We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drummer Boy Camping Resort
Reviewed July 31, 2009

What has happened to this campground? Are you aware if you stay here that after 10pm thru the weekday and after 11pm on weekend that there is no sercurity. Tighten down all your belongings because in a blink of an eye they will be going. How sad it is that they have no cameras to watch over who comes and goes. If something happens in those nice cottages and you need some one to fix something you will not find someone they leave at 5pm and there is no one around. Don't be hungry because the snack bar is not open Monday and Tuesday and very limited hours on the other days. Only campground that I have ever been that you can't get an ice cream cone because of their limited hours. Like wise with the sad crafts and activities they have for children. No activities on Monday and Tuesday and very limited on the rest of the days. oh yeah bring money for the crafts that is not included in the price! They have hours set for the convience of staff and not for the convience of the guest. You pay high prices for what. So think twice and go to a more friendly campground.. The maintence is a little undesirable as well...you will find them all together sitting on their golfcarts discussing whatever.... when they could be mowing grass and cleaning up. This could be a great campground again but as long as you have the same staff it will never happen. They keep raising the prices and you as a patron keep getting less. Big thumbs down!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campingishappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Drummer Boy Camping Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

Positives: nice cottages, good pool, close to some parts of the battlefield

Negatives: overpriced, especially during events, quite a bit of noise from the highway (had to sleep with ear plugs!), disdainful attitude to the customers' complaints, rude upper management, the mini-golf and the waterslide would cost you an arm and a leg, waterslide opens late and closes early, WiFi costs extra.

They had a huge construction project going on right next door to our cottage during our stay and neglected to mention it upon checkin. Construction noise continued well into the night (10-11pm!) and resumed again at 6am in the morning! So much for getting a good night's sleep on vacation... No apologies from the upper management. I wish I knew about the change for the worst that others mentioned in their reviews before I booked there.

Bottom line: Go elsewhere if you are looking for a peaceful and quiet place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuchToSee-LittleTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My family and I stayed here and could not believe the amount of tall grass and leaves surrounding the "premium sites". The playground and the pavillion also had grass knee high and lots of leaves. Thiey should at least have decent looking campsites for the amount of money they charge.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekendsrfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

My husband and I are seasonal campers, therefore we are at the Drummerboy Campground every weekend from March - November. We are very happy with the facility. We are close to all outside attractions and battlefields. Yes the campground was under construction in 2008, but it won't last forever. The staff is pleasant, the fishing pond is a great place to relax and fish with or without your kids. It's nice to have two pools to choose from, one geared up more for children and one for adults. We have made lots of friends with other campers and my son as well. The campground is clean and neat and does not look like a trailer park. Activities are reasonable, although they could improve the childrens playground with more modern equipment. Looking forward to 2009 season.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allaboutmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

We uses to stay at drummer boy almost once a month during the summer. We noticed that last summer the prices has gone up and the park setting has changed lots of building was going on. Someone told me that it was under new ownership, I do not know for sure about this. I noticed that they are trying to get more people to buy seasonal sites, the sites we like very much, were all seasonal sited now. I notice there were no more paddle boats and the cost of everything there was high. Cost to use the pool and slide. There were to many sites now put in and they are so close together. The bathrooms I must say are always kept nice and clean, The park was also clean just seemed to have changed alot.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hppycmper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed at Drummer Boy several times this Summer. Love the campground. This last stay (Oct 31st weekend), found the office staff to be cold and unreceptive.
Camped in the new section which we love. Had speeding cars and trucks all evening. Sunday morning while breaking camp, had two golfcarts filled with kids (no Adults) racing side by side on the road. I sent an email to the campground with my concerns, still waiting for a response from them, today is Nov 6th.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank 4-1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We came to the area on business and tried to find a campground for a month. Oct. is a very busy time here in Gettysburg. We stayed at Drummer Boy for 15+ nights. Sites in the new section are wide and quite private during the week, they are very close to Rt 15 and you can always hear traffic noise. Had to move every Fri as almost all sites were reserved before we arrived. Sites in the old section are very close together. Very expensive at $55 weekday and $70 weekend for a Premium site (50 amp). WiFi is not free (pay by the day). Cable is included in most sites. The golf carts were a real problem. They are everywhere making it very diff. to get in and out of the campground. Washer/Dryers are 1.50/1.75. I lost my money in one and I was advised to call the 800 number on machine, although they admitted they had unhooked the water to wash the floor and forgot to reconnect.
The staff in the office were always friendly and mostly helpful. We needed propane filled on a Sunday and were advised they dont do that on weekends. We saw someone else fill one on Sat.
Campground is overall quite clean as is laundry and bath/showers. Construction still going on in one section. Very high price for what you get. We are fulltimers and travel with a 5th wheel. No discounts (good sams/AAA) in October.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TJVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
560 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drummer Boy Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drummer Boy Camping Resort

Address: 1300 Hanover Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7707
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Price Range: $235 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Drummer Boy Camping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drummer Boy Camping Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing