We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not much to see”
Review of Jennie Wade House

Jennie Wade House
Ranked #8 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jennie Wade House is a guided tour with the guides in period clothing taking you through the home where the only civilian killed during the battle of Gettysburg was tragically lost. As the story unfolds the guides take you room to room following the path of the family on July 3rd 1863.
westwod,nj
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not much to see”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is where the only civilian in gettysburg was killed during the battle. Her name was Jennie Wade and was baking bread on the second day of the battle, when a stray bullit went through two doors and struck her in the back and killed her instantly. Other than the small room, where this took place; there is a gift shop and little else.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank albinoWestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    217
    94
    23
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Civilian experience during the battle”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Inspiring story of the only civilian killed (while baking bread for Union soldiers) and her family's surviving between the army lines. Our docent was knowledgeable and in period dress. The 30 minute tour covered all three floors of this historic home, and described Jennie's childhood friendships with both a Union and a Confederate soldier. Unique gift shop with friendly staff. Definitely plan to return during our next visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Must do while in Gettysburg”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nice little tour led by our guide Ben. This is the house where Jennie Wade died. She was the only civilian killed at Gettysburg during the battle. Its a sad tragic story that is best left for Ben and the other guides to tell but youll be cheating yourself out of a fun tour if you skip it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
375 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Cute house”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Decided to pass on the $12 tour of the Wade House due to time constraints and just buy some souvenirs from the gift shop. But we did put our ring fingers inside the bullet hole outside the "kitchen". There is a legend that if a single woman puts her ringfinger inside the bullet hole of the Jennie Wade House, she will soon be married. Hope it works for my daughter. Unfortunately, nothing was ever mentioned about this legend...we just had to read about it beforehand. However, nice attraction and great gifts. Staff was friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Effect on daily life”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Not overwhelming in terms of what there is to see, but an important eye opener of the effect of the battle on the everyday citizens. Thought provoking and worth the experience. More then a cheap tourist trap

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jennie Wade House also viewed

 

Been to Jennie Wade House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing