We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Beer, horrible service and staff”

Appalachian Brewing Company - Gettysburg Gateway
Ranked #13 of 130 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food and Beer, horrible service and staff”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our waitress took our drink order (she didnt know what beer was on tap) and appetizer order then forgot about asking us to order our main meal. Our nachos came without the sides of chili and guacamole and when we allerted the closest waitress, she sent a bus boy out with a cup of chili, (the cup and spoon kind that you order as a soup) and said "I was told to deliver this to you".

No refills on our drinks, not even an offer from the waitress. Again...we were forgotten.

When our main meal came, I was handed a basket of "chips" but my fish was forgotten. Our friends burger was overcooked when he specifically ordered pink.

When we asked for the manager, a young woman came out and said "you asked for me?". No introduction, no name...very unprofessional and short tempered.

Overall, the beer was good, the food....well, I cant say since ours was not made correctly and was not received correctly.

The staff.....horrible. Considering Gettysburg will be having alot of inflow tourists for the 150th I hope the ABC can fix this whole situation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krislynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    392
    178
    86
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kingston, ny
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband is always looking for a new kind of beer to try, so this place was perfect for him. We stopped for lunch and he had the chicken caesar salad and I had an asian salad. They were served very quickly and both meals were good. He tried the Purist Pale Ale and I had the Jolly Scot Ale. We enjoyed them both.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kingstonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“For the Beer enthusiast this is great; food is good, but not great”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have had Appalachian Brewing beer previously and this was consistently good beer. Not for the "Bud Light" crowd, this brewery makes a good hearty beer, from Pale Ales to lighter summer ales. Food is typical Brewery food, a cut above the usual "pub grub" but not great: burgers, salads, finger foods and wraps.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stella1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I would go again because the food and brew was good.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The beer is good and the food is decent. The service isn't very prompt but I will say that the waitress was nice though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robmos70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The food is good, and it is convenient to the Quality Inn motel and General Lee's headquarters. Service was slow both times we ate there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Brewing Company - Gettysburg Gateway also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian Brewing Company - Gettysburg Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing