We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not our best trip” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drummer Boy Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drummer Boy Camping Resort
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not our best trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our trip there was in August of 2013. My wife & I won a free night from a drawing at the RV show. When I went to book the stay I found to use it I had to stay 3 nights total. Not a real problem but I should have been told when they called about the winning. We checked in fine and picked site #100. The site was nice and the size was average. This isn't the Drummerboy I remember as a kid or as it was 10 years ago. It's now more of a party camp on the weekends. Our neighbors were rowdy and loud but kept to themselves. The loop we were in isn't on a main road, it's just a loop that goes around a couple sites and back, but the golf carts were constantly driving through. I kept asking my wife if anybody walked in this camp. It's all carts & bikes. Our best time there was after all the weekend partiers went home. I miss the old Drummerboy and won't be coming back to this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cubby1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    61
    29
    35
    39
See reviews for
118
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our first time staying at this campground. We reserved a cabin that was to sleep six (one large bed, two sets of bunk beds) but two of our party decided to stay at a hotel in town. It was good that we only had four people because an adult would not be able to get into or sleep comfortably in a top bunk. The bathhouse (#2) was dated but the showers had plenty of hot water. We didn't participate in any of them, but there were a lot of activities for families. The camp store hours were limited, perhaps because it was late in the season. Overall, this wouldn't be our first choice on our next trip to Gettysburg but it was okay.

Room Tip: Try to stay near bathhouse #3 -- it seemed newer than #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC61986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

1st time visit, stayed in a loft cottage. Had a good time, cottage was cozy. Heat in cottage did not distribute very well, plus very noisy if you stayed in master bed room. Overall a good experience. Friendly atmosphere. Office personnel very friendly. I highly recommend renting a golf cart, very hilly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My friends and I came in for a short weekend and were expecting to stay at a pond view tent site but the area was flooded out and had to move us but we know this isn't the resorts fault and we still had a great time. We stayed on the weekend where they did Halloween activities and thought it was super cute that they had a decorated golf cart "parade" through the grounds and had the kiddos trick or treat from site to site.

Now, even though we did enjoy ourselves it won't be our next pick for camping because a lot of the sites are very close together. We stared at the back of an RV pretty much sitting over our campsite the entire time. While everyone was incredibly nice in passing it was very populated. If you enjoy more of a woodsy camping trip, this isn't the place but it's great for families with children.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank K_The_Hon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the cabins and thoroughly appreciated the air conditioning after very hot days visiting the hallowed grounds of Gettysburg! We had 5 adults sleeping comfortably in the spacious cabin. Having the fully kitchen made breakfasts less hectic and a nice place to have an evening dinner together. We enjoyed takeout from the grocery store in town. Our stay was in July--so hot and humid...and the air conditioning was perfect! We did not spend much time at the campground...did grill out one dinner and enjoyed the covered porch during a rain shower. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BV74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lackawanna, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I love to camp! My husband and I decided to tent here while he had a re-enactment to do at the wax museum. We were told on the phone we were at one site and showed up and told another. The site we were given barely fit our van. It was so small and our neighbors were loud and drunk. If I was to tent again I would hope to pick out my site instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippiemomma1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
15642
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was worried after reading some reviews but was surprised what a nice weekend we had. We stayed here over Labor Day weekend. We arrived late in the dark and the office was closing, we asked if we could be shown to our site and security did take us to our site 62 in the dark and helped us back in. We really appreciated this since it was very dark and many trees. Once I got out of the vehicle I said what is that noise? Here it was the highway and I was not happy but I did get use to it and my worries stopped. It was very hot and the air conditioner drowned out the highway. The campground was very nice. Spacious sites in the woods and no trailers on top of you. We were very lucky, we had nice friendly neighbors. The resort is big and we tried walking it with our dogs, they were to tired to go all the way. We did ride our bicycles and one area did smell sewage. The cabins are huge and many of them. Nice lake for kids to fish. Husband and son went and used the slide at the pool which was free this weekend. We also played mini golf which was free too, for the weekend. The first pool with the hot tub was too cold for me, many still used it so i used the hot tub. I saw many campgrounds in the area this weekend and we even drove thru some. Drummer Boy seemed to be the nicest. I will return, if I can get the same area we camped at, I really liked that site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirlfrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drummer Boy Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drummer Boy Camping Resort

Property: Drummer Boy Camping Resort
Address: 1300 Hanover Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7707
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Drummer Boy Camping Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing