We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to camp!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettysburg Campground
Save
You added Gettysburg Campground to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to camp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

We have stayed at Gettysburg campground before in one of there cabins and loved it.
We desided that we would tent this time around. We had a great spot near Marsh creek. And had some very nice people camping around us. Only one campsite was up a bit late being load. But there was always a guy that would drive down with a golfcart and check on the campers.
We had friends that stayed there a week after we did and came back to tell us they really enjoyed the campground and thanked us for letting them know about this campground.
We are planing are next camping trip to spend a week this coming Jul 09 and are looking forword to it.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trace_civilwarnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    52
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
94
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

My family and I had a very nice weekend. The kids loved the pool and even met some other children they played with most of the weekend. There were plenty of activities, they had bingo with ice- cream as prizes, a craft for the kids to do( does cost extra for the craft but only 2$) a local farmers market came a sold fresh produce and fruit. I enjoyed the country line dancing they had on Saturday and Friday night they had ghost stories told. We were unable to go last year but we have already made reservation for the upcoming year. Our site was right on Marsh creek it was nice the kids went crawfishing in the creek and caught alot. The owner was such a nice guy he even came around and talked to the campers like he knew us for years. I would tell anyone that would like a wonderful camping experience to camp at Getttysburg Campground.

  • Liked — How the campsites run along the creek
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hppycmper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Gettysburg is a beautiful area and I suggest you visit if you ever get a chance. I would not recommend staying at the Gettysburg Campground though. Every interaction we had with the staff was very unpleasant (except the bathroom cleaning crew- they were very nice!). It seemed like we were bothering them when we checked in or had a question- and they were downright mean the day we left. Not a good place for a family trip.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler9748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Gettysburg Campground is the best. Everyone there makes you feel like you have been there for years. The staff is great and are willing to help at all times. They have fun events which includes the whole family. Very clean and peaceful.

  • Liked — People are great
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 012_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

My family has camped many times at other Campgrounds in Gettysburg, and we camped at Gettysburg Campground over the Labor Day weekend. We loved it! All the staff are friendly and there were so many fun activities scheduled, it would be impossible to be bored. The staff and fellow campers were extremely friendly. The owner was on site which truely made this a family campground. We had such a great time and already booked for next year!

  • Liked — The activities and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sweis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

I've been to many campgrounds over the years, and this one was by far the best. We were greeted by friendly, helpful staff who helped us pick just the right tent spot for us. The grounds were shady, clean and quiet and located next to a lovely stream. The bathrooms were immaculate. Best of all it was near town and the historic sites. If we ever make it back to this area, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gawildcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

This was our first camping trip to Gettysburg, and it ended up being a great one! We went on Memorial Day weekend and still ended up with a great site. Our tent plot was right next to a really nice stream, nicely shaded, and very level. I would definitely come back and stay here again! No negatives at all.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redwing634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,223 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.7 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Campground

Property: Gettysburg Campground
Address: 2030 Fairfield Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7261
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Gettysburg Campground Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing