We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Little Campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettysburg Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We live in Frederick, MD about an hour away from Gettysburg Campground. We often camp for one night "spur of the moment" and this is one of my favorites. The staff is friendly, the bath house is clean and sites level. Some sites are a little tight due to trees but even the owner will come over and help guide you in. A lot of activities for kids and an ample little store with hand dipped ice cream. One of the closest to downtown Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloom144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 216 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was a nice private campground to visit. They are not pushy about buying into it and treat you as though you are already a member. Very dog friendly with lots of amenities included.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buffy0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

There are a lot of sites, but they are spaced nicely with plenty of room. The staff and campers are all friendly and very considerate. This is a dog friendly park with many dogs and dog lovers. Restrooms are clean; showers are hot. The campground is SILENT at night with very little noise from road traffic. The WIFI is rockin' fast except when it is raining and everyone is online. The cable tv was a bonus. The campground is close to everything unlike the PA state parks which are all a haul from here.

We stayed here in a small RV with one dog and one cat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiroKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent spring break in our RV with our 2 teenagers and their friend. This campground was easily found with our GPS. Great pull throughs, super clean bathroom and shower (3 stalls/showers) Helpful, friendly staff. Good assortment of pamphlets for sight seeing. Close location to Gettysburg and the battlefield. Well stocked camp store. Quiet setting. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for an RV sight by the river and listen to the relaxing gurgle of water all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AspieMomIGWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a great campground and the people in the office are always friendly, although very busy most of the time. The sites are situated nicely and the camp store is stocked good. We will be going down in the very near future. I have us a site in the Sun Deck since it most likely will not be all that warm out yet. If you are familiar with the area or even if you have a map/GPS, you can get to various battlefield sites quickly without going the whole way in to town. Lookin forward to our trip!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Based on the campground's policies, we made a minimum 2-night reservation for a couple mid-week nights the week following Memorial Day 2011. Unfortunatly the weather that week was extremely hot & humid. Since we are tent campers, we were limited to where we were allowed to reserve/set-up in the Gettyburg Campground and the area in which we were allowed to set-up happend to be next to the river (nice idea, but horribly buggy with the humidity) and in the oder range of the porto-potties (-- VERY SMELLY, Very Full porto-potty). Between the unrelenting bugs and the oderific smells we ended up in town in a dog-friendly, A/C hotel room. The idea to ask about a refund for one or both nights was squashed by the campground's large and bold 'no refunds for any reason' policy taped to their check-in desk. So we reserved at Gettyburg Campground (wasted about $100 for the 2 nights) but we didn't stay there.
Sure the porto's were probably emptied that next day (we HOPE!), but living next to a many-days-old 'cooking' porto-potty in buggy humid weather had no interest, attraction or connection for our mini-trip. It was neauseating to be near. We will never even consider Gettysburg Campgrounds again due to their no-refunds for any reason policy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Campground was nice and filled up very fast on fourth of July 2011 weekend. Lots of activities and campground was close to everything in Gettysburg. Bathrooms were as clean as they were going to get with the campground packed that weekend. Only issue was that the campground seemed to be ran very strictly. Owner would come to the pool and blow whistle and tell everyone to get out. I believe the point was to ensure every child was with an adult...but it was a wee much. Same with patrolling the campground by golf cart constantly and guards at front entrance. my father in law compated it to be ran by the Gestapo. There was an RV shop on site, and coincidentally our faucet broke...but the rv shop was only only every third Sunday of a blue moon on a Leap year. By the time we caught someone there our trip was almost over and they werent unable to help. Also believe campfires were supposed to be out by 10 p.m., which was way too late when camping. Other than that, I recommend the place if traveling to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
4.7 mi away
Drummer Boy Camping Resort
Drummer Boy Camping Resort
#6 of 7 in Gettysburg
220 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,625 reviews
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Gettysburg, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,147 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Gettysburg
Days Inn Gettysburg
#14 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Campground

Address: 2030 Fairfield Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7261
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Gettysburg Campground Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing