We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully renovated historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed two nights in this lovely hotel in the historic downtown square. The interior seemed brand new, but the historic charms of the old hotel remain. Cheerful, efficient staff made us welcome from the start, and the downtown location led to pleasant walking to the several excellent nearby restaurants and shops. The battlefield sites and museums are easy to reach from the hotel's convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayco23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    245
    91
    23
    10
See reviews for
237
272
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for one night. The very recent renovations seem to have been done well, with a couple of notable exceptions.
First, the windows were not replaced and are a bit old, so the unrelenting traffic noise coming in from the lovely square is pretty annoying. Second, the a/c units ( which I assume are new) are programmed in a way that does not permit the temperature to be set below 68 degrees. I prefer cooler temps for sleeping and found this a bit odd. The explanation given was that other wise these (again, presumably new) units freeze up.
The positives included a very comfortable bed, a nice and very clean bathroom and good complimentary w-fi.
Breakfast was quite good while dinner was average.
The location is awesome, really the best spot in town, and that needs to be balanced against the noise and a/c issues. I used earplugs and slept OK.
Folks considering the hotel will need to decide if the a/c issue is a problem for them.
As others have commented on, there is no info in the room about the hotel amenities. So you have to discover for yourself that there's a pool, a fitness center, coffee in the morning, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimParkRidge_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked a 2-night package through AAA at the Gettysburg Hotel, which included: a suite with jacuzzi, 2 breakfasts, 1 dinner, tickets to the Museum at the Visitor Center for two days, a CD tour of the battlefield and a Ghost Tour. The room was lovely and overlooked Lincoln Square. The only issue was the noise level at night from the truck traffic. Gettysburg is now, as it was during the Civil War, a hub for many roads and they all meet at the round-about in front of the hotel, which makes the traffic noise inevitable but annoying. The breakfasts were quite good, the dinner even better. The suite was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Parking is in a parking garage behind the hotel. The garage is apparently not owned by the hotel so there is a fee which, if your tickets are validated at the front desk, will not be more than $7.95/day. At times there was only one person at the front desk, making the validation of the parking ticket take longer than it should, but the staff was courteous and knowledgeable. It was a good experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sneaks_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked the Jacuzzi suite and this room has 3 windows 20 feet high which are obscured by a wall. You feel like you're in a cavern with minimal natural light, so much so that when you leave the room and go downstairs to the lobby, you would be surprised to discover if it is day or night., This actually happened to us the first day. There is no safe in the room.
The following was our review to the hotel.
Location is best in town. There was no amenities booklet in the room i.e. did not know there was a fitness center and did not know until check out that there was coffee in the lobby in the mornings as we would have taken advantage of this... Also room 701 has no windows that you can look out of and is extremely dark and claustrophobic this information should be provided when booking as we would have chosen a different room. Also no room service???

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Haven, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at this hotel & I wouldn't stay anywhere else in gettysburg. The check in was fast & the workers are always friendly. It's the best location for walking around gettysburg. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamericanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Although this is a historical site. Just 1/2 a block from Lincoln Station it had little to
offer in the way of amenities. We booked a room by reservation by the dining area was apparently booked for a large group of people. We had to walk in the rain to another restaurant. When we complained at the front desk we were simply told Sorry About That.
We generally stay at Best Western Hotels even while traveling abroad. The Gettysburg Hotel was a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. Not at all a place that I would recommend. Certainly not for the $250. per night rate

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLW306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review with us and the TripAdvisor community.

We value all feedback we receive as it helps us to constantly improve. That being said, I am very sorry to hear about your experience while staying with us. We strive to make every guests’ stay extraordinary and it’s clear we did not meet those expectations during your stay.

I want to extend an apology on behalf of the hotel and assure you that we have spoken to our front desk associates about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here Memorial Day weekend to celebrate my birthday and it was WONDERFUL!! We had the romantic getaway package and our suite was on the 6th floor. The hotel was much nicer than we expected, the staff was professional and friendly, the accommodations are very comfortable, everything was much better than expected! We previously had booked this package in November and it was a total fiasco and we ended up leaving. Our stay this past weekend definitely made up for it. I had beautiful roses waiting when we stepped into the suite and the champagne was delivered promptly. We had beautiful views of the whole town from our suite and slept wonderful! The only downside was we couldn't stay longer lol. My husband and I are looking forward to returning in the future. Thank you to the management and staff for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tshifflett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing