We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Historical Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Sorry no ghosts, however we stayed in the newer part of the hotel! There was the smell of paint in the hallways, and the floorboards in the actual room creaked.... The weird thing was when I was awoken during the night by my neighbors (I presume) walking in their rooms.... Kinda creepy! Overall a nice place & room. Certainly an ideal location, directly in the square with a parking garage behind the building. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the review Deb! Our renovations have updated the décor of our hotel, but the qualities that make it truly historic and unique certainly remain. Creaky floors and unique architectural details are just some of the charming features found at the heart of every stay at the Historic Gettysburg Hotel that travelers won’t find anywhere else in the area.

I wish you safe travels and do hope you’ll return for another stay with us soon.

Susan Perrothers,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    316
    126
    33
    13
See reviews for
330
369
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
354 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here a week as part of a Road Scholar group from March 24th to the 29th that spent the week studying and exploring sites of the Civil War. Hotel was outstanding. Hotel was just completing a massive upgrade and updating. Very elegant. The outside is very historic (established in 1797), but the inside was brand new. They are now a part of The Historic Hotels of America chain (previously they had been part of Best Western).

My room was spacious, very attractive, and bed was super-comfy, and I particularly appreciated the new heating and air-conditioning system (it snowed 2 inches one day we were here and then turned warm). Room had a brand-new flat screen TV with a great selection. Everything was perfect. Housekeeping was great; room was spotless, even provided extra fancy shampoo! Front desk staff was very nice, friendly and accommodating (allowed a late check-out). Staff was very helpful as to suggestions, directions, etc. Several of the staff inquired as to whether I was happy with the room and could they do anything else to be of service. WOW!

Location cannot be surpassed; right downtown on the square (circle), overlooking the Willis House where Lincoln stayed the night before giving the Gettysburg address. Lots of shops and places to eat nearby, but I mostly ate right there at the Hotel (food was exceptional).

Everyone in our group thought that this was a great place. I particularly appreciated the hi-tech screen adjacent to the lobby that provided driving directions, weather, etc. There was also a PC / business center for those who elected not to bring their own devices. Besides the lobby, the restaurant and bar is attached (which was nice when it was snowing).

While staying here, check out the fancy ballroom and the dining area within the vault (at one time, this place was a bank). Stunning and historic.

Since it is right in town, parking is in a garage right behind the hotel. Staff did an excellent job or explaining how it worked. It was not an issue. Our parking was included, but otherwise costs about $8 a day. Garage was clean and well-lighted.

I highly recommend this place. Frankly, I'm surprised by some of the negative comments on Trip Advisor because our entire group (20 individuals) all thought this was an excellent place, clean, modern and great service. It appears that they have just recently completed an upgrade of the facilities, hired a new chef (food was great) and made other changes to make this a better destination. I will definitely plan to stay here again when I return to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from cars around the circle. Rooms in front have an outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiafromOhio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Cynthia, it was an absolute pleasure to read this thorough review of your week-long stay with us at the Gettysburg Hotel. It’s especially meaningful to get such a positive endorsement and glowing remarks from a seasoned traveler and Trip Advisor Top Contributor.

I’m thrilled that you and your group were pleased with our accommodations and the service you received. Our associates will be beaming from ear to ear when I read this review and acknowledge their hard work at our next staff meeting. Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

I do hope you’ll be able to visit us again soon.

Susan Perrothers,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

At the center of town, close to shops and restaurants; short drive to visitors center/cemetary and battlefield locations. Traveled with adults and children and all were satisfied. The room is adequate - suite with pull out and separate bedroom; two flatscreeen TVs. Roomy enough. You cannot beat the value for a hotel and not a motel in Gettysburg. Rooms on Carlisle Road side are noisy at night - bar across the street and railroad tracks make for late night and early morning traffic noise. Recommend room on inside or facing Lincoln Square. Parking is easy and convenient right behind the hotel in a covered garage. Pool is only outdoor so it wasn't open during our stay. My only complaint (other than outdoor noise coming in) was that the cleaning wasn't as thorough as I would expect - garbage in our room on arrival and lack of attention to detail by cleaning staff. We did not eat at the restaurant. All in all, I would go back again and would recommend The Gettysburg Hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from outside facing rooms on Carlisle Road side of the building (rear).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qualiteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I truly appreciate the honest and objective constructive feedback of Trip Advisor. Thank you for both your positive compliments and also letting us know where we can do better. With feedback like yours we’re able to consistently improve. I hope that you do have an opportunity to return for another say with us so we can earn that extra fifth circle on that review. Safe travels!

Susan Perrothers,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We live in Philadelphia and visit Gettysburg every year for our anniversary. We were very excited to stay at the Gettysburg Hotel this year. We were attracted to its rich history and beauty. Check-in was to be at 4pm so we arrived shortly after 4 on March 28th. We were told our room wasn't ready and the woman behind the front desk had no idea when it would be (she was very non nonchalant about it). We decided to browse the antique store located near the hotel. We returned to the hotel 20 mins later and were told once again that the room still wasn't ready and the woman still didn't know when it would be. We were offered a brochure so we could take a "walking tour" while we waited (we declined--too chilly for a walking tour). We left the hotel yet again and returned 30 mins later. Room still wasn't ready. This time we decided to hang out in the hotel lobby with 2 other couples who were also waiting to check in (their check in was late as well). When we were finally able to check in, we were told we were upgraded to the King Exec Room (we originally booked a King Jr Room). While we certainly appreciated the upgrade, we did not appreciate missing our anniversary dinner reservations because of the late check-in (on the plus side-the room was beautiful). The next morning we discovered that the shower did not work. When we called down to the desk we were told someone would be there within the hour. 2 hours and 3 phone calls later someone finally showed up (the maid also offered to call the front desk for us. She said the hotel is aware there are issues with the shower). The man that came to fix the shower said that the handle was stripped. When he left the shower-head worked but the jet streams still did not. The whole experience was very frustrating. There seems to be a major lack of communication between staff members. We felt as if we did not matter to the employees. We expected to have a wonderful experience/stay at the hotel and were very disappointed. Unfortunately we won’t recommend this hotel to our friends & family who also visit Gettysburg yearly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSalladinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I’m terribly disappointed that our opportunities to impress you were missed. I’ve taken all of your comments and feedback to our division managers and used your experience as a tool to improve our hotel.

I would truly like the opportunity to speak with you directly to discuss your stay. Please contact me at the hotel at your earliest convince.

Susan Perrothers,
General Manager
1-866-378-1797
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed one night, family of 4 (2 teenagers). Appreciated the pull out sofa. Room was a bit crowded, but absolutely loved everything else about this hotel. Especially the convenient location. Nice renovations, friendly staff. Parking was easy, there's a back entrance to the hotel from the parking area. When we return to Gettysburg, we'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Street views are nice but be careful if staying weekend nights as bartime can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank td496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Gettysburg Hotel. The variety of room types and suites we offer make our hotel a very convenient option for family travel and I’m so happy that your family was able to take advantage of our location and amenities.

Susan Perrothers,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

A wonderful experience. Hotel was clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was in a centralized location and made it easy to walk to different places. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momof3kidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for letting us know that your experience with us was a great one! We can’t wait to welcome you back to Gettysburg.

Susan Perrothers,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location in town. The hotel's restaurant was nice, not particularly for small children (we had a 1 yr old with us) but they did accommodate us & were happy to do so. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Shannon, thank you for your Trip Advisor review and posting the photo of our new bedding for other members to see. I also appreciate your comments related to One Lincoln, our new restaurant on Lincoln Square. Traveling with a toddler can present some unique challenges; so our team is always working to make the stay of any guests with a little one as easy and problem-free as possible. I hope you return and visit us again!

Susan Perrothers,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing