We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Big Mistake” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettysburg Campground
Save
You added Gettysburg Campground to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Tafton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big Mistake”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The men's room was terrible; only 2 toilets, one with door hanging off, the other with ripped shower curtain for a door. Had to stand in line to use urinal. When I complained, paid $65 for one night, was asked to leave by owner! Paid for a water site, next to a mud hole. Sites were very crowded, much to close! Bath house was filthy and much too small! Been camping for over 50 years and this has to be one of the worst campgrounds I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 99Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    52
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
94
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walkersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me and my brother in law stayed here on to sites last year. Me and my wife on one site and my brothers in law and sister next to us. Sites very small except the on my. Brother in law on. People have no respect for the site lines people behind us had there tent half on our spot and my brother inlaw had a guy behind him with his camper on the the so he exit his camper on his spot. People across from us got in a fight at 3am and woke up half the camp ground. We called the office no one answered. Then at 8 in the morning the owner showed up and said if we call leave a message he would have called back. Stupid if you ask me. Every employee that we talked to had a bad attitude. When we told them we where unhappy they did not care. Never will I stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this c/g for 3 nights in a travel trailer. Others in our party had an rv. Everything was neatly kept & clean. Camp sites were very small. If the c/g had been full we would not have had any space.
Our last night there we were harassed by the campground patrol person. He asked us to turn down music, which was not loud but we complied, and told 4 responsible adults with children to "behave ourselves". He then proceeded to drive by several times slowly watching us. He stopped again when he heard a tiny noise, a piece of firewood fell, and my sister-in-law proceeded to tell him to stop harassing us. He left us alone after that. I have never been to a campground where we were watched like that.
Also dont play with toys in the gift shop, if it makes a noise the staff all yell at you. We will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Lutefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good campground. The staff and management were most friendly and helpful. Quick check in and very good sites. The campground was full but you did not feel
crowded. Good gate security and the facility was very well maintained.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We did a big 4th of July Party at Gettysburg Campground and had extended family and friends arrive for a big cookout this past weeked as well as a 2 week stay to check out some of the 150th Civil War Celebrations and Activities. Gettysburg Campground as usual had their activities as well as setting up shuttle services to get back and forth from the 150th Civil War Celebrations and Activities, a great conveience and help! The restrooms clean and the staff frendly and helpful.
Conveience store, snack bar, play ground, game room, etc. all were up and running!
You Should Visit Often! There is Plenty to do there and in the Gettysburg area!

Room Tip: Visit Often! There is Plenty to do there and in the Gettysburg area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HubertDrWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Perfect location for doing the battlefield and Visitors Center, then plenty more to do right at the campsite. Our girls loved catching crayfish in the creek and playing miniature golf. Weekend activities when we visited included Gettysburg battle encampment and reenactment, dance, and hayride. Sites are close, like most commercial parks, but our site 48 was on the end of a row and had lots of room for a tent, RV trailer and 2 cars (tenters note - no grass, only gravel to pitch your tent here; guess the separate tent area has grass). Good security at campground, showers were large, with private dressing areas; pool looked nice but we didn't use it. We would stay there on future trip to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Site 48 larger than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weddingplanningmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
234 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The c/g was a zoo! It's centrally located to the 150 year battlefield celebrations. There were pop up campers , primitive camping, travel trailers, & cabin camping. I got the impression some of these ppl had never camped before. They didn't respect the sites and walked right through them. They had a lot of activities for the kids right on the c/g. They arranged affordable transportation to the activities in Gettysburg. Very thoughtful. The pet walk has garbage cans & plastic baggies, nice touch. Getting back to the interstate involves cutting through town which can be challenging but doable.
We were told that the c/g is not generally this hectic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NPC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,218 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.7 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Campground

Property: Gettysburg Campground
Address: 2030 Fairfield Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7261
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Gettysburg Campground Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing