We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Wonder Women of Gettysburg Walking Tour
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
$30.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Jennie Wade House
from $5.50
More Info
Reviews (1,551)
Filter reviews
1,551 results
Traveler rating
1,091
286
111
34
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
1,091
286
111
34
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bullet holes our tour guide her sister small house great tour gift shop civil war house tour union soldiers self guided starr casualty death basement cellar stray ghost
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,240 - 1,245 of 1,551 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Small group tours and we learned about a part of the war I had not known before.
Reasonable price, helpful guide and informative.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I really enjoyed this stop because they told the story from the perspectives of the locals who lived through it. You can take endless tours about strategy, artillery and generals, but this tour talks about how the war affected the common person. I truly enjoyed it!

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank swandive208
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is where the only civilian in gettysburg was killed during the battle. Her name was Jennie Wade and was baking bread on the second day of the battle, when a stray bullit went through two doors and struck her in the back and killed her instantly. Other than the small room, where this took place; there is a gift shop and little else.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank albinoWestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Inspiring story of the only civilian killed (while baking bread for Union soldiers) and her family's surviving between the army lines. Our docent was knowledgeable and in period dress. The 30 minute tour covered all three floors of this historic home, and described Jennie's childhood friendships with both a Union and a Confederate soldier. Unique gift shop with friendly staff. Definitely plan to return during our next visit.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nice little tour led by our guide Ben. This is the house where Jennie Wade died. She was the only civilian killed at Gettysburg during the battle. Its a sad tragic story that is best left for Ben and the other guides to tell but youll be cheating yourself out of a fun tour if you skip it.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews