We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Hilton but an excellent Sleep Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn and Suites
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Not a Hilton but an excellent Sleep Inn”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Thanks to Heather at the front door who was my favourite front desk staff ever! Super friendly after a long drive. Small pool but the kids were thrilled, no hot tub for me but for the price not surprising. The room was a nice setup for a family of 4. 2 queen beds, a pull out sofa and the toilet/shower was separate from the sink area so when someone was using the facilities we could still brush our teeth and wash our faces. Quiet. Great air/heat system. Very Very comfortable beds/pillows. A great night on a long family road trip to Washington DC from Canada. Very close to the highway and everything in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuskokaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel and staff. Our entire team strives daily to make each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable. And when we read such great reviews such as this one its wonderful to know that it does not go unnoticed. Thank you again and hope to see back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    152
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
228
168
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent a night in Gettysburg while touring colleges. The Sleep Inn is outside the city center by a couple of miles but had a great price, was modern, clean and comfortable and had a nice breakfast included. It borders some fields and it was fertilizer time in the Spring, so there was a "natural odor" wafting in the air outside, but it didn't affect our stay once inside the building. The room was large and very comfortable. It turned out to be a great choice for our overnight. The breakfast room was lovely and had a nice assortment of food, hot and cold.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel with only three floors -we were on the second, in the middle and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandRFountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such a great review. We truly appreciate hearing from our guest and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay hear at the Sleep Inn & Suites. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a one-night stop for us after an afternoon visit to Gettysburg Military Park and Museum. Let me begin by saying the staff was wonderful - Heather was extremely friendly and we truly enjoyed chatting with her about Gettysburg and the surrounding area. Our room was okay - was clean, beds were somewhat comfortable, but the problem I had was with the layout of the room. I was traveling with my husband and two young teenage sons. The bathroom was quite small and only included the bathtub/shower and toilet. The vanity/sink was in the main room right when you walked in the entrance, so when I wanted to get ready before bed & in the morning, I had to drag all of my clothing into the cramped bathroom and there wasn't a lot of space to get dressed. This was my first time staying at a "Sleep Inn" - we usually stay at Comfort Inn's and we have always been pleased. Maybe this is just the way Sleep Inn's are designed, but for our family situation, it just wasn't the ideal layout. Also, the continental breakfast in the morning was pretty limited. I just had a cup of coffee, but it was fairly weak, so I ended up at a coffee shop later in the morning to get something a bit stronger. Nothing overly negative about this hotel other than it just wasn't the best layout for our family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the room was not efficient for you and your family. We do appreciate all the great comments that you mentioned about our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. I wish the layout of room and the breakfast would have been better for you. We are in the process of making some changes with our breakfast so that we do not have any of our guests leaving unsatisfied. Thank you again for your feedback it is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay 2 months for a work assignment. The hotel was warm friendly and safe. The staff treated me like family. The free breakfast was always good. The staff accommodated anything I needed. I Even found a BFF!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gei3208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We loved having you stay with us! We miss seeing you everyday. We are so glad that you choose our hotel for your long term stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was there almost a month and never had a problem at all front desk were very helpful especially heather because she was the lucky one that happened to be there when I got out of work she deserves a metal and a raise for putting up with mugs like myself but any ways it is in a perfect location .... Nice and quiet but stuff like restaurants and pubs etc are not far at all!!! Very nice and "homey" hotel great staff and rooms!! Will recommend everyone who asks me to stay there and enjoy the experience !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keven360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Kevin thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you choose to stay with us and will again in the future. We enjoyed having you here! And by the way Heather was promoted to Assistant Manager. She will still be working nights so when you do come back she will be here to great you! Thank you again Kevin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

this hotel is by far the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at. My boyfriend and I decided on a little romantic getaway and we are so glad we chose this hotel. We stayed in a king jacuzzi suite for a very reasonable price. Everything was super clean and looked pretty much brand new. The girl who checked us in was all smiles and very helpful. I will most definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brib245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! Our guest feed back is crucial to our success. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here on the weekend of 3/16/13 and found the hotel to be very clean with helpful staff. The exercise room was small but had nice working equipment and a TV. As it states in the description the pool is Very Small (Little bigger than a hot tub and 3'deep), so if you are looking for a place with a pool this is not it. Breakfast was great and the room was also very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra H, General Manager at Sleep Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We know how busy life can be, so we really do appreciate when our guests take the time to share with us and everyone how we are doing. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,443 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
762 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
2.9 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn and Suites

Property: Sleep Inn and Suites
Address: 1650 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is presently undergoing renovations under new management. It is a forty room Hotel with an indoor pool, physical fitness room, free hot breakfast and free wi-fi and business center It is our goal to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We take great pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail when it comes to our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Gettysburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing