
    33
    13
See reviews for
330
369
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

In November 2012 I took 40 guests to a dinner ball at the hotel Gettysburg. The food was so bad at the banquet that we ordered pizza out in the lobby from Domino's. The next morning in the main dining room food was equally as bad. I cannot believe that they could do such a job on eggs!

The hotel is now under new management since then and I was asked to go back and try it again. I went there in June 1 of this year to their new restaurant One Lincoln. It took two hours and 30 minutes to be served a simple chicken salad wrap I had 12 guests in my party and all waited as long for their food. one woman wasn't even served and when her meal finally arrived the manager offered her a free dessert. I don't have to tell you where she told him to put that dessert! Also I cannot finish this review without commenting on how the new management team absolutely destroyed the ambience of the hotel This is a grand old hotel which sits on the Square of one of America's most historic towns they have modernized it! All of the furniture belongs on Star Trek! It was like taking the mouse out of Mount Vernon! Overall I will never return, nor will my guests. Shame on you Hotel Gettysburg!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This recently renovated 1797 hotel was splendid. We booked the Civil War experience package with an extra night. It was perfect. We were able to utilize every feature of the package.
The guest room( that was on the backside of hotel -no noise) was fresh and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. We dined in the restaurant for breakfast and it was delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location of this hotel makes it an easy walk to all the downtown has to offer,and keep in mind you are staying in a piece of Gettysburg history. I would highly recommend this hotel and that's coming from one picky traveler!

Room Tip: I guess by others comments, the rear of the building. Our room was in rear of building, so not alot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed two nights in this lovely hotel in the historic downtown square. The interior seemed brand new, but the historic charms of the old hotel remain. Cheerful, efficient staff made us welcome from the start, and the downtown location led to pleasant walking to the several excellent nearby restaurants and shops. The battlefield sites and museums are easy to reach from the hotel's convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayco23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, IL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for one night. The very recent renovations seem to have been done well, with a couple of notable exceptions.
First, the windows were not replaced and are a bit old, so the unrelenting traffic noise coming in from the lovely square is pretty annoying. Second, the a/c units ( which I assume are new) are programmed in a way that does not permit the temperature to be set below 68 degrees. I prefer cooler temps for sleeping and found this a bit odd. The explanation given was that other wise these (again, presumably new) units freeze up.
The positives included a very comfortable bed, a nice and very clean bathroom and good complimentary w-fi.
Breakfast was quite good while dinner was average.
The location is awesome, really the best spot in town, and that needs to be balanced against the noise and a/c issues. I used earplugs and slept OK.
Folks considering the hotel will need to decide if the a/c issue is a problem for them.
As others have commented on, there is no info in the room about the hotel amenities. So you have to discover for yourself that there's a pool, a fitness center, coffee in the morning, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimParkRidge_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked a 2-night package through AAA at the Gettysburg Hotel, which included: a suite with jacuzzi, 2 breakfasts, 1 dinner, tickets to the Museum at the Visitor Center for two days, a CD tour of the battlefield and a Ghost Tour. The room was lovely and overlooked Lincoln Square. The only issue was the noise level at night from the truck traffic. Gettysburg is now, as it was during the Civil War, a hub for many roads and they all meet at the round-about in front of the hotel, which makes the traffic noise inevitable but annoying. The breakfasts were quite good, the dinner even better. The suite was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Parking is in a parking garage behind the hotel. The garage is apparently not owned by the hotel so there is a fee which, if your tickets are validated at the front desk, will not be more than $7.95/day. At times there was only one person at the front desk, making the validation of the parking ticket take longer than it should, but the staff was courteous and knowledgeable. It was a good experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneaks_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked the Jacuzzi suite and this room has 3 windows 20 feet high which are obscured by a wall. You feel like you're in a cavern with minimal natural light, so much so that when you leave the room and go downstairs to the lobby, you would be surprised to discover if it is day or night., This actually happened to us the first day. There is no safe in the room.
The following was our review to the hotel.
Location is best in town. There was no amenities booklet in the room i.e. did not know there was a fitness center and did not know until check out that there was coffee in the lobby in the mornings as we would have taken advantage of this... Also room 701 has no windows that you can look out of and is extremely dark and claustrophobic this information should be provided when booking as we would have chosen a different room. Also no room service???

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing